Philipp Lachenmann: DELPHI Rationale


Alfred Kerr Acting Prize 2015

17.04.2015, Berlin | On Sunday, May 17, 2015, the Haus der Berliner Festspiele was hosting the annual award ceremony of the Alfred Kerr Acting Prize. Established by Judith and Michael Kerr, the prize has been awarded since 1991 as part of the Berliner Theatertreffen. This year, Samuel Finzi was the judge of the 5,000-euro prize that is awarded to an emerging young actor in recognition of his or her outstanding achievement in one of the productions selected for the theater meeting. He dedided for the 25 year old actress Gala Winter.

Juror Samuel Finzi

In its issue of May 18, 2015, the Tagesspiegel printed Samuel Finzi's laudation for Gala Winter.

Samuel Finzi was born in Plovdiv (Bulgaria) in 1966 as son of the pianist Gina Tabakova and the actor Itzhak Finzi. While studying at the National Academy of Theater and Film Arts in Sofia, he played first dramatic and movie roles and, in the course of his career, collaborated with a variety of directors that have left their mark on European theater and film: Benno Besson, Jürgen Gosch, Werner Schröter, Robert Wilson, Frank Castorf, Johan Simons, Michael Thalheimer, and Dimiter Gotscheff. Finzi has received multiple awards for his varied and ingenious performances, including the Düsseldorf Performing Arts Award. In March 2015, he and Wolfram Koch were jointly awarded the Gertrud Eysoldt Ring for their performances in “Waiting for Godot.”

Samuel Finzi is the latest in a line of prominent Kerr Prize judges, including Bernhard Minetti, Marianne Hoppe, Ulrich Mühe, Ulrich Matthes, Martin Wuttke, Martina Gedeck, Eva Mattes, Nina Hoss, Thomas Thieme, and Edith Clever. As they always managed to discover the most talented among the emerging actors, the list of the previous prize recipients reads like a “Who’s Who” of the current generation of actors. The Ernst Schering Foundation supports the award to promote young talents in the performing arts. Previous prize winners include Steffi Kühnert, Kathrin Angerer, Johanna Wokalek, Fritzi Haberlandt, Lina Beckmann, August Diehl, Devid Striesow, Wiebke Puls, Felix Goeser, Julischka Eichel, Kathleen Morgeneyer, Paul Herwig, Fabian Hinrichs, Julia Häusermann, and Valery Tscheplanowa.

Alfred Kerr Acting Prize

Award Ceremony: May 17, 2015, 1 p.m.
Haus der Berliner Festspiele, upstairs lobby
Schaperstrasse 24, 10719 Berlin
Free admission

The awarding of the Alfred Kerr Acting Prize is made possible through the support of the Alfred Kerr Foundation, the Tagesspiegel, and the Ernst Schering Foundation.

Photo: © Samuel Finzi


Live-Debatte: Was tun, wenn Niere, Leber und Herz knapp werden?

09.03.2018, Berlin | Während mehr als 10.000 Menschen in Deutschland dringend auf ein Spenderorgan warten, sinkt...

Big Data Means Big Responsibility. The Use of Data in the Healthcare Sector

24.02.2018, Erlangen | The digitalization of medicine is making big strides. The integration of previously distinct...

Visions of Synthetic Biology

16.02.2018, Berlin | Life is what you make it – this is the motto of synthetic...