Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

ON THE EDGE

26.05.2015, Berlin | In the institute Tieranatomisches Theater, the striking new exhibition ON THE EDGE will open on June 3, 2015, 7 p.m., providing a fascinating insight into the Humboldt University scientific collections through the eyes of seven artists from Germany and the UK: Annie Cattrell, Simon Faithfull, Agnes Meyer-Brandis,  Lucy Powell, Andrea Roe, Nicole Schuck and Wolf von Kries.

Agnes Meyer-Brandis: Measuring Amanita Mushroom Emissions

The artists enjoyed unfettered access to the collections to produce new work and create intriguing correlations between objects. These objects – from collections as diverse as zoology, biology, media, mathematics, cartography, dendrology, anatomy, geology and crystallography – have a varied role and status in their professional context. Some are used in teaching and for research, but others have, at least temporarily, outlived their original usefulness or are accessible only for a small expert group. They are all, however, ON THE EDGE of new horizons with all the stimulating excitement and possibility that promises or, alternatively, ON THE EDGE of a precipice in a precarious position, inducing uncertainty about their future status.

With her installation of a tree, plant and dandelion research station, Agnes Meyer-Brandis ruminates on the realm of climate related sciences, data collection and distinctions between categories.  In a reflective way, Simon Faithfull's drawings on glass of the living collection of trees and plants at the university arboretum echo the institution's glass negatives and 'skeleton' leaves. Drawing is also the medium for Nicole Schuck; her works on paper explore the transfer of knowledge by visual means through geological and geographical representations and deep sea creatures of indeterminate structure and origin.  Annie Cattrell's dialogue with human anatomical objects focuses on the study of the form of organisms and their specific structural features. The intimacy and interaction between human anatomy, parasite and bovine animal emerges in Andrea Roe's sculptures and drawings. Wolf von Kries and Lucy Powell both show films spanning several collections. In von Kries' film, it is the muted spaces where the collection objects are held which provides special significance, whereas Powell's large scale and durational work focuses upon the materiality of the objects as a metaphor for the love of knowledge.

To reflect on and contextualise the exhibition, a symposium will be held on the shifting constellations of university collecting practice, the role of the custodians of the collections, the production of knowledge through aesthetic means and the ways in which artists can contribute to such debates.

ON THE EDGE
Artists in Dialogue with the Humboldt University Collections

Exhibition opening: 3 June, 2015, 7 p.m.
Press conference: 2 June, 2015, 11 a.m.
The artists and curator will attend the press conference. Following the press conference there will be the opportunity to take part in a guided tour through the exhibition.

Exhibition dates: 4 June – 13 September 2015
Tuesday - Saturday 2pm - 6pm
Entrance free

Symposium
17 June, 5 – 7 p.m.
18 June, 9.30 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Venue:
Tieranatomisches Theater der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Campus Nord
Philippstr. 12/13, Haus 3
10115 Berlin


The project is a collaboration between Satellite Salon and the collections as well as the Hermann von Helmholtz – Zentrum für Kulturtechnik at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, funded by Ernst Schering Foundation. Additional support is provided by the Rudolf Augstein Foundation; the British Council; Edinburgh College of Art at The University of Edinburgh; De Montfort University, Leicester and the Cluster of Excellence Image Knowledge Gestaltung. An Interdisciplinary Laboratory at the Humboldt University. We also gratefully acknowledge the cooperation of the Centre for Anatomy, Charité – University Medicine, Berlin; the Natural History Museum, Berlin; the Berlin Museum of Medical History at the Charité and the German Aerospace Centre (DLR).

Further information:
Tieranatomisches Theater: http://www.kulturtechnik.hu-berlin.de/tat


Images:
Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Measuring Amanita Mushroom Emissions, SMEAR forest research station, Hyytiälä, FI, 2014 © Agnes Meyer-Brandis, VG Bildkunst 2015

Andrea Roe, Knowing from the Inside, sterling silver etched cuff, 2015. © Andrea Roe

Andrea Roe: Knowing from the Inside

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

ON THE EDGE

26.05.2015, Berlin | Im Tieranatomischen Theater eröffnet am 3. Juni 2015, 19 Uhr, eine Sonderausstellung, die unter dem Titel ON THE EDGE einen faszinierenden Einblick in die wissenschaftlichen Sammlungen der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin bietet – betrachtet durch die Augen von sieben Künstlern aus Deutschland und Großbritannien: Annie Cattrell, Simon Faithfull, Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Lucy Powell, Andrea Roe, Nicole Schuck und Wolf von Kries.

Agnes Meyer-Brandis: Measuring Amanita Mushroom Emissions

Die Künstler erhielten uneingeschränkten Zugang zu den Sammlungen, um neue Werke zu schaffen und diese mit den vorgefundenen Objekten in frappierende Beziehungen zu setzen. Die Sammlungsobjekte selbst stammen aus so unterschiedlichen Fachgebieten wie Zoologie, Biologie, Medienwissenschaft, Mathematik, Kartografie, Dendrologie, Anatomie, Geologie und Kristallografie. In ihren jeweiligen Disziplinen haben sie unterschiedliche Bedeutungen und spielen oft ganz verschiedene Rollen. Einige kommen in Lehre und Forschung zum Einsatz, andere haben ihre ursprüngliche Funktion und Zweckbestimmung inzwischen verloren oder einen Bedeutungswandel erlebt. Allen diesen Objekten ist jedoch gemein, dass sie in Übergangszonen changieren: aufgeladen einerseits mit stimulierendem Inspirationspotential und mit der Geschichte ihres wissenschaftlichen Gebrauchs, zugleich offen für neue Deutungen und vor einer ungewissen Zukunft. Damit befinden sie sich letztlich ON THE EDGE.

Mit ihrer Installation einer Baum-, Pflanzen- und Löwenzahnforschungsstation erkundet Agnes Meyer-Brandis das gemeinsame Terrain von klimabezogenen Forschungsansätzen, Datensammlungen und Grenzziehungen zwischen Arten und Kategorien. Auf hintergründige Weise wendet sich Simon Faithfull den Bäumen und Pflanzen, die in der Lebendsammlung des Späth-Arboretums der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin gezogen werden, zu. Seine auf Glas gefertigten Zeichnungen treten in Widerhall mit Fotonegativen und Blattskeletten des Instituts. Zeichnen ist auch das Medium von Nicole Schuck. In ihren Arbeiten auf Papier ergründet sie anhand von geologischen und geographischen Darstellungen und Tiefseegeschöpfen unbestimmter Struktur und Herkunft, wie und in welcher Form Wissen visuell festgehalten und vermittelt werden kann. Annie Cattrell konzentriert sich in ihrem Dialog mit anatomischen Objekten vom Menschen auf das Studium von Form und Struktur der Organismen und ihrer spezifischen Merkmale. Intimität und Interaktion zwischen menschlicher Anatomie, Parasiten und Kuh sind Gegenstand der Skulpturen und Zeichnungen von Andrea Roe. Wolf von Kries und Lucy Powell zeigen jeweils Filme, in welchen sie sich mit je unterschiedlichen Sammlungen auseinandersetzen. Im Werk von Wolf von Kries geht es um die stummen Räume, in welchen Sammlungsdinge lagern und die dadurch ihre besondere Bedeutung erlangen. Lucy Powells großformatige Arbeit mit ihrer zeitlich länger angelegten Filmstrecke nimmt das Materielle der Objekte als Metapher für die Liebe zur Erkenntnis in den Blick.

Während der Laufzeit der Ausstellung bietet ein Symposium die Möglichkeit, die Inhalte der Präsentation vertiefend zu diskutieren und in einem größeren Kontext zu verorten. Neben den sich verändernden Bedingungen der universitären Sammlungspraxis soll die Rolle der Sammlungskustoden, die Verschränkung von Wissensgenese und Ästhetik und der Beitrag, den die Künste in dieser Debatte leisten können, gemeinsam erörtert werden.

ON THE EDGE
Künstler/innen im Dialog mit den Sammlungen der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Ausstellungseröffnung: 3. Juni 2015, 19 Uhr
Pressegespräch: 2. Juni 2015, 11 Uhr
Die Künstler und Kuratoren sind während der Pressekonferenz anwesend. Im Anschluss gibt es die Möglichkeit, an einer Führung durch die Ausstellung teilzunehmen.

Ausstellungsdauer: 4. Juni bis 13. September 2015
Dienstag bis Samstag 14 – 18 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Symposium
17. Juni, 17 – 19 Uhr
18. Juni, 9.30 – 16 Uhr

Ort:
Tieranatomisches Theater der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Campus Nord
Philippstr. 12/13, Haus 3
10115 Berlin

Das Projekt ist eine Kooperation zwischen Satellite Salon und den Sammlungen sowie dem Hermann von Helmholtz-Zentrum für Kulturtechnik der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, unterstützt von der Schering Stiftung. Weitere Förderung erfährt es durch die Rudolf Augstein-Stiftung, den British Council, das Edinburgh College of Art, die De Montfort University Leicester und den Exzellenzcluster Bild Wissen Gestaltung. Ein interdisziplinäres Labor der Humboldt-Universität. Herzlicher Dank gilt außerdem dem Zentrum für Anatomie der Charité Berlin, dem Museum für Naturkunde Berlin, dem Berliner Medizinhistorischen Museum der Charité und dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. für eine gelungene Zusammenarbeit.

Weitere Informationen:
Tieranatomisches Theater: http://www.kulturtechnik.hu-berlin.de/tat

Abbildungen:
Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Measuring Amanita Mushroom Emissions, SMEAR forest research station, Hyytiälä, FI, 2014 © Agnes Meyer-Brandis, VG Bildkunst 2015

Andrea Roe, Knowing from the Inside, sterling silver etched cuff, 2015. © Andrea Roe

Andrea Roe: Knowing from the Inside

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: “Young Investigator Fund” für innovative Forschungsideen

22.03.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt erfolgsversprechende Forschungsideen junger WissenschaftlerInnen mit einer Anschubfinanzierung. Gefördert werden...
mehr

Leere Meere oder wildes Leben? Der Weltozean im 21. Jahrhundert

08.03.2017, Berlin | Unsere Weltmeere sind mit Abstand das größte Ökosystem unserer Erde. Sie bedecken mehr...
mehr

Weiter Schreiben. Ein literarisches Portal für AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten

02.03.2017, Berlin | Das Projekt „Weiter Schreiben“ veröffentlicht Texte von AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten und verleiht ihnen...
mehr