Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

SYNAPSE. Der internationale Kuratorenworkshop

28.05.2015, Berlin | SYNAPSE will hold a curators' workshop at Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW) from June 30 until July 4, 2015. Established by HKW in cooperation with the Ernst Schering Foundation, SYNAPSE  is conducted under the artistic direction of Kirsten Einfeldt and Daniela Wolf for the third time. The five-day workshop offers ten selected up-and-coming curators the opportunity to explore issues around the relationship between art and science with international experts. A highlight of the program will be a public performance by New-York based artist and writer Coco Fusco, entitled “Observations of Predation in Humans: A Lecture by Dr. Zira, Animal Psychologist” (2013) on July 2, 2015..

Participants SYNAPSE 2013_© Dante Busquets

The curators' workshop 2015 is to be held in the context of the exhibition “Ape Culture.” Curated by Anselm Franke and Hila Peleg, the exhibition project traces the long cultural and scientific obsession with humanity’s closest relatives. In artworks, documentation, and films, “Ape Culture” examines the way apes and monkeys have featured as signifiers in human representations and civilizational narratives. From the exhibition project fundamental questions of the workshop emerge: What is the role of the documentary? What formats and format developments are needed to realize a project that presents science at an artistic location? What curatorial languages must first be developed to meet academic demands on the one hand and, on the other, to express the findings in cultural terms?

The participating jurors and speakers of SYNAPSE 2015 include, among others, Anselm Franke (curator and Head of the Department of Visual Arts and Film, HKW), Chus Martínez (curator and Head of the Institute of Art at the Academy of Art and Design, FHNW, Basel) Rachel Mayeri (artist, Los Angeles), and Cord Riechelmann (biologist, philosopher, journalist, Berlin).

The network will continue beyond the workshop via the website www.synapse.info.

SYNAPSE – Public Performance

July 2, 2015, 7:30 p.m.
Coco Fusco: „Observations of Predation in Humans: A Lecture by Dr. Zira, Animal Psychologist“

Haus der Kulturen der Welt
John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10 | 10557 Berlin

Free admission.
The lecture will be in English.

For more information, please contact the Ernst Schering Foundation by phone at +49 (0)30-20 62 29 60 or visit www.synapse.info.


Photo: Participants SYNAPSE 2013, © Dante Busquets


News

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

SYNAPSE. Der internationale Kuratorenworkshop

28.05.2015, Berlin | SYNAPSE – Das Internationale Kuratorennetzwerk lädt vom 30. Juni bis 4. Juli 2015 zum Kuratorenworkshop ins Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW) ein. SYNAPSE wurde vom HKW in Kooperation mit der Schering Stiftung im Jahr 2011 ins Leben gerufen und wird nun unter der künstlerischen Leitung von Kirsten Einfeldt und Daniela Wolf bereits zum 3. Mal durchgeführt. Der fünftägige Workshop bietet den zehn ausgewählten Nachwuchskuratoren die Möglichkeit, Fragen zur Beziehung von Kunst und Wissenschaft mit internationalen Experten zu verhandeln. Ein Höhepunkt des Workshop-Programms ist die öffentliche Performance der New Yorker Künstlerin und Autorin Coco Fusco, „Observations of Predation in Humans: A Lecture by Dr. Zira, Animal Psychologist“ (2013) am 2. Juli 2015.

Teilnehmer an SYNAPSE 2013_© Dante Busquets

2015 steht SYNAPSE im Kontext der Ausstellung „Ape Culture / Kultur der Affen“ im HKW. Das von Anselm Franke und Hila Peleg kuratierte Ausstellungsprojekt widmet sich der langjährigen kulturellen und wissenschaftlichen Auseinandersetzung des Menschen mit seinen nächsten Verwandten. In künstlerischen Arbeiten, Dokumenten und Filmen untersucht „Ape Culture / Kultur der Affen“ die Rolle von Affen in menschlichen Darstellungen und Zivilisationsnarrativen. Ausgehend von dem Ausstellungsprojekt ergeben sich grundlegende Fragen des Workshops: Was ist die Rolle des Dokumentarischen? Welche Formate und Formatentwicklungen sind nötig, um Wissenschaft an einem Kunstort zu inszenieren? Welche kuratorischen Sprachen braucht es, um wissenschaftlichen Anspruch einerseits und kulturelle Übersetzung andererseits zu gewährleisten?
Beteiligte Juroren und Vortragende des Kuratorenworkshops sind u.a. Anselm Franke (Kurator und Leiter des Bereichs Bildende Kunst und Film, HKW), Chus Martínez (Kuratorin und Leiterin des Instituts Kunst an der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW, Basel), Rachel Mayeri (Künstlerin, Los Angeles) und Cord Riechelmann (Biologe, Philosoph und Publizist, Berlin).

Das Netzwerk wird über den Workshop hinaus über die Website www.synapse.info nachhaltig weitergeführt.

SYNAPSE – Öffentliche Performance

02.07.2015, 19:30 Uhr
Coco Fusco: „Observations of Predation in Humans: A Lecture by Dr. Zira, Animal Psychologist“

Haus der Kulturen der Welt
John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10 | 10557 Berlin

Eintritt frei.
Der Vortrag findet in englischer Sprache statt.

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 60 sowie unter: www.synapse.info


Foto: Teilnehmer an SYNAPSE 2013, © Dante Busquets


Aktuelles

Die Debatte – Die Macht der Meinungsforschung

01.08.2017, Berlin | Das politische Jahr 2017 bewegt sich auf den Höhepunkt zu: Die Bundestagswahlen am...
mehr

Digitaler Salon: Bei Nebenwirkungen fragen Sie Ihren Algorithmus

01.08.2017, Berlin | Werden wir durch personalisierte Tabletten und Nano-Roboter künftig länger und besser leben? Welchen...
mehr

"Women" von Sasha Waltz

19.07.2017, Berlin | Sasha Waltz & Guests werden im Rahmen von „Tanz im August“ am 30....
mehr