Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

DE/SYNCHRONIZE? Living in Plural

26.01.2016, Berlin | Synchronization and desynchronization bridge the difference between nature and culture; they concern fundamental processes of life as well as complex political or aesthetic dynamics. Organized by the Freie Universität Berlin under the direction of Gabriele Brandstetter, the 2016 Annual Conference of the DFG Priority Program “Ästhetische Eigenzeiten” (Proper Times of the Aesthetic), to be held at the ICI Berlin and DOCK 11 on February 4–6, 2016, will deal with different politics and aesthetics of time through presentations, discussions, working groups, and performances. The Ernst Schering Foundation supports the lecture performances by Sebastian Matthias and Litó Walkey, which allow the participating researchers from the humanities, the social sciences, and the natural sciences to engage directly with the dancers and choreographers and to evaluate their research findings and results.

aswebegin, Performance: Litó Walkey

“We are strangers in the now” – this how the performer Kajsa Sandström comments on “aswebegin,” a choreography developed by Litó Walkey in cooperation with the Weld Company in 2013. Based on performative instructions, the performance presents overlaps of memorized movements and tries out de-/synchronization processes between and among the dancers and in relation to the audience – a continual balancing of different temporalities. Together with Gabriele Brandstetter and Anne Schuh, Walkey, a Canadian choreographer who is currently based in Berlin, and her performers will explore how the agreed-on temporal sequences and unpredictable rhythmic events allow specific qualities of movement to emerge. Sebastian Matthias (Berlin/Hamburg) studied dance at the Juilliard School in New York, earned an MA in Dance Studies from the Freie Universität Berlin, and is currently working towards his PhD in the academic-artistic postgraduate program “Assemblies and Participation: Urban Publics and Performance” at HafenCity University in Hamburg. In both theory and practice, Matthias explores the physical, social, and political forms of communication of club dance and the shifts and displacements that result from translating club dance into an artistic performance situation. The groove as a form of communication is driven not by homogeneity and temporal harmony, but by drifting apart and differentiating.

Through the choreographies by Sebastian Matthias and Litó Walkey, synchronization is investigated as an event where physicality, spatial-technical parameters, and notation systems interfere and overlap and is generated as a kinesthetic feedback process in cooperation with the observer. The conference for the first time takes an interdisciplinary look at the “synchronization of movements,” its immanent temporal dynamics and collective physical practices – topics that so far have been mostly investigated within individual disciplines (physics, medicine, media studies, and sociology).

DE/SYNCHRONIZE? Living in Plural
2nd Annual Conference of the DFG Priority Program 1688 “Proper Times of the Aesthetic: Time and Representation in Polychronic Modernity”

February 4–6, 2016
ICI Berlin Institute for Cultural Inquiry
Christinenstrasse 18–19, Bldg. 8 | 10119 Berlin
Lectures and discussions will be in German and English. Admission to the conference and the performance is free.

aswebegin, Performance / Lecture:  Litó Walkey and Weld Company 2013, Gabriele Brandstetter, and Anne Schuh (in English)
February 5, 2016, 7 p.m.
DOCK 11
Kastanienallee 79 | 10435 Berlin
Due to limited seating, it is necessary to reserve tickets for the performance at DOCK 11 by e-mail or by phone: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ; ++49 (0)30-35120312.

Contact: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

pdf Program

Further information:
www.ici-berlin.org
www.aesthetische-eigenzeiten.de/

Concept and organization of the conference: Gabriele Brandstetter, Kai van Eikels, Anne Schuh, Institute of Theater Studies, Freie Universität Berlin
Coordination of the Priority Program “Proper Times of the Aesthetic”: Michael Gamper and Michael Bies, German Department, Leibniz University Hanover

In cooperation with the ICI Berlin and DOCK 11 Berlin, with support from the German Research Foundation and the Ernst Schering Foundation.

Image: aswebegin – Performance / Lecture by Litó Walkey and Weld Company, Photo: Fredrik Wåhlstedt


News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

DE/SYNCHRONISIEREN? Leben im Plural

26.01.2016, Berlin | Synchronisierung und Desynchronisierung überbrücken die Differenz von Natur und Kultur, betreffen elementare Lebensprozesse ebenso wie komplexe politische oder ästhetische Dynamiken. Die von der Freien Universität Berlin unter Federführung von Gabriele Brandstetter organisierte Jahrestagung 2016 des DFG-Schwerpunktprogramms „Ästhetische Eigenzeiten“ vom 4. bis 6. Februar 2016 im ICI Berlin sowie DOCK 11 wird sich in Form von Präsentationen, Diskussionen, Arbeitsgruppen und Performances verschiedenen Zeitpolitiken und Zeitästhetiken widmen. Im Rahmen dieser Tagung unterstützt die Schering Stiftung die Präsentation der Lecture Performances von Sebastian Matthias und Litó Walkey. So können die beteiligten Kunst-, Sozial- und Naturwissenschaftler in den direkten Austausch mit den Tänzern und Choreografen treten und ihre Forschungsergebnisse auswerten.

aswebegin, Performance: Litó Walkey

„We are strangers in the now“. So kommentiert die Performerin Kajsa Sandström die Choreografie von ,aswebegin‘, die Litó Walkey zusammen mit der Weld Company 2013 entwickelt hat. Die Performance, die auf performativen Anweisungen basiert, zeigt Überlagerungen von Bewegungserinnerungen und erprobt De-/Synchronisierungsprozesse zwischen den Tänzern und in Bezug auf das Publikum – ein ständiges Austarieren zwischen verschiedenen Zeiten. Zusammen mit Gabriele Brandstetter und Anne Schuh werden die kanadische (in Berlin lebende) Choreografin und ihre Performer erforschen, wie die verabredeten zeitlichen Abläufe und das unvorhersehbare rhythmische Geschehen spezifische Qualitäten von Bewegung entstehen lassen. Sebastian Matthias (Berlin/Hamburg) studierte Tanz an der Juilliard School in New York, Tanzwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin (MA) und schließt derzeit seine Dissertation im Rahmen des akademisch-künstlerisch ausgerichteten Graduiertenkollegs Versammlung und Teilhabe: Urbane Öffentlichkeiten und performative Künste an der HafenCity Universität in Hamburg ab. Matthias untersucht theoretisch wie praktisch die körpertechnischen, sozialen und politischen Kommunikationsformen von Club-Tanz und die Verschiebungen, die sich ergeben, wenn man den Tanz in eine künstlerische Aufführungssituation überträgt. Der Groove als Kommunikationsform findet seinen Antrieb nicht in Homogenität und zeitlicher Übereinstimmung, sondern im Auseinanderdriften und Differenzieren.

In den Choreografien von Sebastian Matthias und Litó Walkey wird Synchronisierung als Interferenzgeschehen von Körperlichkeit, räumlich-technischen Parametern sowie Notationssystemen untersucht und als kinästhetischer Feedback-Prozess mit dem Betrachter generiert. Das Thema „Synchronisierung von Bewegungen“ sowie dessen immanente Zeitdynamiken und Körperpraktiken in Kollektiven wurden bislang vor allem in Einzeldisziplinen untersucht (Physik, Medizin, Medien und Soziologie) und werden nun in dieser Tagung erstmals Disziplinen-übergreifend behandelt.

DE/SYNCHRONISIEREN? Leben im Plural
2. Jahrestagung des DFG-Schwerpunktprogramms 1688 „Ästhetische Eigenzeiten. Zeit und Darstellung in der polychronen Moderne“

4. – 6. Februar 2016
ICI Berlin Institute for Cultural Inquiry
Christinenstraße 18 – 19, Haus 8 | 10119 Berlin
Vorträge und Diskussionen in deutscher und englischer Sprache. Der Eintritt zur Tagung und zur Performance ist frei.

aswebegin, Performance / Lecture: Litó Walkey und Weld Company 2013, Gabriele Brandstetter und Anne Schuh (in englischer Sprache)
5. Februar 2016, um 19 Uhr
DOCK 11
Kastanienallee 79 | 10435 Berlin
Platzreservierung für die Performance im DOCK 11 aus Platzgründen erforderlich unter: Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. , 030-35120312

Kontakt: Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.

pdf Programm

Weitere Informationen:
www.ici-berlin.org
www.aesthetische-eigenzeiten.de/

Konzept und Organisation der Tagung: Gabriele Brandstetter, Kai van Eikels, Anne Schuh, Institut für Theaterwissenschaft, Freie Universität Berlin
Koordination des SPP „Ästhetische Eigenzeiten“: Michael Gamper und Michael Bies, Leibniz Universität Hannover, Deutsches Seminar

In Kooperation mit dem ICI Berlin und dem DOCK 11 Berlin, gefördert von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft und der Schering Stiftung.

Abbildung: aswebegin – Performance / Lecture von Litó Walkey und Weld Company, Foto: Fredrik Wåhlstedt


Aktuelles

Die Debatte – Die Macht der Meinungsforschung

01.08.2017, Berlin | Das politische Jahr 2017 bewegt sich auf den Höhepunkt zu: Die Bundestagswahlen am...
mehr

Digitaler Salon: Bei Nebenwirkungen fragen Sie Ihren Algorithmus

01.08.2017, Berlin | Werden wir durch personalisierte Tabletten und Nano-Roboter künftig länger und besser leben? Welchen...
mehr

"Women" von Sasha Waltz

19.07.2017, Berlin | Sasha Waltz & Guests werden im Rahmen von „Tanz im August“ am 30....
mehr