Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Bodily Self-Consciousness: From Out-of-Body Experiences to Neuroprosthetics

05.02.2016, Berlin | On March 18, 2016, at 6:30 p.m., the Ernst Schering Foundation will host a lecture by the Swiss neuroscientist Prof. Dr. Olaf Blanke entitled “Bodily Self-Consciousness” at the Tieranatomische Theater of Humboldt University Berlin. With explicit reference to the artworks, scientific experiments, and curiosities shown as part of the exhibition MIRROR IMAGES (on view through April 3 at the Berlin Museum of Medical History at the Charité), Professor Blanke will talk about the scientific background and multi-sensor brain mechanisms of self-consciousness.

Olaf Blanke

Lecture “Bodily Self-Consciousness: From Out-of-Body Experiences to Neuroprosthetics”

Prof. Dr. Olaf Blanke

Director of the Center for Neuroprosthetics and of the Laboratory of Cognitive Neuroscience at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) and professor of neurology at the University Hospital of Geneva

Most people take it for granted that their body is a part of them and that they view the world from the perspective of their body. In the case of so-called out-of-body experiences, people believe themselves to have left their body and to observe themselves from an outside perspective. According to expert estimates, some five percent of the population have undergone such experiences. With the aid of experimental disruptions of bodily awareness (such as out-of-body experience), it is possible to explore the brain mechanisms of bodily self-consciousness. The findings could benefit wearers of prosthetics: the prosthetics would no longer be perceived as foreign to but part of one’s body.

 

Friday, March 18, 2016, 6:30 p.m.
Tieranatomisches Theater at the Humboldt University Berlin
Campus Nord, Philippstr. 12/13, Bldg. 3, 10115 Berlin

Directions

Lecture in German | Free admission | Registration required

Registration for lecture and guided tour

Please send an e-mail to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it by March 10, 2016, to register for the lecture and a special guided tour of the exhibition.

Due to limited seating in the Tieranatomische Theater, registration will be made on a first-come first-serve basis. We will send you e-mail confirmation by March 14.

Prior to the lecture, we offer an exclusive guided tour of the exhibition MIRROR IMAGES at the Berlin Museum of Medical History for lecture visitors on March 18, 2016, at 5 p.m. If you are interested to participate in the tour, please let us know when registering for the lecture. Unfortunately, the tour is limited to 35 people. If the number of applicants exceeds the number of available places, participants will be determined by drawing lots.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In cooperation with

Berliner Medizinhistorisches Museum

 

Tieranatomisches Theater an der HU Berlin

 

 

 

The event is part of  the Brain Awareness Week

Brain Awareness Week

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Körperliches Ich-Bewusstsein: Von außerkörperlichen Erfahrungen zu Neuroprothesen

05.02.2016, Berlin | Am 18. März 2016, um 18:30 Uhr, veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung im Tieranatomischen Theater der HU Berlin einen Vortragsabend mit dem Schweizer Neurowissenschaftler Prof. Dr. Olaf Blanke zum Thema „Körperliches Ich-Bewusstsein“. Bezugnehmend auf die in der Ausstellung MIRROR IMAGES (zu sehen bis zum 3. April im Berliner Medizinhistorischen Museum der Charité) gezeigten künstlerischen Arbeiten, wissenschaftlichen Experimente und kuriosen Objekte wird Professor Blanke die wissenschaftlichen Hintergründe und die multisensorischen Mechanismen im Gehirn zum Ich-Bewusstsein erklären.

Olaf Blanke

Öffentlicher Vortrag „Körperliches Ich-Bewusstsein: Von außerkörperlichen Erfahrungen zu Neuroprothesen“

Prof. Dr. Olaf Blanke
Direktor des Zentrums für Neuroprothetik und des Labors für kognitive Neurowissenschaften an der Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) sowie Professor im Fachbereich Neurologie der Universitätsklinik Genf

Für die meisten Menschen ist es selbstverständlich, dass ihr Körper zu ihnen gehört und dass sie die Welt aus der Perspektive ihres Körpers betrachten. Bei sogenannten außerkörperlichen Erfahrungen glauben Menschen, sich außerhalb des eigenen Körpers zu befinden und sich selbst zu betrachten. Experten schätzen, dass rund fünf Prozent der Bevölkerung schon einmal eine solche Erfahrung hatten. Mithilfe experimentell gestörter Eigenkörperwahrnehmung (wie der außerkörperlichen Erfahrung) können die Hirnmechanismen erforscht werden, die dem körperlichen Ich-Bewusstsein zugrunde liegen. Die gewonnenen Ergebnisse könnten Trägern von Prothesen zugutekommen: Die Prothese würde dann nicht mehr als Fremdkörper, sondern als Teil des eigenen Körpers wahrgenommen werden.

Freitag, 18. März 2016, 18:30 Uhr
Tieranatomisches Theater der HU Berlin
Campus Nord, Philippstr. 12/13, Haus 3, 10115 Berlin

Wegbeschreibung

Vortrag in deutscher Sprache | Eintritt frei | Anmeldung erforderlich

Anmeldung zu Vortrag und Führung

Bis zum 10.03.2016 können Sie sich unter Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. für den Vortrag und eine Sonderführung durch die Ausstellung anmelden.

Aufgrund der limitierten Anzahl an Plätzen im Tieranatomischen Theater können Anmeldungen nur in der Reihenfolge ihres Posteingangs berücksichtigt werden. Bis zum 14.03. erhalten Sie von uns eine Rückmeldung per E-Mail.

Exklusiv für die Gäste des Vortrags bieten wir vor dem Vortrag eine Führung durch die Ausstellung MIRROR IMAGES im Berliner Medizinhistorischen Museum (18.03.2016, 17 Uhr). Sollten Sie Interesse an dieser Führung haben, geben Sie dies bitte explizit bei Ihrer Anmeldung zum Vortrag an. Leider ist die Kapazität der Führung auf 35 Personen limitiert. Sollte die Anzahl der Interessenten größer sein als die Anzahl der verfügbaren Plätze, entscheiden wir im Losverfahren.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In Kooperation mit

 

Berliner Medizinhistorisches Museum

 

Tieranatomisches Theater an der HU Berlin

 

 

Im Rahmen der Brain Awareness Week

Brain Awareness Week


pdf Programmheft der BAW

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr

Bewerbungsstart: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017, Berlin | Im April 2018 startet erneut das etablierte Führungskräftetraining Young Leaders in Science, das...
mehr