Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

8. Berlin Summer Meeting

28.05.2015, Berlin | On June 4-8, 2015, the 8th Berlin Summer Meeting takes place in Berlin with support from the Ernst Schering Foundation. This international conference under the umbrella title “Computational and Experimental Molecular Biology Meet” was initiated in 2008 by the Berlin Institute for Medical Systems Biology at the Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine in Berlin-Buch and has since been held annually with great success. This year, the event is organized in cooperation with the Integrative Research Institute (IRI) for the Life Sciences at Humboldt University of Berlin. Featuring international speakers, it explores the topic of “Localization of Cellular Processes.”

Marta_Rodriguez_2014

The conference aims for a systematic understanding of the spatial and temporal organization of cellular processes and at identifying the underlying molecular mechanisms. Shedding light on the coordinated localization and compartmentalization of biological processes in eukaryotic cells is a major challenge for systems biology. This requires a combination of experimental and theoretical-analytical approaches that are reflected in the focus areas of the conference:

•    organization of nuclear processes
•    RNA localization
•    local translation and post-translational localization of proteins
•    localized signal processes

So far, neither textbooks nor internships have dealt with these new research areas and findings, technical and methodological approaches sufficiently or in this thematic context. The 2015 Berlin Summer Meeting provides especially young scientists with focused insights into a dynamic and internationally highly competitive field of research as well as with the unique opportunity to enter into a dialogue with international experts in these disciplines.

To foster communication during the meeting, notably between young and experienced scientists, students can participate in a “Meet the Expert” dialogue. To this end, they are given a lot of time during the poster sessions to present their data and current research and to gain inspiration and ideas for further developing their research topics. In addition, four poster prizes are awarded to young scientists.
The participants’ expertise and the scientific exchange at the Berlin Summer Meeting gives fresh impetus to the research community in Berlin and facilitates international collaboration discussions. Gaining inspiration and the interdisciplinary exchange of ideas are other important aspects for both researchers and students.

Berlin Summer Meeting 2015

June 4–6, 2015
Umweltforum  | Pufendorfstrasse 11 | 10249 Berlin

More detailed information and the program are available here.

Photo 1: © Marta Rodriguez, 2014
Photo 2: © Alexander Baltz, 2011

 

Alexander_Baltz_2011

News

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Digital Salon: A Soft Spot for Cyborgs

22.05.2017, Berlin | Smart robot hands, artificial legs, printable organs: Are implants the panacea of the...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

8. Berlin Summer Meeting

28.05.2015, Berlin | Vom 4. bis 8. Juni 2015 findet in Berlin mit Unterstützung der Schering Stiftung das 8. Berlin Summer Meeting statt. Das Treffen ist eine jährlich stattfindende internationale Konferenz mit dem übergreifenden Titel „Computational and Experimental Molecular Biology Meet“. Die Veranstaltungsreihe wurde 2008 durch das Berlin Institute für Medical Systems Biology am Max-Delbrück-Centrum für Molekulare Medizin Berlin-Buch ins Leben gerufen . In diesem Jahr wird die Veranstaltung in Kooperation mit dem IRI für Lebenswissenschaften der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin organisiert. Im Mittelpunkt steht das Thema „Localization of cellular processes", das durch nationale Experten und internationale Sprecher präsentiert wird und als Diskussionsforum insbesondere auch für Nachwuchswissenschaftler gilt.

Marta_Rodriguez_2014

Die Konferenz hat das systematische Verständnis der räumlichen und zeitlichen Organisation zellulärer Prozesse und die Identifizierung der zugrundeliegenden molekularen Mechanismen zum Schwerpunkt. Die Aufklärung der koordinierten Lokalisierung und Kompartimentalisierung biologischer Prozesse in eukaryotischen Zellen stellt eine große Herausforderung für die Systembiologie dar. Hierfür ist eine engere Verknüpfung der experimentellen und theoretisch-analytischen Ansätze nötig, die in den Schwerpunkten der Konferenz widergespiegelt werden:

•    Organisation nuklearer Prozesse

•    RNA Lokalisation

•    Lokale Translation und post-translationale Lokalisation von Proteinen

•    Lokalisierte Signalprozesse

Diese neuen Forschungsfelder und Erkenntnisse sowie technische und methodische Herangehensweisen sind in Lehrbüchern oder Praktika bisher weder in diesem thematischen Kontext noch in der erforderlichen Tiefe dargestellt. Das Berlin Summer Meeting 2015 bietet vor allem Nachwuchswissenschaftlern einen gebündelten Einblick in ein dynamisches und international hochkompetitives Forschungsfeld sowie die einmalige Möglichkeit, in einer offenen Atmosphäre mit internationalen Experten aus den Fachgebieten in den Dialog zu treten.

Um die Kommunikation während des Meetings zu intensivieren, insbesondere zwischen jungen und erfahrenen Wissenschaftlern, können Studenten in einen Dialog „Meet the Expert“ treten. Dazu wird ihnen während der Postersessions viel Zeit für die Präsentation ihrer Daten gegeben, so dass sie ihre eigene aktuelle Forschungsarbeit schildern und sich Anregungen und Ideen für die Bearbeitung ihrer Fragestellungen holen können. Zudem werden Posterpreise für die vier besten Poster von Nachwuchswissenschaftlern vergeben.

Durch die Expertise der Teilnehmer und den wissenschaftlichen Austausch auf dem Berlin Summer Meeting werden neue Impulse für die Berliner Forschungslandschaft gesetzt und internationale Kooperationsgespräche ermöglicht. Ein wichtiger Aspekt für Forscher und Studenten ist die Anregung und der interdisziplinäre Gedankenaustausch.

Berlin Summer Meeting 2015

4. bis 6. Juni 2015

Umweltforum  | Pufendorfstraße 11 | 10249 Berlin

Ausführliche Informationen und das Programm finden Sie hier. Eine Anmeldung ist bis zum Veranstaltungstermin möglich.

Foto 1: © Marta Rodriguez, 2014
Foto 2: © Alexander Baltz, 2011

Alexander_Baltz_2011

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr

Bewerbungsstart: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017, Berlin | Im April 2018 startet erneut das etablierte Führungskräftetraining Young Leaders in Science, das...
mehr