Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Better Together

24.05.2016, Kryviy Rih, Ukraine | For many young disabled people in Ukraine the reality is that they are faced with not only a lack of opportunities to engage in the performing arts, but they have a lack of opportunity to integrate at all, with other young people in their community. This is why Sylvia Harrison from Roundhouse, has teamed up with Becky Martin from Lyric Hammersmith and the Ukrainian organization Shelter+ for “Better Together,” an integrated arts project that aims to give young disabled people access to the arts. The project under the artistic direction of the Ukrainian wheelchair dancer Ivan Zamiga and Wolfgang Stange, director and principle choreographer of the Amici Dance Theatre Company, is winner of the 2016 kultur-im-dialog.eu+ competition.

better_together_image_Ivan_Zamiga

2.7 million people (6%) are registered as disabled in Ukraine with many facing difficulties and discrimination. Ten times as many children are in institutional care in Ukraine as in England. Many young people with disabilities in Ukraine face negative attitudes and the assumption that many cultural activities are not for them. The project “Better Together” will center on a week of activities in Krivvy Rih, Ukraine (June 20–26, 2016) that aims to celebrate collaboration and connection between disabled and non-disabled young people.

The project, which launches in Kryviy Rih, will galvanize grass-roots, self-initiated projects aimed at building support systems and campaign movements – most notably established by single mothers of disabled children. Following the project a toolkit will be created around developing integrated arts projects for Ukrainian arts organizations to use.

Since 2008, the Ernst Schering Foundation, in cooperation with MitOst e.V., has invited submissions to its annual “kultur-im-dialog.eu+” (Culture in Dialogue.eu+) competition that aims to promote cultural projects dealing with the individual experiences and national transformation processes in Europe and its neighboring regions. The jury chose the project "Better Together" out of a multiplicity of applications because of its convincing attempts to achieve equal rights for everyone, its interesting concept to make the invisible visible as well as its strong networking character.

Better Together

June 20–26, 2016: 1 x week-long project at Shelter+, Ukraine,
35 project participants, 16–25 yrs: 15 disabled and 15 non-disabled, 3 UK artists: 1 disabled, 2 specialists in integrated work, 2 UA artists: 1 disabled and 1 non-disabled

June 25, 2016: 2 x community workshops in boarding schools for disabled children in Kryviy Rih led collaboratively by project participants and artists, 60 participants in each school, all ages

June 26, 2016: 1 x day-long integrated arts festival in Kryviy Rih central park,
public event, participation from disabled community, performances from Ukrainian disabled and non-disabled artists

September 2016: Celebratory dissemination event at Lyric Hammersmith, London

Fall 2016: Celebratory dissemination event at MitOst festival, Tbilisi, Georgia

Further information

 

A project by Roundhouse (UK), Lyric Hammersmith (UK) and Shelter+ (UA) as well as UK and UA NGOs working with disabled young people. The project is winner of the competition kultur-im-dialog.eu+ 2016 – a program of Ernst Schering Foundation and MitOst e.V. – and funded by British Council, Ukraine.

Photo: © Ivan Zamiga


News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Better Together

24.05.2016, Krywyj Rih, Ukraine | In der Ukraine fehlt es den meisten behinderten Jugendlichen nicht nur an Möglichkeiten, künstlerisch tätig zu sein; allgemein sind die Chancen zur gesellschaftlichen Inklusion und zum Kontakt mit gleichaltrigen Nichtbehinderten dünn gesät. Hier setzt ein Projekt von Sylvia Harrison (Roundhouse), an, das in Zusammenarbeit mit Becky Martin (Lyric Hammersmith) und der ukrainischen Organisation Shelter+ behinderten Jugendlichen die Teilhabe am kulturellen Leben ermöglichen möchte. Das Projekt „Better Together“ unter der künstlerischen Leitung des ukrainischen Rollstuhltänzers Ivan Zamiga und von Wolfgang Stange, Direktor und Chefchoreograf der Amici Dance Theatre Company, ist Gewinner des Wettbewerbs „kultur-im-dialog.eu+“ 2016.

better_together_image_Ivan_Zamiga

In der Ukraine sind 2,7 Millionen Menschen – das sind sechs Prozent der Bevölkerung – als behindert registriert und zehn Mal so viele behinderte Kinder in Heimen untergebracht als beispielsweise in England. Viele behinderte Jugendliche sehen sich Vorurteilen und Diskriminierung ausgesetzt und werden wie selbstverständlich vom kulturellen Leben ausgeschlossen. Mit einem einwöchigen Programm in Krywyj Rih, Ukraine (20.–26. Juni 2016) will das Projekt „Better Together“ das Augenmerk auf die Zusammenarbeit und das Zusammenleben zwischen behinderten und nichtbehinderten Menschen richten.

Das Projekt, das in Krywyj Rih seinen Auftakt nimmt, will selbst initiierte Projekte – deren Gründer meist alleinerziehende Mütter von behinderten Kindern sind – zum Aufbau von Fördernetzwerken und Kampagnen mobilisieren. Im Anschluss an das Projekt soll ein Instrumentarium zur Entwicklung inklusiver Kunstprojekte entwickelt werden, an dem sich ukrainische Kunstorganisationen und -einrichtungen orientieren können.

Seit 2008 schreibt die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit MitOst e. V. jährlich den Wettbewerb „kultur-im-dialog.eu+“ zur Förderung von Kulturprojekten aus, die sich mit individuellen Erfahrungen und nationalen Transformationsprozessen in Europa und seinen Nachbarregionen auseinandersetzen. Aus einer Vielzahl von Einsendungen wählte die Jury 2016 das Projekt „Better Together“, um das Engagement der Beteiligten für gleiche Rechte für alle auszuzeichnen. Zudem überzeugte das interessante Konzept, Unsichtbares sichtbar zu machen und der starke Netzwerkcharakter des Projektes.

Better Together

20.–26. Juni 2016: 1 einwöchiges Projekt bei Shelter+, Ukraine,
35 Projektteilnehmer im Alter von 16 bis 25 Jahren: 15 behinderte und 15 nichtbehinderte TeilnehmerInnen, 3 KünstlerInnen aus dem Vereinigten Königreich: 1 behinderte Künstlerin, 2 Experten für Integrationsarbeit; 2 KünstlerInnen aus der Ukraine: 1 behindert und 1 nichtbehindert

25. Juni 2016: 2 Community-Workshops in Behinderteninternaten in Krywyj Rih, die gemeinsam von den Projektteilnehmern und den Künstlern geleitet werden; 60 Teilnehmer pro Schule, alle Altersstufen

26. Juni 2016: 1 integratives Kunstfestival im Stadtpark von Krywyj Rih, öffentliche Veranstaltung, Teilnahme von Behinderten, Vor- und Aufführungen von behinderten und nichtbehinderten ukrainischen KünstlerInnen

September 2016: Festliche Abschlussveranstaltung bei Lyric Hammersmith, London

Herbst 2016: Festliche Abschlussveranstaltung beim MitOst-Festival, Tbilisi, Georgien

Weitere Informationen


Ein Projekt von Roundhouse (UK), Lyric Hammersmith (UK) und Shelter+ (UA) sowie britischen und ukrainischen NGOs, die mit behinderten Jugendlichen arbeiten. Das Projekt ist Gewinner des Wettbewerbs „kultur-im-dialog.eu+“ 2016 – ein Programm der Schering Stiftung und MitOst e.V. – und wird vom British Council in der Ukraine gefördert.

Foto: © Ivan Zamiga

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: “Young Investigator Fund” für innovative Forschungsideen

22.03.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt erfolgsversprechende Forschungsideen junger WissenschaftlerInnen mit einer Anschubfinanzierung. Gefördert werden...
mehr

Leere Meere oder wildes Leben? Der Weltozean im 21. Jahrhundert

08.03.2017, Berlin | Unsere Weltmeere sind mit Abstand das größte Ökosystem unserer Erde. Sie bedecken mehr...
mehr

Weiter Schreiben. Ein literarisches Portal für AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten

02.03.2017, Berlin | Das Projekt „Weiter Schreiben“ veröffentlicht Texte von AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten und verleiht ihnen...
mehr