Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

FameLab 2015 “Talking Science” - Final

10.04.2015, Berlin | Themed “Talking Science,” the German regional heats of the prestigious international FameLab competition for young scientists took place in March 2015. FameLab was started by Cheltenham Festivals in 2005 to identify and nurture scientists and engineers who are good at communicating with the general public. In just three minutes, the contestants explain scientific processes to a non-specialist audience in an accessible and entertaining manner - without PowerPoint or notes. The finalists have been selected and will compete against each other on May 13, 2015, at Tollhaus Karlsruhe.

FameLab

The FameLab competitions are held under the auspices of the British Council in more than twenty countries across Europe, Asia, Africa, and the United States. More than 5,000 scientists have participated worldwide. The result is a network of excellent scientists and engineers who engage with each other and an international audience and share information about current science issues.

Eligible for participation are master’s students and scientists over the age of 21 who study, work or do research in science, technology, mathematics, computer science, psychology or medicine. In addition to drawing the public’s attention to current research, participation in the FameLab provides the contestants with an opportunity to gain valuable experience in science communication and make important contacts with other passionate scientists!

This is how it works:
At the FameLab, young scientists from all over Germany compete to get an expert jury and the audience excited about their field of research. In just three minutes, they present a science topic in German or English – in a scientifically accurate yet entertaining and engaging way. Props that can be carried on stage are allowed. There are no limits to your creativity!

The regional heats took place in Germany between March and the beginning of April. In addition to a prize money of €300 (first prize) or €200 (second prize), the finalists receive a two-day communication and media training in April in Berlin before competing in the national final in Karlsruhe in May. Moreover, all heats included an audience award – a one-year subscription to GEO magazine. The winner of the national final will take part in the FameLab International competition at the Cheltenham Science Festival in the UK in June.

The Schering Foundation supports FameLab, since the competition provides young scientists with a platform to communicate their research to the public and to network with other young scientists. The competition, moreover, aims to build a talent pool of science communicators worldwide and to strengthen the dialogue between science and society.

The Schering Foundation wishes all finalists the best of luck!

For more information on the competition and the registration process, please visit
www.famelab-germany.de.

FameLab

News

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Digital Salon: A Soft Spot for Cyborgs

22.05.2017, Berlin | Smart robot hands, artificial legs, printable organs: Are implants the panacea of the...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

FameLab 2015 „Talking Science“ - Finale

10.04.2015, Berlin | Unter dem Motto „Talking Science“ fanden im März die regionalen Vorentscheide des renommierten internationalen Wettbewerbs FameLab 2015 in Deutschland statt. Cheltenham Festivals entwickelte FameLab im Jahr 2005, um Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure, die mit öffentlichem Publikum gut kommunizieren können, zu finden und zu fördern. In nur drei Minuten erklären die Wettbewerber einem Laienpublikum ohne Power-Point oder Notizen wissenschaftliche Vorgänge, verständlich und mit Witz. Nun stehen die Finalisten fest, die am 13. Mai 2015 im Tollhaus Karlsruhe gegeneinander antreten.

FameLab

Die FameLab-Wettbewerbe werden unter der Schirmherrschaft des British Council in über zwanzig Ländern in Europa, Asien, Afrika und den Vereinigten Staaten abgehalten. Weltweit haben schon mehr als 5.000 Wissenschaftler teilgenommen. Das Ergebnis ist ein Netzwerk von exzellenten Wissenschaftlern und Ingenieuren, die miteinander und mit internationalem Publikum in Kontakt sind und sich über den gegenwärtigen Stand der Wissenschaft austauschen.

Mitmachen können Studierende im Master und Wissenschaftler ab 21 Jahren, die in den Bereichen Naturwissenschaft, Technik, Mathematik, Informatik, Psychologie oder Medizin forschen, studieren oder arbeiten. Neben der öffentlichen Aufmerksamkeit für aktuelle Forschungsthemen bietet die Teilnahme an FameLab die Möglichkeit, wertvolle Erfahrungen in der Wissenschaftskommunikation zu sammeln und wichtige Kontakte zu anderen engagierten Nachwuchswissenschaftlern zu knüpfen!

Und so geht’s:
Beim FameLab treten Nachwuchswissenschaftler aus ganz Deutschland an, um eine Fach-Jury und das Publikum für ihr Forschungsfeld zu begeistern. In einem dreiminütigen Auftritt präsentieren sie ein naturwissenschaftliches Thema auf Deutsch oder Englisch – sachlich richtig und dabei unterhaltsam und mitreißend. Bei der Präsentation ist alles erlaubt, was am Körper getragen werden kann. Der Kreativität sind keine Grenzen gesetzt!  

Die regionalen Vorentscheide fanden deutschlandweit im März und Anfang April statt. Die Finalisten erhalten neben einem Preisgeld i.H.v. 300 € (1. Platz) bzw. 200 € (2. Platz) im April ein zweitägiges Kommunikations- und Medientraining in Berlin, bevor sie im Mai beim Deutschland-Finale in Karlsruhe im Mai antreten. Zudem gab es bei allen Vorentscheiden einen Publikumspreis zu gewinnen - ein GEO-Jahresabo. Der Gewinner des Deutschland-Finales nimmt im Juni am internationalen Finale beim Cheltenham Science Festival in Großbritannien teil.

Die Schering Stiftung fördert FameLab, da der Wettbewerb jungen Nachwuchswissenschaftlern eine Plattform bietet, mit ihrer Forschung an die Öffentlichkeit zu treten und sich mit anderen jungen Wissenschaftlern zu vernetzen. Der Wettbewerb zielt zudem darauf ab, einen Talentepool an Wissenschaftskommunikatoren weltweit zu etablieren und den Dialog zwischen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft zu stärken.

Die Schering Stiftung wünscht allen Finalisten viel Erfolg!

Weitere Informationen zum Wettbewerb und zum Anmeldeverfahren finden Sie auf www.famelab-germany.de.

 

FameLab

Aktuelles

Wie frei sind wir wirklich?

17.02.2017, Berlin | Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet...
mehr

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2017

16.02.2017, Berlin | Brauchen wir Spielplätze für unsere Nutztiere? Wie werden 7 Milliarden Menschen satt? Und...
mehr

In Spandau startet die Al-Farabi Musikakademie

02.01.2017, Berlin | Eine sorgenfreie und unbeschwerte Jugend ist nicht für alle Kinder eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach...
mehr