Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Panel Discussion: Fighting Heart Attacks and Leukemia with Stem Cells

26.08.2015, Berlin, Frankfurt/Main | Can stem cells deliver on our expectations for cure? What is the latest progress in research? What diseases are already treated with cell-based therapies? And what does the process from stem-cell research to long-term studies to the clinical application of stem cells look like? During the 3rd International Annual Conference of the German Stem Cell Network (GSCN) at Goethe University Frankfurt, three stem cell researchers will talk about their findings during a public panel discussion on September 11, 2015.


Today, patients, their relatives and the public have a growing interest in being well-informed about the causes and consequences of diseases as well as the opportunities and risks of therapies. The stem cell hype of recent years has given way to a realistic assessment as new findings and insights continue to emerge.

The panel features three renowned scientists in the fields of basic and applied research:

Prof. Dr. Thomas Braun, director at the Max Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research, Bad Nauheim

Prof Dr. Hubert Serve, University Hospital Frankfurt, Department of Medicine II, Hematology and Oncology

Prof. Dr. Andreas Zeiher, University Hospital Frankfurt, Department of Medicine III, Cardiology.

Following short films on their work, the panelists will provide a brief overview of the latest stem cell research and explain how stem cells can be used to treat heart attacks and leukemia. They will then discuss their findings with the audience. Before and after the panel discussion, a poster exhibition will be on display to showcase diseases, current stem cell therapies and research approaches.

The Ernst Schering Foundation supports the event, since it communicates and discusses new research with an interested public and thus helps provide a better understanding and appreciation of scientific research.

The panel discussion is the concluding event of the three-day International Annual Conference of the German Stem Cell Network. On September 9-11, 2015, more than 400 stem cell researchers come together in Frankfurt to share and present their latest findings.

GSCN Outreach Event
at the 3rd Annual Conference of the German Stem Cell Network

September 11, 2015, 7:00–8:00 p.m.

Goethe University Frankfurt
Campus Westend
Casino Annex / West Hall
Theodor-W.-Adorno-Platz 1
60323 Frankfurt

Admission is free. Registration is not required.

http://www.gscn.org/Conferences/2015/Home.aspx


News

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Digital Salon: A Soft Spot for Cyborgs

22.05.2017, Berlin | Smart robot hands, artificial legs, printable organs: Are implants the panacea of the...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Podiumsdiskussion: Mit Stammzellen gegen Herzinfarkt und Blutkrebs

26.08.2015, Berlin, Frankfurt a. Main | Bringen Stammzellen die Heilung, die von ihnen erwartet wird? Welche Fortschritte gibt es in der Forschung? Bei welchen Erkrankungen kommen zellenbasierte Therapien schon zur Anwendung? Und wie sieht der Weg von der Erforschung der Stammzellen über langjährige Studien bis hin zu ihrem klinischen Einsatz aus? Anlässlich der 3. Internationalen Jahreskonferenz des German Stem Cell Network (GSCN) an der Goethe Universität Frankfurt am Main werden am 11. September 2015 drei Stammzellforscher in einer öffentlichen Podiumsdiskussion ihre Forschung vorstellen.


Patienten, ihre Verwandten und die Öffentlichkeit haben heute ein gesteigertes Interesse daran, sich gut über Verlauf und Ursachen von Krankheiten als auch über die Chancen und Risiken von Therapien zu informieren. Der Hype um Stammzelltherapie der vergangenen Jahre ist einer realistischen Einschätzung bei stetigem Erkenntnisfortschritt gewichen.

In der Podiumsdiskussion kommen drei renommierte Wissenschaftler aus der Grundlagenforschung und Klinik zu Wort:

Prof. Dr. Thomas Braun, Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Herz- und Lungenforschung, Bad Nauheim

Prof Dr. Hubert Serve, Universitätsklinikum Frankfurt, Medizinische Klinik II für Hämatologie und Onkologie

Prof. Dr. Andreas Zeiher, Universitätsklinikum Frankfurt, Medizinische Klinik III für Kardiologie.

Kurzfilme präsentieren ihre Arbeit. Anschließend skizzieren sie den neuesten Forschungsstand und Einsatzmöglichkeiten von Stammzellen bei Herzinfarkt und Blutkrebs und diskutieren ihre Ergebnisse mit dem Publikum. Vor und nach der Podiumsdiskussion beschäftigt sich eine Posterausstellung mit Krankheiten, derzeit möglichen Stammzelltherapien und aktuellen Forschungsansätzen.

Die Schering Stiftung fördert die Veranstaltung, da neue Forschungsansätze in die interessierte Öffentlichkeit getragen und diskutiert werden und damit das Verständnis für wissenschaftliche Forschung gestärkt wird.

Mit der Veranstaltung endet die dreitägige Internationale Jahreskonferenz des German Stem Cell Network. In Frankfurt am Main kommen vom 9. bis zu 11. September 2015 über 400 Wissenschaftler aus der Stammzellforschung zusammen, um sich auszutauschen und neueste Ergebnisse zu präsentieren.

GSCN Öffentlichkeitsveranstaltung
zur 3. Jahreskonferenz des German Stem Cell Network

11. September 2015, 19 bis 20 Uhr

Goethe Universität Frankfurt
Campus Westend
Casino-Anbau / Saal West
Theodor-W.-Adorno-Platz 1
60323 Frankfurt

Der Eintritt ist frei. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.

http://www.gscn.org/Conferences/2015/Home.aspx

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Die KW Institute for Contemporary Art und die Schering Stiftung freuen sich, die...
mehr