Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

125.660 Spesimen Sejarah Alam

04.08.2015, Berlin / Jakarta | “125.660 Spesimen Sejarah Alam” (125,660 Specimens of Natural History) is an art and science exhibition about colonial natural history collections and the environmental transformations they produced in Indonesia. The exhibition follows the course of Alfred Russel Wallace (1823–1913), best known for co-discovering the theory of evolution by natural selection. From 1854 to 1862, Wallace travelled the Malay Archipelago, documenting the region’s biodiversity and amassing a gigantic collection of specimens for European museums. The exhibition invites artists to retrace, re-appropriate or reassess the expedition, its documents, and its various artifacts; artists will examine the mobility of colonial knowledge and the transformations of the Indonesian landscape from a variety of perspectives and through various media. The project is supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation and a second iteration will move to Germany in automn 2017. Poster_Jakarta

The first exhibition will take place at the gallery of the multi-arts center Komunitas Salihara, Jakarta, Indonesia. It includes works by 14 Indonesian artists and 12 foreign artists, as well as archival material and zoological specimens from the Research Center for Biology/Indonesian Institute of Sciences (LIPI/MZB) at Bogor-Cibinong—including tiger skulls, orangutan and bird-of-paradise skins—and related historical artefacts. As a special highlight “125.660 Spesimen Sejarah Alam” will showcase a selection of items from LIPI’s collection of historical glass plate negatives, which document the environmental and botanical transformations of the Indonesian archipelago at the turn of the nineteenth to the twentieth century. These glass plate negatives have never before been presented to the public and comprise the only collection of its kind available in Indonesia.

The exhibition will also host a free public program aimed at a general public that brings together Indonesian and international artists, environmentalists, and natural scientists.

A catalog in Bahasa Indonesian, including an essay on Wallace’s Malay expedition by evolutionary biologist Andrew Berry, will be available gratis at the exhibition.

The project is curated by Anna-Sophie Springer and Etienne Turpin. It is realized in partnership with the multi-arts center Komunitas Salihara and the Museum Zoologicum Bogoriense/Indonesian Institute of Science (LIPI/MZB), in cooperation with Schering Stiftung and with additional support of the Goethe-Institut.

Exhibition dates

Komunitas Salihara Gallery
Jl. Salihara No. 16
Jakarta Selatan, Indonesia

August 15 – September 15, 2015

Press Preview 15 August, 4 pm
Public Preview 15 August, 7 pm

http://reassemblingnature.org/125660-specimens/

www.facebook.com/125660specimens


Project Space

Address: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Opening hours during exhibitions:Thursday through Monday, 1 - 7 p.m. | Admission is free Since 2009, the Ernst Schering Foundation has ...

more

Ivana Franke

 

125.660 Spesimen Sejarah Alam

04.08.2015, Berlin / Jakarta | „125.660 Spesimen Sejarah Alam“ (125.660 Specimens of Natural History) ist eine Kunst- und Wissenschaftsausstellung über koloniale naturgeschichtliche Sammlungen und die von ihnen mitbewirkten Umweltveränderungen in Indonesien. Die Ausstellung folgt auf den Pfaden von Alfred Russel Wallace (1823–1913), der vor allem als Mitentdecker der Evolutionstheorie bekannt ist. Von 1854 bis 1862 bereiste Wallace den Malaiischen Archipel, dokumentierte die Artenvielfalt der Region und trug eine riesige Naturaliensammlung für europäische Museen zusammen. Die Ausstellung lädt KünstlerInnen ein, auf den Spuren der Expedition zu wandeln und sich deren Dokumente und Artefakte anzueignen oder neu zu bewerten; dabei untersuchen die Künstler die Mobilität kolonialen Wissens und die Veränderungen der indonesischen Landschaft aus einer Vielzahl von Perspektiven und mithilfe verschiedener Medien. Das von der Schering Stiftung unterstützte Projekt wird ab Herbst 2017 in einer zweiten Phase auch in Deutschland zu sehen sein.

Poster_Jakarta

Die erste Ausstellung in der Galerie des Kunstzentrums Komunitas Salihara Jakarta umfasst Arbeiten von 14 indonesischen und 12 ausländischen KünstlerInnen sowie Archivmaterial, Tigerschädel, Orangutanfelle, Paradiesvogelbälge und andere zoologische Präparate aus der Sammlung des Forschungszentrums für Biologie/Indonesisches Institut der Wissenschaften (LIPI/MZB) in Bogor-Cibinong und verwandte historische Artefakte. Ein besonderer Höhepunkt der Ausstellung ist eine Auswahl von historischen Glasnegativplatten aus der LIPI-Sammlung, welche den ökologischen und botanischen Wandel des indonesischen Archipels am Ende des neunzehnten, Anfang des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts dokumentieren. Die Sammlung ist einzigartig in Indonesien und noch nie zuvor öffentlich gezeigt worden.

Die Ausstellung wird begleitet von einem kostenfreien Rahmenprogramm für die breite Öffentlichkeit, an dem indonesische und internationale KünstlerInnen, UmweltschützerInnen und NaturwissenschaftlerInnen teilnehmen.

Ein kostenloser Katalog (in Indonesisch) mit einem Aufsatz des Evolutionsbiologen Andrew Berry über Wallaces malaiische Expedition ist während der Ausstellung erhältlich.

Das Projekt wird von Anna-Sophie Springer und Etienne Turpin kuratiert. Es wird in Partnerschaft mit dem Kunstzentrum Komunitas Salihara und dem Museum Zoologicum Bogoriense/Indonesisches Institut der Wissenschaften (LIPI/MZB) sowie in Kooperation mit der Schering Stiftung und mit Unterstützung des Goethe-Instituts realisiert.

Ausstellungsinfos

Komunitas Salihara Gallery
Jl. Salihara No. 16
Jakarta Selatan, Indonesien

15. August – 15. September 2015

Pressevorbesichtigung: 15. August 215, 16 Uhr
Eröffnung: 15. August 215, 19 Uhr


http://reassemblingnature.org/125660-specimens/

www.facebook.com/125660specimens


Projektraum

Anschrift: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Öffnungszeiten während der Ausstellungen:Donnerstag – Montag, 13–19 Uhr | Eintritt frei Seit 2009 zeigt die Schering Stiftung im ...

mehr