Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

alif::split in the wall

24.02.2016, Berlin | What alters our perception? “alif::split in the wall” is an experimental concert by the Zafraan Ensemble featuring Jeremias Schwarzer, which transposes the principles of visual arts exhibitions and performance art onto the musical form of the concert, thus appealing to multiple levels of perception on the part of the audience. The central piece is a spatial installation by the Japanese artist Chiharu Shiota. In cooperation with composers Stefan Goldmann and Samir Odeh-Tamimi, the Berlin-based artist generates a pulsating organism within which both musicians and the audience can move freely. The project will premiere at Radialsystem V on Friday, March 18, 2016, 7 p.m. to midnight, as part of MaerzMusik – Festival für Zeitfragen.

Chiharu Shiota, Wall, 2010

Based on an idea by artistic director Jeremias Schwarzer, the composers Stefan Goldmann and Samir Odeh-Tamimi create a five-hour space for acoustic experiences defined by the tension between different states of perception, between continuum and éclat, between techno, Arab musical practice and Western avantgarde, between inward- and outward-directed attention. The Zafraan Ensemble and the singer-performer Salome Kammer stage the multi-hour performance between these poles of perception. Stefan Goldmann controls the electronics, while concert designer Folkert Uhde is directing the visuals and the live camera.

The starting point for the project is a Sufi teaching story about a student who, year after year, repeats writing the alif, the first letter of the alphabet. One day, he returns to school and draws the letter with a single stroke, whereupon the blackboard and the wall behind it split into two. This story describes the  dramatic intrusion of an entirely new reality into familiar processes and repetitions.

By combining music, space, and installation, the project “alif::split in the wall” speaks to different levels of perception on the part of the audience. The familiar concert situation is dissolved and the length of the concert and the unusual spatial situation facilitate entirely new experiences, which is why the Ernst Schering Foundation supports the project. Following the premiere and an additional performance in Berlin, the experimental concert will be performed at ION – Musica Sacra in Nuremberg on June 10, 2016, and elsewhere.

alif::split in the wall
a musical exhibition space

Concert performances:
Friday, March 18, 7 p.m. – midnight
Saturday, March 19, 7 p.m. – midnight
Radialsystem V
Holzmarktstr. 33 | 10243 Berlin

Tickets: 25 € | reduced admission: 20 €
Advance tickets and further information on the project:
http://alif.zafraanensemble.com/

alif::split in the wall – Exhibition at Radialsystem V
Saturday, March 19, noon – 6 p.m.
Sunday, March 20, noon – 6 p.m.
Tickets (for exhibition only): 5 €

Performance during ion Nürnberg:
June 10, 2016, 7-12 p.m.
St. Lorenz, Nürnberg

Installation: Chiharu Shiota
Composition: Stefan Goldmann, Samir Odeh-Tamimi (premieres)
Voice: Salome Kammer
Zafraan Ensemble: Liam Mallett, Miguel Pérez Iñesta, Martin Posegga, Florian Juncker, Anna Viechtl, Daniel Eichholz, Clemens Hund-Göschel, Emmanuelle Bernard, Josa Gerhard, Martin Smith, Beltane Ruiz Molina
Idea, Artistic Director: Jeremias Schwarzer
Concert Design: Folkert Uhde, Ilka Seifert
Production: Zafraan Ensemble, bastille musique / Sebastian Solte

A production of Zafraan Ensemble in co-production with Radialsystem V, Berliner Festspiele / MaerzMusik – Festival für Zeitfragen, and ION – Musica Sacra. With support from the German Federal Cultural Foundation, the Ernst Schering Foundation, and the Kofinanzierungsfonds Berlin. Commission funded by the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung.

Photo: Chiharu Shiota – Wall (2010), Performance Still © Sunhi Mang


News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Ivana Franke

 

alif::split in the wall

24.02.2016, Berlin | Was verändert unsere Wahrnehmung? „alif::split in the wall“ ist ein Konzertexperiment des Zafraan Ensemble mit Jeremias Schwarzer, das die Prinzipien der Ausstellungspraxis Bildender Kunst und der Performance auf die musikalische Form des Konzerts überträgt und dadurch mehrere Wahrnehmungsebenen der Besucher anspricht. Im Zentrum steht eine Rauminstallation der japanischen Künstlerin Chiharu Shiota. Die in Berlin lebende Künstlerin lässt – in Zusammenarbeit mit den Komponisten Stefan Goldmann und Samir Odeh-Tamimi – einen pulsierenden Organismus entstehen, in dem sich MusikerInnen wie Publikum frei bewegen können. Im Rahmen von MaerzMusik – Festival für Zeitfragen wird das Projekt erstmals am Freitag, 18. März 2016, 19–24 Uhr, im Radialsystem V präsentiert.

Chiharu Shiota, Wall, 2010

Ausgehend von einer Idee des künstlerischen Leiters Jeremias Schwarzer entfalten die Komponisten Stefan Goldmann und Samir Odeh-Tamimi einen fünfstündigen akustischen Erlebnisraum, der geprägt ist vom Spannungsfeld zwischen verschiedenen Aggregatzuständen der Wahrnehmung, zwischen Kontinuum und Eklat, zwischen Techno, arabischer Musikpraxis und westlicher Avantgarde, zwischen nach innen und nach außen gerichteter Aufmerksamkeit. Das Zafraan Ensemble und die Sänger-Performerin Salome Kammer gestalten die mehrstündige Aufführung zwischen diesen Wahrnehmungspolen. Stefan Goldmann steuert die Elektronik, während Konzertdesigner Folkert Uhde die Bildregie von Visuals und Live-Kamera führt.

Ausgangspunkt des Projekts ist eine Sufi-Lehrgeschichte über einen Schüler, der das Schreiben des Alif, des ersten Buchstabens des Alphabets, jahrelang wiederholt. Eines Tages kehrt er zurück an die Schule und zeichnet den Buchstaben mit einem einzigen Strich, woraufhin die Tafel und die Wand dahinter in zwei Teile zerbrechen. Diese Geschichte beschreibt den drastischen Einbruch einer vollkommen anderen Realität in die Abläufe und Wiederholungen des Vertrauten.

Durch die Verknüpfung von Musik, Raum und Installation regt das Projekt „alif::split in the wall“ unterschiedliche Rezeptionsebenen der Besucher an. Die gewohnte Konzertsituation wird aufgelöst, die mehrstündige Dauer und ungewöhnliche Raumsituation machen völlig neue Erfahrungen möglich, weshalb die Schering Stiftung das Projekt unterstützt. Nach der Uraufführung und einer weiteren Aufführung in Berlin wird das Konzertexperiment u. a. bei der ION – Musica Sacra in Nürnberg (10. Juni 2016) und an weiteren Orten zu erleben sein.

alif::split in the wall
a musical exhibition space

Konzert-Performances:
Freitag, 18. März, 19–24 Uhr
Samstag, 19. März, 19–24 Uhr
Radialsystem V
Holzmarktstr. 33 | 10243 Berlin

Karten Aufführung: 25 € | ermäßigt 20 €
Vorverkauf und weitere Informationen zum Projekt:
http://alif.zafraanensemble.com/

alif::split in the wall – Ausstellung im Radialsystem V
Samstag, 19. März, 12–18 Uhr
Sonntag, 20. März, 12–18 Uhr
Karten (nur Ausstellungsbesuch): 5 €

Aufführung bei der ion Nürnberg:
10. Juni 2016, 19 - 24 Uhr
St. Lorenz, Nürnberg

Installation: Chiharu Shiota
Komposition: Stefan Goldmann, Samir Odeh-Tamimi (Uraufführungen)
Stimme: Salome Kammer
Zafraan Ensemble: Liam Mallett, Miguel Pérez Iñesta, Martin Posegga, Florian Juncker, Anna Viechtl, Daniel Eichholz, Clemens Hund-Göschel, Emmanuelle Bernard, Josa Gerhard, Martin Smith, Beltane Ruiz Molina
Idee, Künstlerische Leitung: Jeremias Schwarzer
Konzertdesign: Folkert Uhde, Ilka Seifert
Produktion: Zafraan Ensemble, bastille musique / Sebastian Solte

Eine Produktion des Zafraan Ensemble in Koproduktion mit Radialsystem V, Berliner Festspiele / MaerzMusik – Festival für Zeitfragen und ION – Musica Sacra. Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes, die Schering Stiftung und den Kofinanzierungsfonds Berlin. Kompositionsauftrag finanziert durch die Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung.

Foto: Chiharu Shiota - Wall (2010), Performance Still © Sunhi Mang


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Acousmatic Lectures Series

26.06.2017, Berlin | Im Rahmen der Acousmatic Lectures Series wird in Berlin eine Reihe von interdisziplinären...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr