Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Ernst Schering Prize 2015

The Ernst Schering Foundation has awarded the 2015 Ernst Schering Prize to Prof. Dr. David MacMillan, Chair of the Department of Chemistry at Princeton University, USA. MacMillan will receive the 50,000-euro prize for his pioneering contributions in the area of organocatalysis and organo-cascade catalysis. His research interests are centered on the field of enantio-selective catalysis, the merger of photoredox catalysis with organocatalysis or with transition metal catalysis, new reaction methodologies and the application of these new concepts to the total syntheses of natural products and pharmaceuticals. The award ceremony will be held on September 28, 2015, at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities.

“MacMillan's fundamental systematic approach and his brilliant conceptualization have had a major impact on launching organocatalysis as a rapidly growing and highly innovative field of research for organic chemistry,” explains Prof. Dr. Stefan H.E. Kaufmann, Chairman of the Foundation Council of the Schering Stiftung, regarding the decision of the jury.

David MacMillan’s research program is devoted to the invention of novel chemical reactions and strategies that promote the discovery of potential medicines for the improvement of human health.  In the search for just one new drug, thousands of compounds must be tested, highlighting the need for efficient and affordable ways to improve access. To address this demand, the MacMillan group has contributed to several platforms for catalysis methods that use tiny amounts of specially designed molecules, called catalysts, which promote new bond-forming reactions. Researchers in the MacMillan lab have developed numerous catalysts that are able to make new bonds rapidly and with surgical precision.  The MacMillan lab came to prominence as one of the pioneers of organocatalysis, a field that employs organic catalysts to help create new pharmaceuticals, agrochemicals and fine chemicals.  In recent years, the group has established the utility of photoredox catalysis, in which visible light-activated catalysts perform unique bond-forming events under very mild conditions. The lab has combined many of these different types of catalysts in tandem or cascade processes to perform powerful reactions in which a single catalyst could not act alone.

David MacMillan was born in Bellshill, Scotland and received his undergraduate degree in chemistry at the University of Glasgow, where he worked with Dr. Ernie Colvin. In 1990, he began his doctoral studies under the direction of Professor Larry Overman at the University of California, Irvine, before undertaking a postdoctoral position with Professor David Evans at Harvard University (1996). He began his independent career at the University of California, Berkeley in July of 1998 before moving to Caltech in June of 2000 (Earle C. Anthony Chair of Organic Chemistry). In 2006, MacMillan moved to the east coast of the US to take up the position of James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor at Princeton University and he became Department Chair in 2010.

Davod MacMillan

 

pdf CV for download

News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Ernst Schering Preis 2015

Die Schering Stiftung verleiht den Ernst Schering Preis 2015 an Prof. Dr. David MacMillan, Leiter des Instituts für Chemie an der Universität Princeton, USA. MacMillan erhält den mit 50.000 Euro dotierten Preis für seine bahnbrechenden Beiträge zur Organokatalyse und Organokaskaden-Katalyse. Seine Forschungsinteressen gelten der enantioselektiven Katalyse, der Verbindung von Photoredoxkatalyse mit der Organo- oder der Übergangsmetallkatalyse, der Entwicklung neuer Reaktionsmethoden sowie der Anwendung dieser neuen Konzepte auf die Synthese von Naturprodukten und Arzneimitteln. Die Preisverleihung findet am 28.09.2015 in der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften statt.

„MacMillans grundlegender systematischer Ansatz und seine brillanten Konzepte haben maßgeblich dazu beigetragen, dass sich die Organokatalyse zu einem rasch wachsenden, hoch innovativen Forschungsgebiet in der organischen Chemie entwickelt hat,“ erläutert Prof. Dr. Stefan H.E. Kaufmann, Vorsitzender des Stiftungsrats der Schering Stiftung, die Entscheidung der Jury.

David MacMillans Forschungsarbeit widmet sich der Entdeckung neuartiger chemischer Reaktionen und Strategien, die bei der Erforschung potenzieller Medikamente zur Verbesserung der menschlichen Gesundheit helfen sollen. Bei der Suche nach einem einzigen Medikament müssen tausende Verbindungen getestet werden. Folglich ist der Bedarf an effizienten und günstigen Zugangsmethoden sehr hoch. Zu diesem Zweck hat die MacMillan-Forschungsgruppe maßgebliche Beiträge zu verschiedenen Plattformen für Katalysemethoden geleistet, welche kleinste Mengen speziell entworfener Moleküle – Katalysatoren genannt – verwenden, die neue Reaktionen zur Bildung von Bindungen zwischen Atomen ermöglichen. Forscher im Labor von MacMillan haben zahlreiche Katalysatoren entwickelt, die die Bildung neuer Bindungen schnell und mit chirurgischer Präzision erlauben. MacMillan und sein Labor gelten als Pioniere der Organokatalyse, einem Gebiet, das organische Katalysatoren zur Herstellung neuer Medikamente und neuer Agro- und Feinchemikalien verwendet. In jüngster Zeit konnte die Forschungsgruppe die Anwendbarkeit der Photoredoxkatalyse unter Beweis stellen, ein Gebiet bei der Katalysatoren, die durch sichtbares Licht aktiviert werden, unter sehr milden Bedingungen einzigartige Abläufe zur Bindungsbildung ausführen. MacMillans Labor kombinierte viele dieser Katalysatorentypen in Tandem- oder Kaskadenprozessen und konnte so Reaktionen durchführen, die mit einem einzigen Katalysator alleine nicht möglich gewesen wären.

David MacMillan wurde im schottischen Bellshill geboren und studierte Chemie an der Universität Glasgow bei Dr. Ernie Colvin. 1990 nahm er sein Promotionsstudium unter der Leitung von Professor Larry Overman an der University of California, Irvine, auf, bevor er 1996 auf eine Postdocstelle bei Professor David Evans an die Universität Harvard wechselte. Seine unabhängige Laufbahn begann er im Juli 1998 an der University of California, Berkeley, bevor er im Juni 2000 als Earle C. Anthony Chair of Organic Chemistry an das Caltech berufen wurde. 2006 siedelte MacMillan an die amerikanische Ostküste über, um einen Ruf an die Universität Princeton anzunehmen, wo er seitdem als James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor und seit 2010 auch als Leiter des Instituts für Chemie tätig ist.

David MacMillan

 

pdf CV zum Download

Aktuelles

Wie frei sind wir wirklich?

17.02.2017, Berlin | Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet...
mehr

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2017

16.02.2017, Berlin | Brauchen wir Spielplätze für unsere Nutztiere? Wie werden 7 Milliarden Menschen satt? Und...
mehr

In Spandau startet die Al-Farabi Musikakademie

02.01.2017, Berlin | Eine sorgenfreie und unbeschwerte Jugend ist nicht für alle Kinder eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach...
mehr