Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Open Lab 'Irreversible Moment'

Exhibition Opening: June 23, 2016, 7–9 p.m.

Exhibition Dates: June 24 - July 24, 2016
Hours: Thursday through Monday, 1–7 p.m.

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34 | 10117 Berlin

“The ‘Irreversible Moment’ is the point in a process after which nothing stays as it was before.” Berlin artist Jenny Brockmann uses these words to describe an instant, that is not easy to grasp, to which the exhibition Open Lab ‘Irreversible Moment’ at the Schering Foundation's project space is devoted. The exhibition, curated by Nora Mayr, presents Jenny Brockmann's artistic research of several years for the first time, a work emerging from cooperation between interdisciplinary experts from the fields of chemistry, physics, dance, and music. The starting point of her research is the causation behind fundamental changes in structures, spaces, political and personal situations, and for the sociopolitical significance of the ‘Irreversible Moment’.

Jenny Brockmann

Jenny Brockmann

Jenny Brockmann

In this context the Open Lab ‘Irreversible Moment’ not only becomes a place to document the findings of previous investigations but also serves for the duration of the exhibition as an open laboratory, where visitors can participate in the research process at public lectures or in interdisciplinary workshops. For this Jenny Brockmann designs objects, architectural elements and information carriers, which carry out laboratory functions as well as opening a context for public discussion.

Jenny Brockmann creates works characterized by discursive aesthetics. Besides autonomous objects, Brockmann's works are always instructive examples and illustrative models of her artistic research as well. In the form of sculptures, interactive spatial arrangements or outlines of thought, for years now the artist has been researching into dynamic, spatial and social processes as well as natural cycles. Brockmann's works are the starting point for philosophical discourse and questions about patterns of human behaviour and social structures.

 

Additional Events at Schering Stiftung

For the opening, no registration is necessary. For all other events, please register at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

July 2, 2016, 4–7 p.m.: “Chance and the ‘Irreversible Moment’”

Lecture by Horst Bredekamp / Working meeting of the WILLMS NEUHAUS FOUNDATION – Chance and Creation

(in German)

Prof. Dr. Horst Bredekamp, art historian and representative of the Cluster of Excellence Image Knowledge Gestaltung at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, will examine the interfaces and meanings of chance and the ‘Irreversible Moment’. The event takes place at the invitation of the WILLMS NEUHAUS FOUNDATION – Chance and Creation, which has devoted its work to the interdisciplinary study of chance since 2013.
This event is fully booked.

 

July 5, 2016, 7–9 p.m.: “Interpretations of the ‘Irreversible Moment’”

Public lecture evening

Moderator: Christina Landbrecht, Cluster of Excellence Image Knowledge Gestaltung, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Contributors: Kevin Bethke (Department of Chemistry, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), Franka Herwig (accordionist), Andreas Menzel (Department of Physics, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), and Jeremy Wade (dancer, choreographer)

In the form of lectures, music performances and lecture performances the four participating research partners will provide insights into their individual approaches, and research findings about the ‘Irreversible Moment’.

Please register (by June 30, 2016) at: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .



July 9, 2016, 2–5 p.m.
July 15, 2016, 4–7 p.m.

“Field Research ‘Irreversible Moment’”

Interdisciplinary workshop, workshop leader: Viktor Bedö (in German)
The workshop is investigating the everyday manifestations of ‘Irreversible Moments’. Based on the theme of the exhibition, workshop participants will develop a working definition of the ‘Irreversible Moment’ and become field researchers, capturing such moments as they experience them in their everyday lives. The workshop will consist of two sessions in the exhibition space and the individual collecting work as field researchers in the interim period. The results of this workshop will flow into the artist's future research and will thus become part of the body of research on the ʿIrreversible Moment’.

Exhibition visitors can participate in the research process as silent observers.

5 people can actively participate in the workshop (both dates required), please register (by June 27, 2016) at: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

 

A project by Jenny Brockmann, curated by Nora Mayr, supported by Ernst Schering Foundation.
In cooperation with the WILLMS NEUHAUS FOUNDATION, Chance and Creation, Humboldt-Gymnasium Berlin-Tegel, Dr. Viktor Bedö (Tacit Dimension), Kevin Bethke (Institute of Chemistry, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), Prof. Dr. Horst Bredekamp/Christina Landbrecht (Image Knowledge Gestaltung, Cluster of Excellence at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), Markus Georg (art educator) Franka Herwig (accordionist), Andreas Menzel (Institute of Physics, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), and Jeremy Wade (dancer, choreographer).

Images:

Jenny Brockmann: Seat #12 with the research group ‘Irreversible Moment,‘ Schering Foundation, 2016, photo: Sebastian Mayer

Jenny Brockmann: ‘Irreversible Moment,‘ drawing, 2016, photo: Sebastian Mayer

Jenny Brockmann: ‘Irreversible Moment,‘ Foto: Bernd Hiepe

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Wissensraum 'Irreversibler Moment'

Ausstellungseröffnung:
Donnerstag, 23. Juni 2016, 19–21 Uhr

Laufzeit: 24.6. – 24.7.2016
Öffnungszeiten: Donnerstag bis Montag, 13–19 Uhr

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34 | 10117 Berlin

„Der 'Irreversible Moment' ist der Zeitpunkt in einem Prozess, nach dem nichts mehr so ist wie zuvor.“ Mit diesen Worten beschreibt die Berliner Künstlerin Jenny Brockmann einen schwer fassbaren Augenblick, dem ihre Ausstellung Wissensraum ‚Irreversibler Moment‘ im Projektraum der Schering Stiftung gewidmet ist. Die von Nora Mayr kuratierte Ausstellung prä­sentiert erstmals Jenny Brockmanns mehrjährige künstlerische Forschungsarbeit, die aus der Zusammenarbeit mit interdisziplinären Experten aus den Bereichen Chemie, Physik, Tanz und Musik hervorgegangen ist. Ausgangspunkt ihrer Forschung ist die Suche nach der Ursache für grundlegende Veränderungen von Strukturen, Räumen, politischen und persönlichen Situationen sowie der gesellschaftspolitischen Bedeutung des „Irreversiblen Moments“.

Jenny Brockmann

Jenny Brockmann

Jenny Brockmann

Der Wissensraum ‚Irreversibler Moment‘ wird dabei nicht nur Ort der Dokumentation bisheriger Unter­suchungsergebnisse sein, sondern dient während der Laufzeit auch als offenes Labor, in dem Besucher am Forschungsprozess bei öffentlichen Vorträgen oder in interdisziplinären Workshops partizipieren können. Jenny Brockmann gestaltet hierfür Objekte, Architekturelemente und Informationsträger, die Funktionen für das Labor ausüben sowie Diskussionsräume für das Publikum öffnen.

Jenny Brockmann schafft Werke, die von einer diskursiven Ästhetik geprägt sind. Neben autonomen Objekten sind Brockmanns Arbeiten immer auch Lehrbeispiele und Anschauungsmodelle ihrer künst­lerischen Forschung. In Form von Skulpturen, interaktiven Raumanordnungen oder Gedankenskizzen forscht die Künstlerin seit Jahren zu dynamischen, räumlichen und sozialen Prozessen sowie zu Abläufen in der Natur. Brockmanns Arbeiten sind Ausgangspunkt für philosophische Diskurse und Fragestellungen zu menschlichen Verhaltensmustern sowie Gesellschaftsstrukturen.

 

Weitere Veranstaltungen in der Schering Stiftung

Für die Eröffnung ist keine Anmeldung erforderlich. Für alle weiteren Veranstaltungen bitten wir um Anmeldung unter Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. .

02.07.2016, 16–19 Uhr: „Der Zufall und der ‚Irreversible Moment‘“

Vortrag von Horst Bredekamp / Arbeitstreffen der WILLMS NEUHAUS STIFTUNG – Zufall und Gestaltung
Prof. Dr. Horst Bredekamp, Kunsthistoriker und Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters Bild Wissen Gestaltung der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, widmet sich der Frage nach Schnittstellen und Bedeutungen des Zufalls und des ‚Irreversiblen Moments‘. Die Veranstaltung findet auf Einladung der WILLMS NEUHAUS STIFTUNG – Zufall und Gestaltung statt, die sich seit 2013 der interdisziplinären Betrachtung des Zufalls widmet.
Diese Veranstaltung ist bereits ausgebucht.

05.07.2016, 19–21 Uhr: „Interpretationen des ‚Irreversiblen Moments‘“

Moderation: Christina Landbrecht, Exzellenzcluster Bild Wissen Gestaltung der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Vortragende: Kevin Bethke (Institut für Chemie der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), Franka Herwig (Akkordeonistin), Andreas Menzel (Institut für Physik der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin) und Jeremy Wade (Tänzer, Choreograph)
In Form von Vorträgen, Musikaufführungen und Lecture Performances bieten die am Projekt von Jenny Brockmann beteiligten Forschungspartner Einsichten in ihre individuellen Herangehensweisen und Forschungsergebnisse zum ‚Irreversiblen Moment‘.

Anmeldung bis 30.06.2016 unter: Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. .


09.07.2016, 14–17 Uhr
15.07.2016, 16–19 Uhr
Workshop: „Feldforschung ‚Irreversibler Moment‘“
Leitung: Dr. Viktor Bedö

Der Workshop erforscht die alltäglichen Manifestationen von unumkehrbaren Momenten. In Anlehnung an die Ausstellung erarbeiten die Teilnehmer eine Arbeitsdefinition des ‚Irreversiblen Moments‘ und werden zu Feldforschern, indem sie solche Momente, wenn sie ihnen in ihrem Alltag widerfahren, festhalten. Der Workshop besteht aus zwei Sessions im Ausstellungsraum und der dazwischenliegenden, individuellen Sammelarbeit als Feldforscher. Die Resultate des Workshops fließen in kommende Recherchearbeiten der Künstlerin ein und werden so Teil der Forschung zum ‚Irreversiblen Moment‘.

Der Ausstellungsbesuch während der Zeit des Workshops ist möglich; die Besucher können so als stille Beobachter am Forschungsprozess teilhaben.

5 Personen können am Workshop (beide Termine obligatorisch) teilnehmen, Anmeldung (bis 27.06.2016) unter: Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. .

 

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32 - 34 | 10117 Berlin

 

Ein Projekt von Jenny Brockmann, kuratiert von Nora Mayr, ermöglicht durch die Schering Stiftung.
In Zusammenarbeit mit der WILLMS NEUHAUS STIFTUNG, Zufall und Gestaltung, Kevin Bethke (Institut für Chemie der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), Franka Herwig (Akkordeonistin), Christina Landbrecht (Exzellenzcluster
Bild Wissen Gestaltung der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), Andreas Menzel (Institut für Physik der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin) und Jeremy Wade (Tänzer, Choreograph).

Bildcredits

Bild 1: Jenny Brockmann, „Sitz #12“ mit der Forschungsgruppe "Irreversibler Moment", Schering Stiftung, 2016. Foto: Sebastian Mayer

Bild 2: Jenny Brockmann, Zeichnung "Irreversibler Moment", Detail, Schering Stiftung, 2016. Foto: Sebastian Mayer

Bild 3: Jenny Brockmann, „Irreversibler Moment 20-14-220-9“, Detail, 2014. Foto: Bernd Hiepe

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr

Bewerbungsstart: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017, Berlin | Im April 2018 startet erneut das etablierte Führungskräftetraining Young Leaders in Science, das...
mehr