Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Winners of the Fast Forward Science 2015 Web Video Competition Announced

02.11.2015, Berlin | What does our world consist of? Does it even exist or are we being deceived? What makes energy renewable? And why is it crucial for our planet’s survival? These and other brilliant questions are answered by the winners of the web video competition Fast Forward Science with the aid of their videos on current scientific research. From a total of 109 submissions, the jury chose the prize winners in three categories. In addition, the Community Award was given to the audience favorites among the finalists. On December 1, 2015, the winners of the 20,000-euro competition will be honored as part of the 8th Forum on Science Communication in Nuremberg.

FFWD_Jahresbanner_2015

Researchers, students, science buffs, seasoned web video creators, and communications pros submitted their videos on current research topics. The competition aims to promote science communication and highlight the potential of web videos for research and science communication.

The Fast Forward Science web video competition is a project jointly organized by Science in Dialogue and the Stifterverband für die deutsche Wissenschaft and supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation.

Category Content and Substance

[In this category, the focus is on the videos’ scientific depth.]

1st Prize: David Peter and Team | YouTube Channel somethingwithscience | Mainz
How do we know that the world around us is real and not just a trick of our brain? Scientific insights show that space and time could actually be a simulation. In his video, Constraints on the Universe as a Numerical Simulation, David Peter explains what’s behind this unimaginable idea.

2nd Prize: Dr. Aaron Lindner | Max Planck Society | Munich
Computers that read our thoughts – it may sound like a long way off, but it is not that unrealistic. Researchers at the Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems measure brainwaves and develop a “thought reader,” which, for example, helps paralyzed people to communicate. How man and machine will interact in the future is shown in the video Brain-Computer Interface – A Direct Connection to Thought.

3rd Prize: Ben Bode and Team | YouTube Channel SOundSO gesehen | Cologne
What makes preimplantation and prenatal diagnosis such a delicate subject? What do we actually mean by these awkward terms? In his video Early Detection I Genetic Testing and Designer Babies, Ben Bode provides answers to the basic questions. By all means form your own opinions!

Category Scitainment

[This category focuses on the entertainment value of the videos.]

1st Prize: Stefan Müller | Ottersberg
He breaks down the world into its smallest pieces: in his video Brickscience TV – Collider, physics and math teacher Stefan Müller shows how scientists are searching for the smallest particle of our universe. His brickfilm explains how a collider (particle accelerator) works and what makes researchers’ hearts beat faster. Brickfilms are films featuring Lego bricks and toys.

2nd Prize: Alexander Giesecke and Team | YouTube Channel TheSimpleClub | Karlsruhe

Renewable energies can be stored. How? By converting them into chemical energy through water electrolysis and storing them as gas. This can then be converted into electricity. In their video Power to Gas – Energy Storage of the Future?, the video makers have tested the solution in their own lab.

3rd Prize: Malte Derks and Team | MD Films for the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research | Ludwigsburg
What do Canadians have in common with electrons? Quite a lot – as is shown by the video Superconductivity: Flowing in the Fast Lane. The video is about how superconductors work and under what conditions it can be used to save energy in real life.

 

Category Untitled

[A competition for videos at the intersection of art and science.]

1st Prize: Karim Niazi | Zurich
Oil is a fought-over resource. The problem is not that it will be used up at some point. Rather, we will run out of energy to extract oil. Karim Niazi’s video Hydrocarbon is an artistically somber plea for renewable energies and an (ecologically) aware lifestyle.

 

2nd Prize: Dr. Wolfgang Höhl and Team | University of Munich (LMU) | Munich
A marble roller coaster floats through silent space. Three marbles roll along its rails. Is the earth one of them? The video Marble Spaceship shows the apparently endless cycle of our universe.

Only two prizes were given in this category.

Community Award

[This award is given to the audience favorites of the YouTube community.]

1st Prize: Alexander Giesecke and Team | YouTube Channel TheSimpleClub | Karlsruhe
For information on the video, see Category Scitainment

2nd Prize: Ben Bode | YouTube Channel SOundSO gesehen | Cologne
For information on the video, see Category Content and Substance

3rd Prize: Finn | YouTube Channel BYTEthinks
The NSA scandal has brought home the fact that (almost) nobody is surfing the Internet anonymously. Everybody leaves behind traces. And yet there are scientifically proven loopholes and gaps. How you can navigate the Internet without leaving traces and protect your privacy is shown by the video Invisible on the Internet – Surfing Anonymously.

Award Ceremony Fast Forward Science 2015

The award ceremony takes place as part of the 8th Forum on Science Communication.

Tuesday, December 1, 2015, starting at 7:00 p.m.

Meistersingerhalle | Small Hall
Münchener Strasse 19
90478 Nuremberg

For more information, please visit www.fastforwardscience.de


News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Gewinner des Webvideo-Wettbewerbs Fast Forward Science 2015 stehen fest

02.11.2015, Berlin | Woraus besteht unsere Welt? Gibt es sie überhaupt oder werden wir nur getäuscht? Was macht Energie erneuerbar? Und warum ist sie überlebenswichtig für unseren Planeten? Diese und andere furiose Fragen beantworten Gewinner des Webvideo-Wettbewerbs Fast Forward Science in ihren Wissenschaftsvideos zu aktueller Forschung. Aus 109 Beiträgen hat eine Jury die Preisträger in drei Kategorien gewählt. Außerdem wurden die Publikumslieblinge unter den Finalisten mit dem Community Award ausgezeichnet. Am 1. Dezember 2015 werden die Gewinner des mit insgesamt 20.000 Euro dotierten Wettbewerbs im Rahmen des 8. Forums Wissenschaftskommunikation in Nürnberg geehrt.

FFWD_Jahresbanner_2015

Forscher, Schüler, wissenschaftsinteressierte Bürger, eingefleischte Webvideomacher oder Kommunikationsprofis haben ihre Videos zu aktuellen Forschungsthemen eingereicht. Der Wettbewerb soll zur Wissenschaftsvermittlung anregen und das Potenzial von Webvideos für die Forschungskommunikation aufzeigen.

Der Webvideo-Wettbewerb Fast Forward Science ist ein gemeinsames Projekt von Wissenschaft im Dialog und dem Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft und wird von der Schering Stiftung unterstützt.

Kategorie Substanz

[Hier geht es um die inhaltliche Tiefe der Videos]

1. Platz: David Peter und Team | YouTube-Kanal somethingwithscience | Mainz
Woher wissen wir, dass die Welt um uns herum echt ist und nicht bloß eine Täuschung unseres Gehirns? Wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen zufolge könnten Raum und Zeit tatsächlich eine Simulation sein. In seinem Video Constraints on the Universe as a Numerical Simulation erklärt David Peter, was hinter dieser unvorstellbaren Vorstellung steckt.

2. Platz: Dr. Aaron Lindner | Max-Planck-Gesellschaft | München
Computer, die Gedanken lesen – das klingt nach Zukunftsmusik, ist aber gar nicht so unrealistisch. Forscher am Max-Planck-Institut für Intelligente Systeme messen Gehirnströme und entwickeln einen „Gedankenleser“, über den zum Beispiel gelähmte Menschen kommunizieren können. Wie sich Mensch und Maschine vielleicht zukünftig austauschen, zeigt das Video Gehirn-Computer-Schnittstelle - der direkte Draht zum Denken.

3. Platz: Ben Bode und Team | YouTube-Kanal SOundSO gesehen | Köln
Warum sind die Themen Präimplantations- und Pränataldiagnostik eigentlich so heikel? Was genau steckt hinter den sperrigen Begriffen? Ben Bode klärt in seinem Video Früherkennung I Gentests und Designerbabys die grundlegenden Fragen. Meinung bilden ausdrücklich erwünscht!

Kategorie Scitainment

[Hier steht der Unterhaltungswert der Videos im Vordergrund]

1. Platz: Stefan Müller | Ottersberg
Er zerlegt die Welt in ihre kleinsten Teile: Der Physik- und Mathematiklehrer Stefan Müller zeigt in seinem Video Brickscience TV – Teilchenbeschleuniger, wie Wissenschaftler nach dem winzigsten Teilchen unseres Universums suchen. In einem Brickfilm erklärt er, wie ein Teilchenbeschleuniger funktioniert und wann Forscherherzen höher schlagen. Brickfilme sind Filme mit Legofiguren.

2. Platz: Alexander Giesecke und Team | YouTube-Kanal TheSimpleClub | Karlsruhe
Erneuerbare Energien kann man speichern. Wie? Sie werden durch Wasserelektrolyse in chemische Energie umgewandelt und als Gas gespeichert. Dieses kann wiederum in Strom umgewandelt werden. In ihrem Video Power to Gas - Energiespeicher der Zukunft?  haben die Videomacher die Lösung in ihrem eigenen Labor selbst getestet.

3. Platz: Malte Derks und Team| MD-Films für das Max-Planck-Institut für Festkörperforschung | Ludwigsburg
Was haben Kanadier mit Elektronen gemeinsam? So einiges – das zeigt das Video Supraleitung: auf der Überholspur. Es geht darum, wie Supraleitungen funktionieren und unter welchen Bedingungen sie im echten Leben zum Stromsparen genutzt werden können.

Kategorie Untitled

[Hier treten Videos an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Wissenschaft an]

1. Platz: Karim Niazi | Zürich
Erdöl ist umkämpft. Das Problem mit dem Rohstoff ist aber nicht, dass er irgendwann aufgebraucht ist. Vielmehr wird den Menschen die Energie ausgehen, Erdöl zu fördern. Karim Niazis Video Hydrocarbon ist ein kunstvoll düsteres Plädoyer für erneuerbare Energien und einen (ökologisch) bewussten Lebensstil.

2. Platz: Dr. Wolfgang Höhl und Team| Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität  | München
Eine Murmelbahn schwebt durch die Stille des Weltalls. Drei Kugeln rollen auf ihren Bahnen. Vielleicht ist eine davon die Erde? Das Video Marble Spaceship zeigt den scheinbar endlosen Kreislauf unseres Universums.

In dieser Kategorie wurden nur die beiden ersten Plätze ausgezeichnet.

Community Award

[Hier gewinnen die Publikumslieblinge der YouTube-Gemeinschaft]

1. Platz: Alexander Giesecke und Team | YouTube-Kanal TheSimpleClub | Karlsruhe
Infos zum Video siehe Kategorie Scitainment

2. Platz: Ben Bode | YouTube-Kanal SOundSO gesehen | Köln
Infos zum Video siehe Kategorie Substanz

3. Platz: Finn | YouTube-Kanal BYTEthinks
Spätestens seit dem NSA-Skandal wissen wir es: Im Internet surft (fast) niemand anonym. Jeder hinterlässt Spuren. Trotzdem gibt es wissenschaftlich erwiesene Schlupflöcher. Wie man sich spurenlos im Netz bewegt und damit die eigenen Daten schützt, zeigt das Video Unsichtbar im Internet - anonym surfen.

Preisverleihung Fast Forward Science 2015

Die Preisverleihung findet im Rahmen des 8. Forums Wissenschaftskommunikation statt.
Dienstag, 01.12.2015, ab 19:00 Uhr

Meistersingerhalle | Kleiner Saal
Münchener Straße 19
90478 Nürnberg

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf www.fastforwardscience.de


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen, die herausragende Arbeiten...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Die Selbstdarstellung ist so alt wie die Menschheitsgeschichte. Und doch scheint sie in...
mehr