Philipp Lachenmann: DELPHI Rationale


Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German science awards. Given annually by the Ernst Schering Foundation, Berlin, it honors scientists worldwide whose pioneering basic research has yielded new, inspiring models or led to fundamental shifts in biomedical knowledge. Nominations for the award 2018 may be submitted to the Ernst Schering Foundation until December 15, 2017.

Ernst Schering           

The prize is named for the German apothecary Ernst Christian Friedrich Schering (1824-1889), whose establishment of the chemical factory “Chemische Fabrik Ernst Schering” laid the foundations for Schering AG, Berlin.

For information on the application procedure and the application form (as cover sheet for all required documents) as well as for information on previous prize winners please click here.

The prize winner will be selected by a high-ranking, international selection committee by mid-April 2018:

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Stefan H.E. Kaufmann, Managing Director of the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology (Chairman)
Prof. Dr. Fiona Doetsch, Professor at the Biocenter of the Basel University
Prof. Dr. Carl-Henrik Heldin, Director of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, Uppsala University
Prof. Dr. Bernard Meunier, President of the French Academy of Sciences, Paris
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hartmut Michel, Director at the Max Planck Institute of Biophysics, Frankfurt/Main, Nobel Laureate in Chemistry 1988
Prof. Constance Scharff, PhD, Professor at the Institute of Biology at Freie Universität Berlin
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Günter Stock, Chairman of the Executive Board of the Einstein Foundation, Berlin, Former President of the BBAW


Founded in 2002 by Schering AG, Berlin, the independent and non-profit Ernst Schering Foundation aims to promote science and art ...