Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Night of Ideas

23.05.2016, Berlin | On June 3, 2016, the Institut français Berlin will host the “Night of Ideas” for all who are interested in and concerned about questions of the future. Artists and scientists will offer a platform to exchange ideas. The Ernst Schering Foundation supports this endeavor by sponsoring a performance by artists Magali Daniaux and Cédric Pigot; they will present a sound poem entitled “The Diluted Hours,” which was inspired by a trip to Alaska.

Magali Daniaux & Cédric Pigot

The French artist duo, who has worked together since 2001, creates experimental, artistic, and transmedia performances which include videos, sound and olfactory effects, music, poetry, and virtual works. In the last four years, Daniaux and Pigot have again and again engaged with topics that are relevant to the future: climate change; economic, political and geostrategic issues; urban development; food supply. They have presented their works at prestigious institutions and festivals in France and across Europe, including the Galérie nationale du Jeu de Paume, Paris; Palais de Tokyo, Paris; Venice Architecture Biennale; Ultima Contemporary Music Festival, Oslo; and “Qui Vive” Moscow International Biennial for Young Art. Daniaux and Pigot have won several fellowships and residencies, most recently at Akademie Schloss Solitude, Stuttgart (2015). In 2010, they were among the finalists for the Prix COAL Art et Environnement.

Questions of the future are of interest to all scientific and artistic disciplines. Climate researchers investigate the phenomenon of contemporary and future climate changes, economists produce scenarios for the development of the global economy. The future plays a role in philosophical meditations on a better world but also when it comes to developing new models in mathematics and physics. The future is present when urban researchers and architects develop concepts for the green or digital city of tomorrow and when geopoliticians think about a new world order and emerging powers. Last but not least, the future is also the subject of the work of writers and artists. The “Night of Ideas” at the Maison de France aims to inspire an interdisciplinary dialogue and conversation. Through short lectures (20 minutes), panel discussions (max. 1 hour), science films, mini lectures by PhD students (“My Dissertation in Three Minutes”), and artistic installations and performances, the “Night of Ideas” presents a varied, serious yet playful program around questions of the future.

Night of Ideas

Friday, June 3, 2016, from 5 p.m. for children, 7 p.m. to 3 a.m. for adults

Institut français Berlin
Kurfürstendamm 211 | 10719 Berlin

Performance by Magali Daniaux and Cédric Pigot: 9–9:30 p.m.

Free admission.

Photo: N66°50.629' – W162°34.798', 2015, clear vinyl with ashes, limited edition of 50 copies, courtesy Magali Daniaux & Cédric Pigot


News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Nacht der Ideen

15.05.2016, Berlin | Am 3. Juni 2016 findet im Institut français Berlin die „Nacht der Ideen“ statt, zu der alle eingeladen sind, denen die Frage nach der Zukunft am Herzen liegt. Künstler und Wissenschaftler werden an diesem Abend eine Plattform zum Ideenaustausch bieten. Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt dieses Anliegen mit der Förderung einer Performance der Künstler Magali Daniaux und Cédric Pigot, die – inspiriert von einer Reise nach Alaska – eine Klangpoesie mit dem Titel „The Diluted Hours“ präsentieren werden.

Magali Daniaux & Cédric Pigot

Das französische Künstlerduo arbeitet seit 2001 zusammen und konzipiert experimentelle, künstlerische und transmediale Performances unter Einbezug von Videos, Klang- und olfaktorischen Effekten, Musik, Poesie und virtuellen Werken. In den vergangenen vier Jahren haben sich Daniaux und Pigot immer wieder mit zukunftsrelevanten Themen auseinandergesetzt: Klimawandel, wirtschaftliche, politische und geostrategische Fragestellungen, Stadtentwicklung, Nahrungsmittelversorgung. Ihre Werke haben sie in namhaften Einrichtungen in Frankreich und ganz Europa präsentiert, darunter: Galerie nationale du Jeu de Paume, Paris; Internationale Architekturbiennale Venedig; Ultima Festival für zeitgenössische Musik, Oslo; Palais de Tokyo, Paris; Qui Vive International Biennial, Moskau. Daniaux und Pigot erhielten mehrfach Stipendien für Künstlerprogramme, zuletzt an der Akademie Schloss Solitude, Stuttgart (2015). 2010 waren sie unter den Finalisten bei der Verleihung des Prix COAL Art et Environnement.

Die Frage nach der Zukunft zieht sich durch alle wissenschaftlichen und künstlerischen Disziplinen. Klimaforscher untersuchen das Phänomen derzeitiger und künftiger Klimaveränderungen, Ökonomen erarbeiten verschiedene Szenarios der Entwicklung der Weltwirtschaft. In philosophischen Betrachtungen über eine bessere Welt spielt die Zukunft eine ebenso wichtige Rolle wie in der Neuentwicklung von Modellen der Mathematik und Physik. Die Zukunft ist präsent, wenn Städteforscher und Architekten Konzepte für die grüne oder digitale Stadt von morgen erarbeiten und Geopolitiker über eine neue Weltordnung und die emporstrebenden Mächte nachdenken. Nicht zuletzt machen Schriftsteller und Künstler das Thema zum Gegenstand ihres Schaffens. Die „Nacht der Ideen“ im Maison de France soll den Austausch zwischen den Disziplinen anregen. Mit kurzen Vorträgen (20 Minuten), Diskussionsrunden (max. 1 Stunde), wissenschaftlichen Filmen, Mini-Doktorandenvorträgen im Format „Meine Dissertation in drei Minuten“ und künstlerischen Installationen sowie Performances präsentiert die „Nacht der Ideen“ ein vielfältiges, zugleich ernstes und spielerisches Programm rund um das Thema Zukunft.

Nacht der Ideen. Impuls Zukunft

Freitag, 3. Juni 2016, ab 17 Uhr für Kinder, 19–3 Uhr für Erwachsene

Institut français Berlin
Kurfürstendamm 211 | 10719 Berlin

Performance von Magali Daniaux und Cédric Pigot: 21–21.30 Uhr

Eintritt frei

Foto: N66°50.629' – W162°34.798', 2015, clear vinyl with ashes, limited edition of 50 copies, courtesy Magali Daniaux & Cédric Pigot


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Acousmatic Lectures Series

26.06.2017, Berlin | Im Rahmen der Acousmatic Lectures Series wird in Berlin eine Reihe von interdisziplinären...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr