Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Michael Müller: WHO’S SPEAKING?

29.10.2015, Berlin | In continually changing formations cutting across all artistic genres, Michael Müller examines processes of composition and translation in visual art. Proceeding from the drawing medium and its specific strategies for visual invention at the boundary between line and form, idea and depiction, Müller transfers this tension from surface into space – and puts it to work as an installation. His first institutional solo exhibition WHO’S SPEAKING? whichopens on November 28, 2015, 5 p.m., at KW Institute for Contemporary Art Berlin brings together works from recent years with specifically-developed new productions which variously investigate the question of artistic authorship.

(c) Michael Müller

From Müller’s perspective, “who is speaking?” also means “what is being said?” and “why?” but also “who is listening?”; The exhibited works return time and again to the issue of how an artist becomes visible in his work. Each single piece stands at a pressure point between the application or transformation of historical and contemporary artistic codes, and the artist’s personal obsessions. For WHO’S SPEAKING? Müller has conceived new versions of two figures—Hermes and Hermaphroditos—who weave a web of references and connections between the individual works, and accompany the viewer throughout the exhibition. As the voice in a new sound installation, the protagonist of a video, or as a figurative sculpture that reverses the relationship between work and viewer, these two figures from Greek mythology appear in both expected and unexpected places, and link the content of exhibition’s two floors formally.

Michael Müller: WHO’S SPEAKING?

Opening: Saturday, November 28, 2015, 5–10 p.m.

KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststr. 69 | 10117 Berlin

Exhibition dates: November 29, 2015 - January 24, 2016

Further information: http://www.kw-berlin.de/en/

The exhibition is funded by Michael Heins (Herzogenrath), Geraldine Michalke, Ángel and Clara Nieto, Stephan Oehmen, Peppermint Holding GmbH, Ernst Schering Foundation, Berlin, and Romina Polley. The catalog is funded by NATIONAL-BANK AG.

Picture:
Michael Müller
Self portrait, 2015 (Detail)
pencil on paper, marble, colour


News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Michael Müller: WER SPRICHT?

29.10.2015, Berlin | In ständig sich verändernden Formationen und quer durch alle künstlerischen Genres thematisiert Michael Müller die Gestaltungs- und Übersetzungsprozesse Bildender Kunst. Ausgehend vom Medium Zeichnung und deren spezifischen Strategien der Bildfindung an der Grenze zwischen Linie und Gestalt, Idee und Abbild, überträgt der Künstler dieses Spannungsverhältnis aus der Fläche in den Raum und setzt es installativ ins Werk. Seine erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung WER SPRICHT?, die am 28. November 2015, 17 Uhr, in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art eröffnet wird, bringt Werke der vergangenen Jahre mit eigens entwickelten Neuproduktionen zusammen, die sich auf unterschiedliche Weise der Frage nach künstlerischer Autorschaft stellen.

(c) Michael Müller

„Wer spricht?“ bedeutet aus Müllers Perspektive auch: „was wird gesagt?“ und „warum wird gesprochen?“; aber auch „wer hört zu?“ Die gezeigten Arbeiten gehen immer wieder neu von der Frage aus, inwieweit ein Künstler in seinen Werken selbst sichtbar wird. Jedes einzelne Werk verortet sich im Spannungsverhältnis von Anwendung oder Umformung historischer wie gegenwärtiger künstlerischer Codes und den persönlichen Obsessionen des Künstlers. Für WER SPRICHT? konzipiert Müller zwei Figuren – Hermes und Hermaphroditos – die ein Netz von Bezugnahmen und Verbindungen zwischen einzelnen Arbeiten weben und den Betrachter durch die Ausstellung begleiten. Sei es als Stimme in einer neuen Soundinstallation, als Protagonist eines Videos oder auch als figurative Skulptur, die das Werk-Betrachter-Verhältnis umkehrt – diese beiden Gestalten aus der griechischen Mythologie erscheinen an vermuteten wie unvermuteten Orten gleichermaßen.

Michael Müller: WER SPRICHT?

Eröffnung: Samstag, 28.11.15, 17–22 Uhr

KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststr. 69 | 10117 Berlin

Ausstellungsdauer: 29.11.15.- 24.1.2016
Weitere Informationen: www.kw-berlin.de/

Die Ausstellung wird gefördert durch Michael Heins (Herzogenrath), Geraldine Michalke, Ángel und Clara Nieto, Stephan Oehmen, Peppermint Holding GmbH, die Schering Stiftung, Berlin, sowie Romina Polley. Der Katalog wird gefördert durch die NATIONAL-BANK AG.

Abbildung:
Michael Müller
SELBSTBILDNIS, 2015 (Detail)
Bleistift auf Papier, Marmor, Farbe


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni...
mehr