Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Language and Knowledge

22.02.2016, Berlin | The writer Marcel Beyer is curating „Language and Knowledge,“ a festival initiated by the Ernst Schering Foundation and developed with the Haus der Kulturen der Welt that investigates the matrix of communication involving translators, writers, academics and artists such as Terézia Mora, Olaf Nicolai, Hans-Jörg Rheinberger, and Hanns Zischler. „Language and Knowledge“ will take place on April 8 and 9, 2016, at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt.

Collage, Dagmara Kraus

“Language brings order into the existing world and it allows us to enter non-existent worlds by firing our imaginations. In the sciences, it serves as proof of intellectual integrity and an instrument of authentication. In literature, it is the basis of inventiveness that can leave all the facts behind.” (Marcel Beyer)

How is language arranged and what does it shape as an expressive tool and instrument of knowledge? In what aesthetic, poetic, prosaic and narrative forms can our thoughts express themselves? With Language and Knowledge the curator and writer Marcel Beyer will provide a space for mediators from literature and science to meet in order to investigate these questions.

In the early 20th century, academics were inquiring about the nature of language. In his “Course in General Linguistics”, Ferdinand de Saussure opened our eyes to construction mechanisms of language, to its materiality. In ensuing decades, this had an enormous impact on both the humanities and literature. At the end of the 20th century, we were questioning the language of nature. When, in 2000, the final sequence of the human genome was deciphered with the letters ACGT and was first published as “continuous text,” it became clear that in its “script of life,” nature composed human existence out of only four letters of our alphabet.

But what would happen were we to give in to the aesthetic appeal of the factual and transform the letter sequence ACGT into a literary event? How do simultaneous interpreters experience the demanding switch from one language to another or between the spheres of science and literature? Do the base pairs of our genome speak with one another? How does the classification of approximately 6,500 existing natural languages in the world handle contemporary poetry in artificial languages like Esperanto or Volapük?

Translators and interpreters of languages will join writers, academics and artists in workshop reports, sound performances, dialogues, readings, conversations and discussions to give insight into what Heinrich von Kleist called the “gradual formulation of thoughts while speaking” and writing.

Language and Knowledge
work reports, sound performances, dialogues, readings, conversations and discussions

With Nora Gomringer, Ernst Kausen, Wolfgang Heiniger, Dagmara Kraus,Terézia Mora, Olaf Nicolai, Hans-Jörg Rheinberger, Klaus Sander, Anke te Heesen, Graham F. Valentine, Hanns Zischler u.a.

April 8, 2016, 7–10:30 pm
April 9, 2016, 2–9:30 pm

Haus der Kulturen der Welt
John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10 | 10557 Berlin

pdf Program flyer

Tickets online via HKW

Press contact:
Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Anne Maier
phone +49 30 397 87-153, fax +49 30 3948679, This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it , www.hkw.de

An initiative by the Schering Stiftung, developed in cooperation with Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin

Photo: Collage: Dagmara Kraus | © Berlin kookbooks 2016 | from: das vogelmot schlich mit geknickterschnute


News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Sprache und Wissen

22.02.2016, Berlin | Der Schriftsteller Marcel Beyer kuratiert das von der Schering Stiftung initiierte und mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt entwickelte Festival „Sprache und Wissen“, zu dem Übersetzer, Schriftsteller, Wissenschaftler und Künstler – darunter Terézia Mora, Olaf Nicolai, Hans-Jörg Rheinberger und Hanns Zischler – eingeladen sind, die „Mutter der Kommunikation“ zu erforschen. „Sprache und Wissen“ findet am 8. und 9. April 2016 im Haus der Kulturen der Welt statt.

Collage, Dagmara Kraus

„Sprache bringt Ordnung in die bestehende Welt, sie erlaubt uns in nicht-existierende Welten vorzudringen, indem sie unsere Vorstellungskraft befeuert. In den Wissenschaften dient sie als Ausweis intellektueller Lauterkeit und als Beglaubigungsinstrument. In der Literatur bildet sie die Grundlage eines Erfindungsreichtums, der alle Tatsachen hinter sich lassen kann.“ (Marcel Beyer)

Wie formiert und was formt Sprache als Ausdruckswerkzeug und Wissensinstrument? In welchen ästhetischen und poetischen, prosaischen und narrativen Formen vermag sich unser Denken auszudrücken? Der Kurator und Schriftsteller Marcel Beyer entfaltet mit Sprache und Wissen einen Begegnungsraum zwischen Mittlern aus Literatur und Wissenschaft, um diesen Fragen nachzugehen.

Am Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts steht die Frage nach der Natur der Sprache. In den „Grundfragen der allgemeinen Sprachwissenschaft“ öffnet Ferdinand de Saussure den Blick auf die Konstruktionsmechanismen der Sprache, auf ihre Materialität. In den Folgejahrzehnten entwickelt sie eine ungeheure Wirkung auf die Geisteswissenschaften und die Literatur gleichermaßen. Am Ende des 20. Jahrhunderts steht die Frage nach der Sprache der Natur: Als im Jahr 2000 die Schlusssequenz des Humangenoms entziffert, mit der Buchstabenfolge A-C-G-T versehen und als „fortlaufender Text“ erstmals veröffentlicht wird, wird klar, dass die Natur in ihrem „Text des Lebens“ die menschliche Existenz lediglich aus vier Buchstaben unseres Alphabets zusammensetzt.

Was aber geschieht, wenn man dem ästhetischen Reiz des Faktischen nachgibt und die Buchstabenkette A-C-G-T in ein literarisches Ereignis verwandelt? Wie erleben Simultandolmetscher_innen das hochkonzentrierte Wechseln von Sprache zu Sprache oder auch zwischen den Sphären von Wissenschaft und Literatur? Sprechen die Basenpaare unseres Genoms miteinander? Wie verhält sich die Systematik der annähernd 6500 auf der Welt existierenden natürlichen Sprachen zu Gegenwartsgedichten in Kunstsprachen wie Esperanto oder Volapük?

Gemeinsam mit übersetzenden und dolmetschenden Sprachverwandlern geben Schriftsteller, Wissenschaftler und Künstler in Werkstattberichten, Lautperformances, Dialogen, Lesungen, Gesprächen und Diskussionen, im Sinne Heinrich von Kleists, Auskunft über das „Verfertigen der Gedanken beim Reden“ und Schreiben.

Sprache und Wissen
Werkstattgespräche, Dialoge, Befragungen, Lesungen, Lautperformances, Diskussionen


Mit Nora Gomringer, Ernst Kausen, Wolfgang Heiniger, Dagmara Kraus,Terézia Mora, Olaf Nicolai, Hans-Jörg Rheinberger, Klaus Sander, Anke te Heesen, Graham F. Valentine, Hanns Zischler u.a.

8. April 2016, 19–22:30 Uhr
9. April 2016, 14–21:30 Uhr

Haus der Kulturen der Welt
John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10 | 10557 Berlin

pdf Programmflyer

Tickets online über das HKW

Pressekontakt:
Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Anne Maier
Fon +49 30 397 87-153, Fax +49 30 3948679, Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. , www.hkw.de

Eine Initiative der Schering Stiftung, entwickelt in Kooperation mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin

Photo: Collage: Dagmara Kraus | © Berlin kookbooks 2016 | aus: das vogelmot schlich mit geknickterschnute


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Am 1. Juni, um 19 Uhr, eröffnet in den KW Institute for Contemporary...
mehr