Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Artist Talk and Book Launch - Susanne Kriemann: P(ech) B(lende)

20.05.2016, Berlin | On June 3, 2016, 2–3:30 p.m., the Ernst Schering Foundation presents P(ech) B(lende). Library for Radioactive Afterlife, an artist’s book by Susanne Kriemann as part of her exhibition Pechblende (Chapter 1) at the Ernst Schering Foundation. The Berlin-based artist will be joined in conversation by artist and publisher Banu Cennetoğlu (Berlin/Istanbul) and discuss her new book in the context of (artists’) books, archives and collections and their function as both recording/storage media and instruments to disseminate information.

Susanne Kriemann: Pechblende (Chapter 1) © Schering Stiftung

Books are a central element of Susanne Kriemann’s creative process. “Susanne Kriemann designs her artist’s books in exactly the same way as she carefully designs the exhibition space. They are not books about her artistic practice, but rather her books are her very artistic practice. We wander through them, along windingly cerebral paths, that are forever crossing one another but which, at the end, somehow have established a circuit,” writes Heike Catherina Mertens in P(ech) B(lende). Library for Radioactive Afterlife. Published by Spector Books and featuring contributions from, among others, Lutz Seiler, Susan Schuppli, Jayne Wilkinson, and Jussi Parikka, the book combines essays on pitchblende mining in the Ore Mountains for Stalin’s nuclear program during the early years of the GDR, the visibility and invisibility of radioactivity, and the effects of radiation on the present and the future. In addition to current works by Susanne Kriemann and texts about her latest shows Pechblende (Prologue) at the Prefix Institute of Contemporary Art, Toronto, and Pechblende (Chapter 1) at the Ernst Schering Foundation, Berlin, the book also contains archival photographs on the topic collected by the artist.

In her work, Susanne Kriemann investigates issues of historiography, archival knowledge, and the connections between art, literature, labor and archaeology. Her work has been exhibited internationally. She has published numerous books including Duskdust (2016), Ray (2014), A Silent Crazy Jungle Under Glass (2012), and Ashes and broken brickwork of a logical theory (2010). In 2010 she co-founded the Artist in Residency AIR Berlin Alexanderplatz. She is advisor at the Jan Van Eyck Academie, Maastricht.

Banu Cennetoğlu is currently a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program. Her practice explores politics around information production and its dissemination through referential compilations. In 2006 she initiated BAS, a project space in Istanbul focusing on collection and production of artists’ books and printed matter.

Artist Talk and Book Launch
Susanne Kriemann: P(ech) B(lende). Library for Radioactive Afterlife

June 3, 2016, 2–3:30 p.m.

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34, 10117 Berlin

Please register at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it (by May 30, 2016, seats are limited).

Susanne Kriemann: P(ech) B(lende). Library for Radioactive Afterlife
With essays by Lutz Seiler (writer), Susan Schuppli (Goldsmiths, University of London), Jussi Parikka (University of Southampton), Jayne Wilkinson (Prefix Institute of Contemporary Art, Toronto), Christina Landbrecht and Friederike Schäfer (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Cluster of Excellence), and Heike Catherina Mertens (co-editor, Ernst Schering Foundation).

Published by Spector Books, Leipzig (www.spectorbooks.com)
Designed by Studio Pandan | Ann Richter & Pia Christmann, Berlin / Leipzig (www.pandan.co)

Photo: Susanne Kriemann: Pechblende (Chapter 1), 2016, Exhibition view Schering Stiftung, Berlin, 2016, Photo: Julia Zimmermann, © Schering Stiftung


News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Künstlergespräch und Buchpräsentation - Susanne Kriemann: P(ech) B(lende)

20.05.2016, Berlin | Am 3. Juni 2016, 14 – 15.30 Uhr, präsentiert die Schering Stiftung das Künstlerbuch P(ech) B(lende). Library for Radioactive Afterlife von Susanne Kriemann. Die in Berlin lebende Künstlerin wird im Gespräch mit der Künstlerin und Verlegerin Banu Cennetoğlu (Berlin/Istanbul) das neu erschienene Buch im Rahmen der Ausstellung Pechblende (Kapitel 1) in der Schering Stiftung in den Kontext von (Künstler-) Büchern, Archiven und Sammlungen und deren Funktion als Erfassungs- und Speichermedien sowie als Instrumente der Informationsverbreitung stellen.

Susanne Kriemann: Pechblende (Kapitel 1), © Schering Stiftung

Bücher sind zentraler Bestandteil im Schaffensprozess Susanne Kriemanns. „Genauso wie die Künstlerin bildnerisch im Raum arbeitet, so gestaltet sie auch ihre Bücher. Es sind keine Bücher über ihre Werke, sondern ihre Bücher sind ihr Werk. Wir wandern in ihnen auf verschlungenen geistigen Pfaden, die sich immer wieder kreuzen und am Ende einen Rundgang bilden“, so schreibt Heike Catherina Mertens in P(ech) B(lende). Library for Radioactive Afterlife. Die bei Spector Books erschienene Publikation mit Beiträgen von Lutz Seiler, Susan Schuppli, Jayne Wilkinson, Jussi Parikka u. a. vereint Essays über den Pechblende-Abbau im Erzgebirge für Stalins Atomprogramm während der ersten Jahre der DDR, über die Sichtbarkeit und Unsichtbarkeit von Radioaktivität und die Auswirkungen von radioaktiver Strahlung heute und für die Zukunft. Neben aktuellen Arbeiten von Susanne Kriemann und Texten über ihre jüngsten Ausstellungen Pechblende (Prolog) im Prefix Institute of Contemporary Art, Toronto, sowie Pechblende (Kapitel 1) in der Schering Stiftung, Berlin, enthält der Band fotografisches Archivmaterial, das die Künstlerin in den vergangenen Jahren zum Thema gesammelt hat.

Susanne Kriemann befasst sich in ihrer Arbeit mit Geschichtsschreibung und Archivwissen und den Verbindungen zwischen Kunst, Literatur, Labor und Archäologie. Ihre Werke wurden international ausgestellt. Sie hat zahlreiche Bücher veröffentlicht, darunter Duskdust (2016), Ray (2014), A Silent Crazy Jungle Under Glass (2012) und Ashes and broken brickwork of a logical theory (2010). 2010 war sie Mitbegründerin des Künstlerinitiative AIR Berlin Alexanderplatz. Zudem ist sie an der Jan Van Eyck Academie in Maastricht als Beraterin für Künstlerinnen und Künstler sowie als Forscherin tätig.

Banu Cennetoğlu ist aktuell Stipendiatin des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD. Durch Werkreihen mit Referenzcharakter setzt sie sich in ihrer künstlerischen Praxis mit der Politik der Informationsproduktion und -verbreitung auseinander. 2006 gründete sie in Istanbul den Projektraum BAS, der sich dem Sammeln und Verlegen von Künstlerbüchern und Drucksachen widmet.

Künstlergespräch und Buchpräsentation
Susanne Kriemann: P(ech) B(lende).
Library for Radioactive Afterlife

3. Juni 2016, 14 Uhr

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34, 10117 Berlin

Um Anmeldung wird gebeten unter Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. (bis 30.05.2016, begrenzte Platzkapazität).

Susanne Kriemann: P(ech) B(lende). Library for Radioactive Afterlife
mit Beiträgen von Lutz Seiler (Schriftsteller), Susan Schuppli (Goldsmiths, University of London), Jussi Parikka (University of Southampton), Jayne Wilkinson (Prefix Institute of Contemporary Art, Toronto), Christina Landbrecht und Friederike Schäfer (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Exzellenzcluster) sowie Heike Catherina Mertens (Mitherausgeberin, Schering Stiftung).

Verlag: Spector Books, Leipzig (www.spectorbooks.com)
Gestaltung: Studio Pandan | Ann Richter & Pia Christmann, Berlin / Leipzig (www.pandan.co)

Foto: Susanne Kriemann: Pechblende (Kapitel 1), Ausstellungsansicht Schering Stiftung, Berlin, 2016 Foto: Julia Zimmermann, © Schering Stiftung


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Am 1. Juni, um 19 Uhr, eröffnet in den KW Institute for Contemporary...
mehr