Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Schering Prize 2014

The 2014 Schering Prize is awarded to Dr. Kristine Müther for her dissertation on “Generation, structure and reactivity of metallocene-stabilized silylium ions,” which she completed at the Technical University of Berlin under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Martin Oestreich.

Kristine Müther (born in 1984) studied chemistry at the University of Münster. Her studies were funded by a fellowhip of the Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes. During a research project in the group of Prof. Dr. Dominic Wright at the University of Cambridge, UK, she investigated the synthesis of phophorous-based radicals. For her diploma thesis she worked under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Martin Oestreich in Münster on rhodium-catalyzed borylation reactions. She stayed with Prof. Oestreich for her doctoral studies and focused on the synthesis and characterization of metallocene-stabilized cationic silicon compounds – also funded by the Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes. As a member of the “International Research Training Group Münster – Nagoya,” she also spent several months in the group of Prof. Dr. Kazuyuki Tatsumi in Nagoya, Japan, to work on a new catalytic activation of boranes by ruthenium-thiolate complexes. Having moved to the Technical University of Berlin, she finished her dissertation there in 2014. Since 2014 Kristine Müther has been working with Evonik Resource Efficiency GmbH.

About the dissertation
In her dissertation, Kristine Müther studied positively charged silicon compounds, so-called silylium ions. For a long time, silicon chemists were busy just isolating such highly reactive compounds. To harness their reactivity for use as catalysts – i.e., to accelerate chemical reactions – these silylium ions have to be “tamed.” This can be done, for example, by stabilizing them with a transition metal such as iron. Kristine Müther for the first time succeeded in “imaging” such stabilization of a positively charged silicon atom through an iron atom with the aid of X-ray structural analysis. As part of her work, she created a family of those reactive silicon compounds with different properties, studied their reactivity, and used them as catalysts for the synthesis of new silicon compounds. Silicon-based molecules today can be used, among other things, as intermediates in organic synthesis, for coatings, synthetics or the production of computer chips.

pdf Abstract of the dissertation


The award ceremony of the 2014 Schering Prize will be preceded by the Bohlmann Lecture, which is also supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation.

Bohlmann Lecture 2015 and award ceremony of the Schering Prize 2014

November 20, 2015, 4:00 p.m.

Technical University of Berlin
Lecture Hall C 130 (Old Chemistry Building)
Straße des 17. Juni 115
10623 Berlin

2014_Müther

News

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

SS_PP_190x190px2

 

Schering Preis 2014

Der Schering Preis 2014 geht an Dr. Kristine Müther für ihre Dissertation mit dem Titel „Erzeugung, Struktur und Reaktivität metallocenstabilisierter Silyliumionen“, die sie an der Technischen Universität Berlin unter der Betreuung von Prof. Dr. Martin Oestreich verfasst hat.

Kristine Müther (geb. 1984) studierte Chemie an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität in Münster. Dabei wurde sie durch ein Stipendium der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes unterstützt. Im Rahmen eines Auslandspraktikums in der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Dr. Dominic Wright an der University of Cambridge, UK, untersuchte sie die Synthese phosphorzentrierter Radikale. In ihrer Diplomarbeit befasste sie sich in Münster unter der Anleitung von Prof. Dr. Martin Oestreich mit rhodium-katalysierten Borylierungsreaktionen. Für ihre Promotion blieb sie in der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Oestreich und widmete sich, ebenfalls gefördert durch die Studienstiftung, der Synthese und Charaktersierung von metallocenstabilisierten kationischen Siliciumverbindungen. Als Mitglied der „International Research Training Group Münster – Nagoya“ verbrachte sie außerdem einige Monate in der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Dr. Kazuyuki Tatsumi in Nagoya, Japan, und arbeitete an einer neuartigen katalytischen Boranaktivierung durch Ruthenium-Thiolat-Komplexe. Nach einem Umzug an die Technische Universität Berlin wurde sie 2014 dort promoviert. Seit 2014 arbeitet Kristine Müther bei der Evonik Resource Efficiency GmbH.

Über Kristine Müthers Dissertation
In ihrer Dissertation widmete sich Kristine Müther der Erforschung von positiv geladenen Siliciumverbindungen, sogenannten Silyliumionen. Lange Zeit befassten sich Siliciumchemiker damit, solche hochreaktiven Verbindungen überhaupt zu isolieren. Um ihre Reaktivität gezielt für den Einsatz als Katalysator – also zur Beschleunigung von chemischen Reaktionen – nutzbar zu machen, müssen diese Siliciumverbindungen jedoch „gezähmt“ werden. Dies kann beispielsweise durch die Stabilisierung mit einem Übergangsmetall wie Eisen erreicht werden. Kristine Müther gelang es erstmals, eine derartige Stabilisierung eines positiv geladenen Siliciumatoms durch ein Eisenatom mittels Röntgenstrukturanayse „bildlich“ nachzuweisen. Im Rahmen ihrer Arbeit stellte sie eine Familie dieser reaktiven Siliciumverbindungen mit unterschiedlichen Eigenschaften her, untersuchte ihre Reaktivität und setzte sie gezielt als Katalysator ein, um damit neue siliciumhaltige Verbindungen zu synthetisieren. Siliciumhaltige Moleküle können heute z.B. als Zwischenstufen in der Wirkstoffsynthese, in Beschichtungen, Kunststoffen oder bei der Produktion von Computerchips eingesetzt werden.

pdf Ausführlicher Abstract

Die Verleihung des Schering Preises 2014 erfolgt im Anschluss an die Bohlmann-Vorlesung, die ebenfalls von der Schering Stiftung gefördert wird.

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2015 und Verleihung des Schering Preises 2014

20. November 2015, 16 Uhr

Technische Universität Berlin
Hörsaal C 130 (altes Chemiegebäude)
Straße des 17. Juni 115
10623 Berlin

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 60.

2014_Müther

Aktuelles

Was uns auseinandertreibt – Hassreden im digitalen Zeitalter

05.04.2017, Berlin | Politische und persönliche Diffamierungen gehören durch Internet und soziale Medien inzwischen zum gesellschaftlichen...
mehr

Ausschreibung: “Young Investigator Fund” für innovative Forschungsideen

22.03.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt erfolgsversprechende Forschungsideen junger WissenschaftlerInnen mit einer Anschubfinanzierung. Gefördert werden...
mehr

Leere Meere oder wildes Leben? Der Weltozean im 21. Jahrhundert

08.03.2017, Berlin | Unsere Weltmeere sind mit Abstand das größte Ökosystem unserer Erde. Sie bedecken mehr...
mehr