Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Friedmund Neumann Prize 2015

Dr. Nina Henriette Uhlenhaut

Helmholtz Zentrum München – German Research Center for Environmental Health

for her outstanding research on the molecular genetic mechanisms of endocrinological and metabolic diseases

Dr. Nina Henriette Uhlenhaut

Vita

In the 1990s, Dr. Nina Henriette Uhlenhaut studied biotechnology at the Technical University of Braunschweig and received a Master of Science degree from Georgia Tech in Atlanta. The research for her thesis was performed at the Salk Institute in San Diego. That is where she became interested in genomic mechanisms of gene regulation, which she continued to study during her PhD at EMBL in Heidelberg. Dr. Uhlenhaut is especially interested in understanding transcriptional repression, which is why she returned to the Salk Institute in San Diego after graduating with a PhD in 2007. There she joined the lab of Dr. Ron Evans. She continued her research projects, which revolve around gene regulation by nuclear hormone receptors, as a postdoc at the MDC in Berlin. Hormone receptors remain the focus of her independent Emmy Noether group “Molecular Endocrinology” at the Helmholtz Zentrum in Munich, which she has been heading since 2013. Dr. Uhlenhaut is married and has two children.

Research Projects

Dr. Henriette Uhlenhaut is a molecular biologist who is interested in the gene regulatory mechanisms that underlie our body’s hormonal responses. She mainly focuses on gene repression, studying how genes are turned off.

Dr. Uhlenhaut was able to show that a single gene, the forkhead transcription factor Foxl2, is permanently required to prevent transdifferentiation of ovaries into testes. Throughout life, female mice depend on Foxl2 together with the estrogen receptors to shut off male genes. This revolutionary finding was not only of central importance for the field of reproductive biology, but was a significant contribution towards the understanding of cellular plasticity in general.

Another example for the importance of gene repression for cellular function is the anti-inflammatory potential of glucocorticoids. These steroid hormones are both the most widely used anti-inflammatory drugs in clinical use today and powerful metabolic regulators. Using cutting-edge genomic approaches (so-called next generation sequencing), Dr. Uhlenhaut demonstrated that the glucocorticoid receptor binds directly to DNA to turn off inflammatory genes. These results reversed a long-standing dogma in the field stating that the glucocorticoid receptor does not use DNA binding but protein-protein interactions with other transcription factors to exert its anti-inflammatory properties. This is especially relevant since the adverse side effects of glucocorticoid treatment such as weight gain and diabetes are mainly linked to the activation of metabolic genes, whereas the desired anti-inflammatory actions are based on the silencing of immune genes.

In her Emmy Noether group, Dr. Uhlenhaut uses molecular genetic tools to further characterize hormone receptors that play a role in glucose and lipid metabolism.

Photo: N. H. Uhlenhaut, © Melanie Wehnert, Fotostudio Lux in Berlin

Ivana Franke

 

Friedmund Neumann Preis 2015

Dr. Nina Henriette Uhlenhaut

Helmholtz Zentrum München für Gesundheit und Umwelt

für ihre herausragenden Beiträge zur Erforschung molekulargenetischer Mechanismen endokrinologischer und metabolischer Erkrankungen

Dr. Nina Henriette Uhlenhaut

Vita

Die promovierte Molekularbiologin Dr. Nina Henriette Uhlenhaut studierte in den 90er Jahren Biotechnologie an der TU Braunschweig und erwarb währenddessen einen Master of Science am Georgia Tech in Atlanta. Die Forschung für ihre Diplomarbeit führte sie am Salk Institute in San Diego durch. Dort begann sie sich für Mechanismen der Genregulation zu interessieren, die sie während ihrer Doktorarbeit am EMBL in Heidelberg weiter untersuchte. Insbesondere erforscht Dr. Uhlenhaut die transkriptionelle Repression, weswegen sie nach der Promotion im Jahr 2007 wieder ans Salk Institute in San Diego ging, um im Labor von Prof. Ron Evans zu arbeiten. Ihre dortigen Projekte, die sich um Genregulation durch Hormonrezeptoren drehten, führten sie als Postdoc am MDC in Berlin weiter und sind nun Thema ihrer unabhängigen Emmy Noether Gruppe „Molekulare Endokrinologie“ am Helmholtz Zentrum München, die sie seit 2013 leitet. Uhlenhaut ist verheiratet und hat zwei Kinder.

Forschungsarbeit

Dr. Uhlenhaut interessiert sich für die Genregulationsmechanismen, die den Hormonantworten unseres Körpers zugrunde liegen. Dabei liegt ihr Fokus auf der sog. transkriptionellen Repression, um zu verstehen wie Gene ausgeschaltet werden.

Dr. Uhlenhaut konnte im Tiermodell zeigen, dass ein bestimmtes Gen, der Transkriptionsfaktor Foxl2, in Weibchen ständig dazu benötigt wird, um die Umwandlung von Eierstöcken in Hoden zu verhindern, also eine Geschlechtsumwandlung zu unterdrücken. Beispielsweise sind weibliche Mäuse während ihres ganzen Lebens auf Foxl2 angewiesen, das zusammen mit den Östrogenrezeptoren männliche Gene ausschaltet. Diese revolutionäre Beobachtung war nicht nur für das Feld der Reproduktionsbiologie von zentraler Bedeutung, sondern leistete auch einen wesentlichen Beitrag zum Verständnis der zellulären Plastizität im Allgemeinen.

Ein weiteres Beispiel für die Wichtigkeit der Repression für die Funktion der Zelle ist die entzündungshemmende Wirkung von Glucocorticoiden. Diese Steroidhormone gehören sowohl zu den am häufigsten eingesetzten entzündungshemmenden Medikamenten als auch zu den wirksamsten Stoffwechselregulatoren. Unter Einsatz von neuesten genomweiten Methoden (Next Generation Sequencing) hat Dr. Uhlenhaut gezeigt, dass der Glucocorticoidrezeptor direkt an die DNA bindet um Entzündungsgene auszuschalten. Diese Studien haben ein lang bestehendes Dogma im Feld widerlegt, das besagte, dass der Glucocorticoidrezeptor keine DNA Bindung sondern Protein-Protein-Interaktionen mit anderen Transkriptionsfaktoren verwendet, um seine entzündungshemmende Wirkung zu entfalten. Dies ist besonders relevant, da die unerwünschten Nebenwirkungen von Steroidbehandlungen wie z.B. Gewichtszunahme und Diabetes mit der Aktivierung von Stoffwechselgenen in Verbindung gebracht werden, während die gewünschte entzündungshemmende Funktion durch das Ausschalten von Immungenen erreicht wird.

Mit ihrer Arbeitsgruppe will Dr. Uhlenhaut zukünftig weitere molekulargenetische Ansätze verwenden, um Hormonrezeptoren zu untersuchen, die eine Rolle im Zucker- und Fettstoffwechsel spielen.

Photo: N. H. Uhlenhaut, © Melanie Wehnert, Fotostudio Lux in Berlin