Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

European Students’ Conference 2015

26.08.2015, Berlin | “Science or Fiction? – Imagine the future of medicine” is the title of the 26th European Students’ Conference, which is supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation for the fourth time. What seemed science fiction a few years ago is now being translated into clinical routine: Together with outstanding experts in the field the ESC wants to think outside the box and investigate new perspectives in modern medicine. How can future doctors and scientists meet the promises and perils of the coming medical revolution? What is the role of young professionals in the exciting era of evolving technologies and personalized medicine? These questions will be discussed at the conference that takes place on September 23–26 at the Virchow Clinic of the Charité Berlin.

European Students Conference

More than 450 students and young scientists from over 42 countries are expected to participate in the ESC’s expert lectures by renowned scientists, in medical workshops, in a newly launched Matchmaking program and in an extensive social program. In addition, the conference offers young scientists from all biomedical disciplines an opportunity to present their research findings to an expert jury and an international audience and to publish their work as part of a competition at the conference.

Speakers will be:

Prof. Ruha Benjamin
Princeton University, Health, Wellbeing and Sociology

Prof. David Putrino
Harvard Medical School/MIT, Telemedicine

Prof. Glenn Cohen
Harvard Law School, Bioethics

Dr. Katherine Sleeman
King’s College, London, Palliative Medicine

The European Students’ Conference (ESC) was established in 1989 to facilitate and promote the scientific exchange between young scientists in Western and Eastern Europe. Held annually at the Charité for 26 years, the ESC has developed into one of the largest student-organized biomedical conferences worldwide. The 26th ESC is under the patronage of Prof. Ernst Rietschel, Chairman of the Berlin Institute of Health.

The Ernst Schering Foundation supports the conference, because it makes an important contribution to the promotion and international networking of excellent young scientists.

For more information, please visit www.esc-berlin.com.


News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Ivana Franke

 

European Students Conference 2015

26.08.2015, Berlin | „Science or Fiction? – Imagine the Future of Medicine“ – so lautet das Thema der 26. European Students Conference (ESC), welche die Schering Stiftung bereits zum 4. Mal fördert. Was vor wenigen Jahren noch wie Science Fiction wirkte, findet nun Eingang in den klinischen Alltag: Zusammen mit prominenten Experten soll auf der ESC kreativ und unkonventionell über neue Perspektiven in der modernen Medizin nachgedacht werden. Wie können angehende Ärzte und Wissenschaftler den Verheißungen und Gefahren der medizinischen Revolution der Zukunft begegnen? Welche Rolle spielen Nachwuchswissenschaftler in dieser aufregenden Zeit der fortschreitenden technologischen Entwicklung und personalisierten Medizin? Diesen Fragen widmet sich die Konferenz vom 23. bis 26. September im Virchow-Klinikum der Charité Berlin.

European Students Conference

Über 450 Studenten und junge Wissenschaftler aus mehr als 42 Ländern werden erwartet und nehmen im Rahmen der ESC an Fachvorträgen renommierter Wissenschaftler, an medizinischen Workshops sowie an einem umfangreichen Begleitprogramm teil. Zudem erhalten die Teilnehmer die Möglichkeit mit dem neu entwickelten Matchmaking-Programm Kontakte zu lokalen Forschungsgruppen zu knüpfen. Im Mittelpunkt 26. ESC wird jedoch wieder der wissenschaftliche Wettbewerb stehen, in welchem die jungen Wissenschaftler ihre Forschungsergebnisse aus verschiedensten Fachrichtungen einer Fachjury vorstellen und so zum Ideenaustausch und Netzwerken anregen.

Zu den Sprechern gehören:

Prof. Ruha Benjamin
Princeton University, Spezialistin im interdisziplinären Feld Gesundheit und Recht

Prof. David Putrino
Harvard Medical School/MIT, Pionier in der Telemedizin

Prof. Glenn Cohen
Harvard Law School, Experte im Feld Bioethik

Dr. Katherine Sleeman
King’s College, London, Forscherin im Bereich Palliativmedizin

Die European Students’ Conference (ESC) wurde 1989 an der Charité gegründet mit dem Ziel, den wissenschaftlichen Austausch junger Forscher in West- und Osteuropa zu fördern. Seit 26 Jahren findet die ESC jährlich an der Charité statt und hat sich zu einer der größten studentisch organisierten biomedizinischen Konferenzen weltweit entwickelt. Die Schirmherrschaft 2015 übernimmt Prof. Ernst Rietschel, Vorstandsvorsitzender des Berlin Institute of Health.

Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt die Konferenz daher als wichtigen Beitrag zur Förderung und internationalen Vernetzung von exzellenten Nachwuchswissenschaftlern.

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter www.esc-berlin.com.


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Am 1. Juni, um 19 Uhr, eröffnet in den KW Institute for Contemporary...
mehr