Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

The Future of Life Is Synthetic: The Promises of Xenobiology

26.04.2016, Berlin | Synthetic biology has been heralded as an exciting new field which will allow a deeper knowledge on how living systems “work.” Synthetic biologists extensively manipulate organisms at the DNA level. It even seems possible nowadays to bring lost-lost species such as the woolly mammoth back to life from recovered DNA samples. The xenobiologists go even further, aiming to create artificial life from synthetic chemicals instead of natural DNA. Such new biologies promise groundbreaking solutions to pressing global problems. However, these possibilities have raised concern about their future environmental and societal impact and how they might change the way we think about life, biodiversity, and evolution. On May 25, 2016, an interdisciplinary Science & Society Session at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) will bring together renowned experts from xenobiology and the philosophy of the life sciences to explore these and other matters of humanly-created life.

Mammut_Flyer

The event is open to the public and part of XB2 – 2nd Conference on Xenobiology (May 24–26, 2016, BBAW). The Ernst Schering Foundation supports the conference through its Science & Society Sessions program, since it promotes the dialogue between science and society on possible applications of xenobiology.

On the occasion of the Science & Society Session, the Ernst Schering Foundation will present its (German-language) publication “Evolution in Menschenhand. Synthetische Biologie aus Labor und Atelier" (Evolution Made by Man: Synthetic Biology in the Lab and the Studio).

Science & Society Session
The Future of Life Is Synthetic: The Promises of Xenobiology

May 25, 2016, 6:00–7:30pm

Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities
Leibniz Hall
Markgrafenstrasse 38 | 10117 Berlin

pdf Invitation Card for Download

In English | Admission free | Registration required at https://www2.bbaw.de/xb2/anmeldung-xb2

Organized by the projects “Gene Technology Report” and “Leibniz: The Task of Visions” of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) and XB2.

If you have any further questions, please contact IAG Gene Technology Report.

Photo: fotolia.com / auntspray

SS_PP_190x190px2

 

Gehört die Zukunft dem künstlichen Leben? – Die Versprechen der Xenobiologie

26.04.2016, Berlin | Die synthetische Biologie wird als ein aufregendes neues Fachgebiet gefeiert, das uns tiefere Einblicke in das „Funktionieren“ lebender Systeme ermöglicht. Dazu nehmen Forscher weitreichende Manipulationen an der DNA von Organismen vor. Heutzutage erscheint es sogar möglich, längst ausgestorbene Arten wie das Wollhaarmammut mithilfe von rekonstruierten DNA-Proben wieder zum Leben zu erwecken. Die Xenobiologen gehen sogar noch weiter: Ihr Ziel ist es, künstliches Leben nicht aus natürlicher DNA, sondern aus synthetischen Chemikalien zu erschaffen. Derartige neue Möglichkeiten der Biologie versprechen bahnbrechende Lösungen für drängende globale Probleme, werfen aber auch eine Reihe von Fragen auf: Welche Auswirkungen haben sie für Umwelt und Gesellschaft, und wie verändern sie unsere Vorstellungen und unser Denken über die Biodiversität, die Evolution und das Leben an sich? Am 25. Mai 2016 versammelt eine interdisziplinäre Science & Society Session an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW) renommierte Experten Xenobiologie und Wissenschaftsphilosophie, um diese und andere Fragen rund um das durch Menschen geschaffene Leben zu diskutieren.

Mammut_Flyer

Die Veranstaltung ist öffentlich und findet im Rahmen des Xenobiologie-Kongresses XB2 (24.-26. Mai 2016, BBAW) statt. Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt die Veranstaltung im Rahmen ihres Förderprogramms Science & Society Sessions, da sie den Dialog zwischen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft hinsichtlich möglicher Anwendungen der Xenobiologie fördert.

Anlässlich der Science & Society Session wird die Schering Stiftung ihre Publikation „Evolution in Menschenhand. Synthetische Biologie aus Labor und Atelier“ vorstellen.

Science & Society Session
Gehört die Zukunft dem künstlichen Leben? – Die Versprechen der Xenobiologie

25. Mai 2016, 18:00 bis 19:30 Uhr

Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften
Leibniz-Saal
Markgrafenstraße 38 | 10117 Berlin

pdfEinladungskarte zum Download

Auf Englisch | Eintritt frei | Anmeldung erforderlich unter: https://www2.bbaw.de/xb2/anmeldung-xb2 oder an Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.

Organisiert von XB2‚ der IAG Gentechnologiebericht und dem Projekt „Leibniz: Vision als Aufgabe“ der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften.

Bei Rückfragen wenden Sie sich gern an die IAG Gentechnologiebericht.

Foto: fotolia.com / auntspray