Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Dymaxion Opera

23.09.2015, Berlin | Inspired by Richard Buckminster Fuller’s “Operating Manual for Spaceship Earth,” the project team around director Birgit Grimm developed “Dymaxion Opera,” an opera production about the “uncontrollability” of political events and about human impotence in the face of catastrophes and social developments on Earth. The visionary ideas and inventions by the U.S. American architect, designer, philosopher and writer formed a starting point for the team of the Junge Oper (Young Opera) Berlin and composer Helmut Oehring to think about where we should be headed in the 21st century. As location for both the premiere on October 16, 2015, at 6 p.m., and additional performances, they chose the Great Wind Tunnel in Adlershof, birthplace of the German Laboratory for Aviation (Deutsche Versuchsanstalt für Luftfahrt).

Dymaxion Opera, Photo Felix Grimm

Buckminster Fuller was a practicing visionary. He saw the earth as a spaceship perfectly equipped by its creator, who, unfortunately, had failed to provide an instruction manual. For Fuller, it was the responsibility of every individual to explore the complex functioning of nature in order not to throw the spaceship off its natural course through ill-considered interventions. He recognized the risk of thoughtlessly exploiting nature, as the fuel for Spaceship Earth, which had been formed over millions of years, would be exhausted within a few generations. Fuller was convinced that the earth had enough resources and food for everybody. Nobody had to die of starvation. A more careful resource management would ensure that future generations, too, would be able to benefit from the earth’s resources.

“Dymaxion Opera” is an apocalyptic siren song. The wind tunnel becomes a spaceship. The number of fellow travelers is limited. Who is inside and who is outside? There is not enough space for everybody. Two people have cut themselves off. They don’t know where their spaceship is taking them. They try to follow the instructions of the airborne computer, but they do not understand them. They have no idea what to do. So they try to at least “function,” with no hope or control.

Against the background of the current refugee crisis, the visionary ideas of Richard Buckminster Fuller, his outsider perspective on Earth which he saw as a closed ecological system, once again deserves our attention. This is why the Ernst Schering Foundation supports the new production by Birgit Grimm, thus also explicitly honoring the team of the Junge Oper, which has distinguished itself at Berlin’s periphery with outstanding opera adaptations, rendering a great service to the arts and cultural education at the Schlossplatztheater in Berlin-Köpenick.

Dymaxion Opera – A local opera for global people

Musical theater at the Adlershof Wind Tunnel, inspired by the worldview of Richard Buckminster Fuller and featuring songs for soprano, baritone, accordion, and prerecorded music by Helmut Oehring (based on excerpts from the libretto by Steffen Thiemann)

Premiere: October 16, 2015, 6 p.m.

Great Wind Tunnel at Adlershof
Access via Kroneckerstrasse | 12489 Berlin

Junge Oper Berlin
Director: Birgit Grimm
Arrangements, electronics & production: Torsten Ottersberg
Libretto: Steffen Thiemann
Technical director, light & video design: Felix Grimm
Accordion recording: Heiner Frauendorf
Featuring: Sibylle Fischer (soprano) and Ingo Volkmer (baritone)

Additional performances / REVIVAL!
Friday, June 17, 2016, 6 p.m. and 8 p.m.
Saturday, June 18, 2016, 6 p.m. and 8 p.m.
Sunday, June 19, 2016, 4 p.m. and 6 p.m.
Friday, June 24, 2016, 6 p.m. and 8 p.m.
Saturday, June 25, 2016, 6 p.m. and 8 p.m.
Sunday, June 26, 2016, 6 p.m.

TICKETS: Reservix

LIMITED CAPACITY: 20 participants per performance

The wind tunnel is not heated. Please dress according to the weather and wear sensible shoes (no heels). The show takes no more than 60 minutes.

pdf Flyer

With support from the Ernst Schering Foundation, the Society for the Promotion of the Schlossplatztheater, and the District Office of Treptow-Köpenick, Berlin.

Photos: Felix Grimm

Dymaxion Opera, Photo Felix Grimm

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Dymaxion Opera

24.09.2015, Berlin | Inspiriert von Richard Buckminster Fullers „Handbuch für das Raumschiff Erde“ hat das Projektteam um die Regisseurin Birgit Grimm mit „Dymaxion Opera“ eine Opernproduktion entwickelt, die die „Unsteuerbarkeit“ der politischen Geschehnisse und die Ohnmacht der Menschen gegenüber Katastrophen und gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen auf der Erde thematisiert. Die visionären Gedanken und Erfindungen des US-amerikanischen Architekten, Konstrukteurs, Designers, Philosophen und Schriftstellers waren für das Team der Jungen Oper Berlin und den Komponisten Helmut Oehring Ausgangspunkt darüber nachzudenken, wo die Reise im 21. Jahrhundert hingehen soll. Als Spielort für die Premiere am 16.10.2015, 18 Uhr, sowie weitere Vorstellungen haben sie den großen Windkanal in Adlershof gewählt, wo die Deutsche Versuchsanstalt für Luftfahrt ihren Ursprung hatte.

Dymaxion Opera, Junge Oper Berlin

Buckminster Fuller war ein praktizierender Visionär. Er betrachtete die Erde als ein von seinem Schöpfer perfekt ausgestattetes Raumschiff, für welches leider keine Bedienungsanleitung mitgeliefert wurde. Die Aufgabe jedes Menschen sah er darin, die komplexen Funktionsmechanismen der Natur zu durchschauen, um nicht durch unüberlegte Eingriffe das Raumschiff aus seiner natürlichen Bahn zu werfen. Den gedankenlosen Raubbau an der Natur erkannte er als Bedrohung, da der in Millionen Jahren von der Sonne angelegte Treibstoff für das Raumschiff Erde innerhalb weniger Generationen restlos aufgebraucht werden würde. Fuller war z. B. davon überzeugt, dass die Erde genug Rohstoffe und Nahrung für alle bereithält. Niemand müsse an Hunger sterben. Ein sorgsamer Umgang mit den Ressourcen wäre die Garantie dafür, dass auch spätere Generationen noch davon Gebrauch machen könnten.

„Dymaxion Opera“ ist ein apokalyptischer Sirenengesang für Ein-, und Austänzer. Der Windkanal wird zum Luftschiff. Die Zahl der Mitreisenden ist stark limitiert. Wer ist drin und wer ist draußen? Für alle reicht es nicht. Zwei Menschen haben sich abgekapselt. Sie wissen nicht, wohin ihr Luftschiff sie tragen wird. Sie versuchen, den Anweisungen des Bordcomputers zu folgen, aber sie verstehen die Anweisungen nicht. Sie haben keine Idee, was sie tun können. So versuchen sie, wenigstens zu „funktionieren“, ohne Hoffnung und Kontrolle.

Vor dem Hintergrund der aktuellen Flüchtlingskrise haben die visionären Ideen Richard Buckminster Fullers, sein Blick von außen auf die Erde, die er als geschlossenes ökologisches System begreift, es verdient, wieder in den Vordergrund gerückt zu werden. Aus diesem Grund fördert die Schering Stiftung die Neuproduktion von Birgit Grimm und würdigt damit explizit auch das Team der Jungen Oper, das sich in der Peripherie Berlins mit herausragenden Opernbearbeitungen hervorgetan und um die Kultur und kulturelle Bildung im Köpenicker Schlossplatztheater verdient gemacht hat.

Dymaxion Opera – A local opera for global people

Musiktheater inspiriert von der Weltsicht Richard Buckminster Fullers im Windkanal Adlershof mit Liedern für Sopran, Bariton, Akkordeon und vorproduziertes Zuspiel von Helmut Oehring (basierend auf Ausschnitten aus dem Textbuch von Steffen Thiemann)

Uraufführung: 16. Oktober 2015, 18 Uhr

Großer Windkanal Adlershof
Eingang über Kroneckerstraße | 12489 Berlin

Junge Oper Berlin
Regie: Birgit Grimm
Arrangements, Electronics & Produktion: Torsten Ottersberg
Libretto: Steffen Thiemann
Technische Leitung, Licht - & Videodesign: Felix Grimm
Akkordeoneinspielung: Heiner Frauendorf
Mit: Sibylle Fischer (Sopran) und Ingo Volkmer (Bariton)

Wiederaufnahme!
Freitag, 17.06.2016, 18 Uhr und 20 Uhr
Samstag, 18.06.2016, 18 Uhr und 20 Uhr
Sonntag, 19.06.2016, 16 Uhr und 18 Uhr
Freitag, 24.06.2016, 18 Uhr und 20 Uhr
Samstag, 25.06.2016, 18 Uhr und 20 Uhr
Sonntag, 26.06.2016, 18 Uhr

KARTEN: Reservix

BESCHRÄNKTE TEILNEHMERZAHL: 20 Personen pro Vorstellung

Der Windkanal ist nicht beheizt. Bitte Bekleidung der Witterung entsprechend wählen und außerdem festes Schuhwerk (keine Absatzschuhe) tragen.
Dauer der Vorstellung höchstens 60 Minuten.

pdf Flyer

Gefördert durch die Schering Stiftung, den Förderkreis des Schlossplatztheaters und das Bezirksamt Treptow-Köpenick von Berlin.

Fotos: Felix Grimm

Dymaxion Opera, Junge Oper Berlin

Aktuelles

Wer hat Angst vorm fremden Mann?

12.05.2017, Berlin | Die Angst vor dem Fremden scheint ein Wesensmerkmal des Menschen zu sein. Sie...
mehr

SYSTEMA NATURAE

22.05.2017, Berlin | Im Jahr 2013 begannen die Komponisten Mauro Lanza und Andrea Valle ihre Zusammenarbeit...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr