Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Arts Catalyst – New Centre for Art, Science and Technology

04.01.2016, London | For over 20 years, Arts Catalyst has pioneered art that engages with science and technology. On 28 January 2016, Arts Catalyst opens its first Centre for Art, Science and Technology in London’s King’s Cross. The centre will provide a space for artists and scientists to experiment and create new projects, and enable vital interactions between artists, experts and audiences. For the opening exhibition, Arts Catalyst presents “Notes from the Field: Commoning Practices in Art and Science”, featuring the Arte Útil archive, a project initiated by Tania Brugera, alongside YoHa’s artist/citizen science project, “Wrecked! on the Intertidal Zone.”

Graveyard of Lost Species, Yoha, 2015

Arts Catalyst is one of the UK’s most distinctive arts organisations and a co-operation partner of the Ernst Schering Foundation. The Ernst Schering Foundation also supports the set-up of the new Centre for Art, Science and Technology, which aims to provide audiences with thought-provoking experiences and to play a leading role in the dialogue around interdisciplinary artistic practice. Over the last 21 years, Arts Catalyst has commissioned more than 125 UK and international artists’ projects, often at pivotal moments in the artists’ careers, including major projects by Tomas Saraceno, Aleksandra Mir, Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Carey Young, Jan Fabre, and the Otolith Group. Arts Catalyst works with artists and scientists to create artworks and generate new ideas exploring science and its role in society and culture, including “assemble | standard | minimal” by Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen, which was shown at the Ernst Schering Foundation’s Project Space in Berlin.

Arts Catalyst collaborates with world-class galleries, museums, universities, arts organisations, science institutions, and research centres. The organisation is funded by Arts Council England as part of its National Portfolio. Arts Catalyst’s 2016 programme will support artistic practices that explore the reciprocal effects of art and science, of politics and machines, of communities and environments.

Arts Catalyst – New Centre for Art, Science and Technology

Centre launch date: January 28, 2016
“Notes from the Field: Commoning Practices in Art and Science”
Exhibition dates: Thu, 28 January – Sat, 19 March 2016, Thu – Sat, 12 noon – 6 pm

Arts Catalyst
74-76 Cromer Street
London WC1H 8DR

Further information:
http://www.artscatalyst.org/
Phone: +44 (0)20 7278 8373

Photo: Graveyard of Lost Species, Yoha, 2015


News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Arts Catalyst – New Centre for Art, Science and Technology

04.01.2016, London | Seit über 20 Jahren ist Arts Catalyst eine Vorreiterorganisation für Kunst an der Schnittstelle zu Wissenschaft und Technik. Am 28. Januar 2016 eröffnet Arts Catalyst sein erstes Centre for Art, Science and Technology (Zentrum für Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technologie) im Londoner Stadtteil King’s Cross. Das Zentrum soll Künstlern und Wissenschaftlern einen Raum zum Experimentieren und zur Schaffung neuer Projekte bieten und einen lebendigen Austausch zwischen Kunstschaffenden, Experten und einem breiteren Publikum ermöglichen. Im Rahmen der Eröffnungsausstellung mit dem Titel “Notes from the Field: Commoning Practices in Art and Science”, präsentiert Arts Catalyst das von Tania Brugeras initiierte Archiv „Arte Útil“ sowie „Wrecked! On the Intertidal Zone“, ein von Künstlern und Bürgerwissenschaftlern gemeinsam durchgeführtes Projekt unter der Leitung des Künstlerduos YoHa.

Graveyard of Lost Species, Yoha, 2015

Arts Catalyst ist eine der profiliertesten Kunsteinrichtungen Großbritanniens und Kooperationspartner der Schering Stiftung. Auch der Aufbau des Centre for Art, Science and Technology wird von der Schering Stiftung unterstützt. Ziel des Zentrums ist es, das Publikum zum Nachdenken anzuregen und eine führende Rolle in der Debatte über interdisziplinäre künstlerische Praktiken zu spielen. In den vergangenen 21 Jahren hat Arts Catalyst mehr als 125 nationale und internationale Kunstprojekte in Auftrag gegeben, oft in entscheidenden Phasen in der Laufbahn des jeweiligen Künstlers, darunter Tomas Saraceno, Aleksandra Mir, Agnes Meyer-Brandis, Carey Young, Jan Fabre und die Otolith Group. In Zusammenarbeit mit Künstlern und Wissenschaftlern bringt Arts Catalyst Kunstwerke und neue Ideen hervor, die sich mit den Naturwissenschaften und ihrer Rolle in Gesellschaft und Kultur auseinandersetzen, wie z. B. die Ausstellung “assemble | standard | minimal” von Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen im Projektraum der Schering Stiftung in Berlin.

Arts Catalyst arbeitet mit international renommierten Galerien, Museen, Universitäten, Kunst- und Wissenschaftseinrichtungen und Forschungszentren zusammen. Die Organisation wird vom Arts Council England im Rahmen seines National Portfolio gefördert. Für 2016 sieht das Programm von Arts Catalyst vor, künstlerische Praktiken zu fördern, welche die Wechselbeziehungen von Kunst und Wissenschaft, Politik und Technik, Mensch und Umwelt auslotet.

Arts Catalyst – New Centre for Art, Science and Technology

Eröffnung: 28. Januar 2016
“Notes from the Field: Commoning Practices in Art and Science”

Laufzeit: 28.01. – 19.03.2016, jeweils Do–Sa, 12–18 Uhr

Arts Catalyst
74-76 Cromer Street
London WC1H 8DR

Weitere Informationen:
http://www.artscatalyst.org/
Phone: +44 (0)20 7278 8373

Photo: Graveyard of Lost Species, Yoha, 2015


Aktuelles

Die Debatte – Die Macht der Meinungsforschung

01.08.2017, Berlin | Das politische Jahr 2017 bewegt sich auf den Höhepunkt zu: Die Bundestagswahlen am...
mehr

Digitaler Salon: Bei Nebenwirkungen fragen Sie Ihren Algorithmus

01.08.2017, Berlin | Werden wir durch personalisierte Tabletten und Nano-Roboter künftig länger und besser leben? Welchen...
mehr

"Women" von Sasha Waltz

19.07.2017, Berlin | Sasha Waltz & Guests werden im Rahmen von „Tanz im August“ am 30....
mehr