Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

SALTWATER: A Theory of Thought Forms. The 14th Istanbul Biennial

02.09.2015, Istanbul | From September 5 to November 1, 2015, the 14th Istanbul Biennial entitled SALTWATER: A Theory of Thought Forms, curated by Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev, presents works by over 80 artists from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, the Middle East, Latin America and North America, displayed in over thirty venues on the European and Asian sides of the Bosphorus. One of them is Daria Martin whose project is supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation. The 14th Istanbul Biennial will host the premiere of Daria Martin’s new film At the Threshold, which is in conversation with her previous work Sensorium Tests (2012). At the Threshold depicts conflictual and consensual scenes between a pair of characters with too much empathy, and a third person, who stumbles into their carefully calibrated world.

Daria Martin, Production still from At the Threshold

Daria Martin (b. 1973, San Francisco) is an artist based in London. After studying Humanities at Yale, Martin received her M.F.A from the University of California, Los Angeles, in 2000. Some subjects Martin's work touches on include feminism, sensation, mythology, and mirror-touch synaesthesia. Working primarily in 16 mm film, her work has been exhibited in many famous museums all around the world including The New Museum, New York, Tate Britain, London, and Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam. Two of her films will meet the audience at the 14th Istanbul Biennial. While Martin’s 2012 film Sensorium Tests will be shown for the first time in Istanbul, her new film At the Threshold (2015) will be having its world premiere there.

SALTWATER: A Theory of Thought Forms. The 14th Istanbul Biennial, drafted by Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev, is a city-wide exhibition on the Bosphorus considering different frequencies and patterns of waves, the currents and densities of water, both visible and invisible, that poetically and politically shape and transform the world. The exhibition hovers around the image and meaning of waves – literal waves of water, but also waves of people, waves of emotion and memory. Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev states, “Salt water is one of the most ubiquitous materials in the world. Sodium in our bodies makes our neurological system, and thus our vital systems, work; it literally keeps us alive. At the same time, salt water is the most corrosive material threat to the digital age: if you drop your smart phone in salt water, chemical molecular changes in the materials of your phone will break it. When you visit the 14th Istanbul Biennial, you will spend quite a bit of time on salt water. There is a slowing down of the experience of art due to the travel between venues, especially on ferries. That is very healthy: salt water helps to heal respiration problems and many other illnesses, as well as calming the nerves.”

SALTWATER: A Theory of Thought Forms. The 14th Istanbul Biennial

September 5 to November 1, 2015
Istanbul

 Media conference:  September 2, 2015, 10 a.m.
Özel İtalyan Lisesi (The Italian High School)

Professional preview: September 3–4, 2015

More information: Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts (İKSV)

Picture:

Daria Martin: Production still from "At the Threshold" (16 mm film, 17.5 minutes, 2014-2015). Photography by Thierry Bal.

 


News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

SALTWATER: A Theory of Thought Forms. 14. Istanbul Biennale

02.09.2015, Istanbul | Die 14. Istanbul Biennale mit dem Titel SALTWATER: A Theory of Thought Forms (Salzwasser: Eine Theorie von Gedankenformen), kuratiert von Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev, zeigt vom 5. September bis 1. November 2015 Arbeiten von über 80 KünstlerInnen aus Afrika, Asien, Australien, Europa, dem Nahen und Mittleren Osten, Lateinamerika und Nordamerika an über dreißig Orten auf der europäischen und asiatischen Seite des Bosporus. Eine der Teilnehmerinnen ist Daria Martin, deren Projekt von der Schering Stiftung unterstützt wird. Ihr neuer Film At the Threshold (Auf der Schwelle) feiert auf der 14. Istanbul Biennale Premiere. In Dialog mit ihrer früheren Arbeit Sensorium Tests (2012) beschreibt At the Threshold die Konflikte und Einvernehmlichkeiten zwischen einem zu empathischen Paar und einer dritten Person, die in die sorgfältig austarierte Welt des Paares hineingerät.

Daria Martin, Standfoto von At the Threshold

Daria Martin (geb. 1973 in San Francisco) lebt als Künstlerin in London. Nach ihrem Studium der Geisteswissenschaften an der Universität Yale erwarb Martin 2000 ihren MFA an der Universität von Kalifornien in Los Angeles. Martins Arbeiten befassen sich u.a. mit den Bereichen Feminismus, Sinneswahrnehmungen, Mythologie und der sensorischen Nachempfindung von beobachteten Gefühlen (engl. „mirror-touch synaesthesia“). Ihre hauptsächlich auf 16 mm-Film gedrehten Arbeiten sind in namhaften Museen weltweit gezeigt worden, darunter im New Museum in New York, in der Tate Britain in London und im Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam. Auf der 14. Istanbul Biennale stellt sie dem Publikum zwei ihrer Filme vor: Sensorium Tests (2012), das zum ersten Mal in Istanbul zu sehen sein wird, und At the Threshold (2015) als Weltpremiere.

SALZWASSER: Eine Theorie der Gedankenformen. Die von Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev konzipierte 14. Istanbul Biennale ist eine über die ganze Stadt und an den Ufern des Bosporus verteilte Ausstellung über unterschiedliche Wellenfrequenzen und -muster sowie die sichtbaren und unsichtbaren Wasserströme und -dichten, welche die Welt poetisch und politisch ständig neu formen. Die Ausstellung nähert sich dem Bild und der Bedeutung von Wellen – von Wellen im Wasser, aber auch Wellen von Menschen, Gefühlswellen und Erinnerungswellen. Dazu Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev: „Salzwasser ist fast überall auf der Welt zu finden; es hält uns buchstäblich am Leben. Gleichzeitig stellt Salzwasser die größte Bedrohung für das digitale Zeitalter dar: lässt man sein Smartphone ins Salzwasser fallen, wird das Telefon aufgrund chemisch-molekularer Veränderungen unbrauchbar. Besucher der 14. Istanbul Biennale werden ziemlich viel Zeit auf dem Salzwasser verbringen. Das Unterwegssein zwischen den Veranstaltungsorten, vor allem auf den Fähren, wirkt entschleunigend, auch was die Kunsterfahrung angeht. Und außerdem ist es sehr gesund: Salzwasser unterstützt die Heilung von Atemproblemen und vielen anderen Krankheiten und beruhigt die Nerven.“

SALZWASSER: Eine Theorie der Gedankenformen. Die 14. Istanbul Biennale

5. September bis 1. November 2015
Istanbul

Pressekonferenz: 2. September 2015, 10:00 Uhr
Özel İtalyan Lisesi (Italienisches Gymnasium)

Vorbesichtigung für Fachbesucher: 3.–4. September 2015

Mehr Informationen: Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts (İKSV)

Abbildung:

Daria Martin: Production still from "At the Threshold" (16 mm film, 17.5 minutes, 2014-2015). Photography by Thierry Bal.

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: “Young Investigator Fund” für innovative Forschungsideen

22.03.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt erfolgsversprechende Forschungsideen junger WissenschaftlerInnen mit einer Anschubfinanzierung. Gefördert werden...
mehr

Leere Meere oder wildes Leben? Der Weltozean im 21. Jahrhundert

08.03.2017, Berlin | Unsere Weltmeere sind mit Abstand das größte Ökosystem unserer Erde. Sie bedecken mehr...
mehr

Weiter Schreiben. Ein literarisches Portal für AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten

02.03.2017, Berlin | Das Projekt „Weiter Schreiben“ veröffentlicht Texte von AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten und verleiht ihnen...
mehr