SS_PP_190x190px2

 

Fritz Balthaus in the Berlin Academy of Arts

26.08.2015, Berlin | On September 3, 2015, at 6:30 p.m., an exhibition featuring interventions by Fritz Balthaus opens at the Berlin Academy of Arts. For the exhibition entitled “Fritz, I like the way you grasp the situation by its balls,” the artist developed 13 interventions in the public areas and gardens on Hanseatenweg.

Fritz Balthaus, MORE

The works by the contextual artist Fritz Balthaus are both precise experimental setups and ironic interventions into the world of art and art exhibitions. Whether shown in museums, art galleries, galleries, art fairs, baroque castles and gardens or in so-called public contexts, the artworks reflect not only (on) the conditions of their creation but also the environments of their presentation. This results in overlaps of various kinds between the different media of image, sculpture, and architecture.

The site-specific “Spartenstiche” at the Academy of Arts challenges the widely postulated freedom of the arts. Upon closer examination, the social mandate of the “freedom of the arts” is itself a form of “commissioned art”; so perhaps taking as its subject art’s lack of freedom is what’s left of the freedom of the arts. In this sense, the interventions by Fritz Balthaus sit uneasily with the “rules” of art and the specific “house rules” of the Berlin Academy of Arts.

“Fritz, I like the way you grasp the situation by its balls”
Interventions by Fritz Balthaus

Berlin Academy of Arts
Hanseatenweg 10 | 10557 Berlin-Tiergarten

Opening: Thursday, September 3, 2015, 6:30 p.m.
Duration: September 4 – October 25, 2015

Artist-guided tours:
October 4, 11, 18, and 25, at 2 p.m.

A cooperation between the Berlin Academy of Arts and the Ernst Schering Foundation. 

 

Photo: MORE, Berlin 2015, © Fritz Balthaus, VG Bild-Kunst Bonn 2015, Photo: Friedhelm Hoffmann


News

Unboxing Photographs: Work in the Photo Archive

15.01.2018, Berlin | From February 16 through May 27, 2018, the National Museums in Berlin will...
more

Stellenausschreibung: Teamassistenz

05.01.2018, Berlin | Zur Erweiterung unseres Teams suchen wir zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt eine Teamassistenz (m/w), Teilzeit...
more

Who Is Talking? Research Orientation in Children’s and Youth Theater

02.01.2018, Berlin | An expert conference titled “Who Is Talking? Research Orientation in Children’s and Youth...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Fritz Balthaus in der Akademie der Künste

26.08.2015, Berlin | Am 3. September 2015, 18.30 Uhr, eröffnet eine Ausstellung mit Interventionen von Fritz Balthaus in der Akademie der Künste. Für die Ausstellung „Fritz, I like the way you grasp the situation by its balls“ entwickelte der Künstler 13 Interventionen in den öffentlichen Bereichen und Gärten am Hanseatenweg.

Fritz Balthaus, MORE

Die Arbeiten des Kontextkünstlers Fritz Balthaus sind sowohl präzise Versuchsanordnungen als auch ironische Eingriffe in die Kunstwelt und den Ausstellungsbetrieb. Ob in Museen, Kunsthallen, Galerien, Kunstmessen, in Barockschlössern und -gärten oder in sogenannten öffentlichen Kontexten, die Kunstwerke reflektieren nicht nur die Bedingungen ihres Entstehens sondern auch die Umgebungen ihrer Präsentation. Dabei ergeben sich meist unterschiedlich große Schnittmengen zwischen den Medien: Bild, Skulptur und Architektur.

Die ortsspezifischen „Spartenstiche“ in der Akademie der Künste stellen eine allgemein behauptete Kunstfreiheit auf die Probe. Genauer betrachtet ist der gesellschaftliche Auftrag zur „Kunstfreiheit“ selbst „Auftragskunst“, und vielleicht besteht die Freiheit der Kunst nur noch darin, ihre Unfreiheit zu thematisieren. In diesem Sinne reiben sich die Interventionen von Fritz Balthaus an der „Hausordnung“ der Kunst und an der „Hausordnung“ des konkreten Gebäudes der Akademie der Künste.

„Fritz, I like the way you grasp the situation by its balls“
Interventionen von Fritz Balthaus

Akademie der Künste
Hanseatenweg 10 | 10557 Berlin-Tiergarten

Eröffnung: Donnerstag, 3. September 2015, 18.30 Uhr
Laufzeit: 4.9. – 25.10.2015

Künstlerführungen:
4.10., 11.10., 18.10., 25.10., jeweils 14 Uhr

Ein Kooperationsprojekt der Akademie der Künste mit der Schering Stiftung.

 

Foto: MORE, Berlin 2015, © Fritz Balthaus, VG Bild-Kunst Bonn 2015, Foto: Friedhelm Hoffmann


Aktuelles

Die Debatte – Die Macht der Meinungsforschung

01.08.2017, Berlin | Das politische Jahr 2017 bewegt sich auf den Höhepunkt zu: Die Bundestagswahlen am...
mehr

Digitaler Salon: Bei Nebenwirkungen fragen Sie Ihren Algorithmus

01.08.2017, Berlin | Werden wir durch personalisierte Tabletten und Nano-Roboter künftig länger und besser leben? Welchen...
mehr

"Women" von Sasha Waltz

19.07.2017, Berlin | Sasha Waltz & Guests werden im Rahmen von „Tanz im August“ am 30....
mehr