Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Cécile B. Evans as part of the 9th Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art

03.06.2016, Berlin | The 9th Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art, curated by DIS, opens on June 3, 2016. As part of the Biennale, the Ernst Schering Foundation supports the new work, What the Heart Wants, by the Belgian-American artist Cécile B. Evans. Evans’ work unravels the value of emotions in contemporary society, the increasing influence of new technologies on how we feel and act, and the ways in which they circulate and influence the economy.

© Cécile B. Evans

Born 1983 in Cleveland, USA, the London- and Berlin-based artist Cécile B. Evans employs installation, video, sculpture, performance, and online platforms to address how person-to-machine exchanges reflect the contemporary human condition. Evans' recent video works, AGNES and Hyperlinks or It Didn’t Happen (both 2014), examine the lives of digital beings—via an interactive spambot and the digital resurrection of a Hollywood actor—by asking what they want for their “selves,” and how their desires relate to us.

Evans’ new work, What the Heart Wants (2016), is an exploration of the future of what it could mean to be human. Start-ups, politicians, and megacorporations all strive to get to the “real you,” often by wringing users through an experience of content described by a start-up spokesperson as an “emotional roller coaster.” Presented in an immersive installation which includes a room flooded with water, Evans’ work takes a look at the attempt to pass as a person in the digital age—juxtaposing this with the corporate, technological, institutional, social, and political machines that seem set to define the entity of the “self.” If “corporations are people too,” to quote the notion of corporate personhood, then HYPER, an ambiguous power and the narrator of What the Heart Wants, has achieved this ultimate goal. Appearing in female form, she demonstrates her labor and very best intentions.

The 9th Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art seeks to materialize the digital condition and the paradoxes that increasingly make up the world in 2016: the virtual as the real, nations as brands, people as data, culture as capital, wellness as politics, happiness as GDP, and so on.

9th Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art – Contribution by Cécile B. Evans

Opening: June 3, 2016, 7–10 pm, all venues (open to the public)

Duration of the exhibition: June 4 – September 18, 2016

KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststr. 69, 10117 Berlin

Further venues of the 9th Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art

Akademie der Künste
Pariser Platz 4, 10117 Berlin

ESMT European School of Management and Technology
Schlossplatz 1, 10178 Berlin

The Feuerle Collection
Hallesches Ufer 70, 10963 Berlin

Fahrgastschiff Blue-Star der Reederei Riedel
Blue-Star sightseeing boat of Reederei Riedel
Two-hour boat trip departing from Märkisches Ufer 34, 10179 Berlin

For the opening (3.6.2016, 7–10 pm) only the boat will be docked at: Paul-Löbe-Haus, Platz der Republik, 11011 Berlin. The boat will not make trips but will be accessible for viewing during these times.

Curatorial Team
DIS:

Lauren Boyle
Solomon Chase
Marco Roso
David Toro

Opening Hours

Wed–Mon 11 am–7 pm, Thu 11 am–9 pm

Blue-Star sightseeing boat of Reederei Riedel:
Departures Wed–Mon at dock Märkisches Ufer 34: 11 am, 1:30 pm, 4 pm

All venues are closed on Tuesdays.
No boat trips on Tuesdays.

Admission

All venues: 16 €, Reduced: 10 €
Groups of 10 or more, per person: 14 €, Reduced: 8 €

The boat trip is not included in the Berlin Biennale ticket.
Boat trip: 10 €, Reduced: 5 €

The Berlin Biennale is organized by KW Institute for Contemporary Art and funded by the Kulturstiftung des Bundes (German Federal Cultural Foundation).

Further information:

www.kw-berlin.de
www.berlinbiennale.de

Image: Cécile B. Evans, What the Heart Wants, 2016, Video installation,

Courtesy Cécile B. Evans/Andres Parody; Barbara Seiler, Zurich; Galerie Emanuel Layr,Vienna

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Cécile B. Evans im Rahmen der 9. Berlin Biennale

03.06.2016, Berlin | Am 3. Juni 2016 eröffnet die 9. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst, kuratiert von DIS. Im Rahmen der Biennale fördert die Schering Stiftung die neue Arbeit What the Heart Wants der belgisch-amerikanischen Künstlerin Cécile B. Evans, die in ihren Werken den Wert von Emotionen in der heutigen Gesellschaft, den zunehmenden Einfluss neuer Technologien auf unser Fühlen und Handeln, ihre Zirkulation und ihren Einfluss auf die Wirtschaft ergründet.

© Cécile B. Evans

Die 1983 in Cleveland, USA, geborene und heute in London und Berlin lebende Künstlerin Cécile B. Evans befasst sich in ihren Installationen, Videos, Skulpturen, Performances und Online-Plattformen damit, wie Formen des Austauschs zwischen Mensch und Maschine Rückschlüsse auf die menschliche Existenz zulassen. In ihren neueren Videoarbeiten AGNES und Hyperlinks or It Didn’t Happen (beide 2014) untersucht sie – mithilfe von interaktiven Spambots und einem digital wiederauferstandenen Hollywood-Schauspieler – das „Leben“ von digitalen Wesen. Evans stellt dabei die Frage, was diese Wesen „selbst“ wollen und welche Relevanz ihre Bedürfnisse für uns haben.

Evans neue Arbeit für die 9. Berlin Biennale, What the Heart Wants (2016), lotet aus, was es in der Zukunft heißen wird, Mensch zu sein. Start-ups, PolitikerInnen und Megakonzerne zielen gleichermaßen darauf ab, zum „wahren Ich“ vorzudringen, indem sie den NutzerInnen ein Erleben von Inhalten aufzwingen, das ein Start-up-Sprecher einmal treffend als eine „emotionale Achterbahn“ beschrieben hat. In ihrer großen Installation, die in einem mit Wasser gefluteten Raum gezeigt wird, wirft Evans einen Blick auf das Streben danach, sich im digitalen Zeitalter als Person zu behaupten. Dies stellt sie der unternehmerischen, technologischen, institutionellen, sozialen und politischen Maschinerie gegenüber, die es sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, diese Entität des „Selbst“ zu definieren. Wenn „Unternehmen ebenfalls Menschen“ sind, um das Unternehmenspersönlichkeitsrecht zu zitieren, dann hat HYPER – eine diffuse Macht und die Erzählerin von What the Heart Wants – letztlich ihr Ziel erreicht. Sie erscheint in weiblicher Form und demonstriert ihre Bemühungen und ihre besten Absichten.

Die 9. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst will die digitalen Konditionen und die Paradoxien greifbar machen, die die Welt im Jahr 2016 zunehmend prägen: das Virtuelle als das Wirkliche, Nationen als Marken, Menschen als Daten, Kultur als Kapital, Wellness als Politik, Glück als Bruttoinlandsprodukt und so weiter.

9. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst – Ausstellungsbeitrag von Cécile B. Evans

Eröffnung: 3.6.2016, 19–22 Uhr (öffentlich)

Laufzeit der Ausstellung: 4.6.–18.9.2016

KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststraße 69, 10117 Berlin

Weitere Ausstellungsorte der 9. Berlin Biennale

Akademie der Künste
Pariser Platz 4, 10117 Berlin

ESMT European School of Management and Technology
Schlossplatz 1, 10178 Berlin

The Feuerle Collection
Hallesches Ufer 70, 10963 Berlin

Fahrgastschiff Blue-Star der Reederei Riedel
Zweistündige Bootsfahrt mit Abfahrt an der Anlegestelle Märkisches Ufer 34, 10179 Berlin
Während der Eröffnung (3.6.2016, 19–22 Uhr): Anlegestelle Paul-Löbe-Haus, Platz der Republik, 11011 Berlin, Zutritt durchgängig möglich

Kuratorisches Team
DIS:

Lauren Boyle
Solomon Chase
Marco Roso
David Toro

Öffnungszeiten

Mi–Mo 11–19 Uhr, Do 11–21 Uhr, Di geschlossen

Fahrgastschiff Blue-Star der Reederei Riedel:
Abfahrt von Mi–Mo an der Anlegestelle Märkisches Ufer 34: 11 Uhr, 13:30 Uhr, 16 Uhr. Dienstags keine Bootsfahrt.

Eintritt

Alle Orte 16 €, Ermäßigt 10 €
Gruppen ab 10 Personen je Person: 14 €, Ermäßigt: 8 €

Die Bootsfahrt ist nicht im Berlin-Biennale-Ticket enthalten.
Bootsticket: 10 €, Ermäßigt: 5 €

Die Berlin Biennale wird organisiert durch die KW Institute for Contemporary Art und gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes.

Weitere Informationen:

www.kw-berlin.de
www.berlinbiennale.de

Abbildung: Cécile B. Evans, What the Heart Wants, 2016, Videoinstallation, Courtesy Cécile B. Evans/Andres Parody; Barbara Seiler, Zürich; Galerie Emanuel Layr, Wien

 


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Die KW Institute for Contemporary Art und die Schering Stiftung freuen sich, die...
mehr