Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

OSMODRAMA FESTIVAL BERLIN

01.07.2016, Berlin | From July 15 to September 18, 2016, the first ever festival for scent art, titled Osmodrama, will be presented at the St. Johannes-Evangelist-Kirche in Berlin-Mitte in cooperation with Radialsystem V and the support of the International Literature Festival Berlin. In collaboration with renowned artists such as Edgar Reitz, Omer Fast, and Eva Mattes, Wolfgang Georgsdorf, inventor of the electronic scent organ Smeller 2.0, has developed world premieres and new formats in the form of scent compositions, which, alone or in connection with sound, music, film, and literature, provide an entirely new artistic experience.

Smeller by Wolfgang Georgsdorf, Photo: Otto Saxinger

Smeller by Wolfgang Georgsdorf

Over a period of nine weeks, the festival features a combination of laboratory experiences, readings, performances, concerts, and presentations. The audience will not only be able to see, experience, and hear the art works, but to smell the scenes and stories via the scent organ Smeller 2.0.

During the Osmodrama Festival, director Edgar Reitz will be showing his monumental movie, “Die andere Heimat – Chronik einer Sehnsucht,” for the first time accompanied by synchronized scent sequences. The scents composed to accompany the film will add another layer of experience to the storytelling medium. The prize-winning work by video artist Omer Fast, about a soldier’s return home from Afghanistan – which originally premiered at dOCUMENTA (13) – will also be presented during the festival with experimentation in scent synchronization. The actress Eva Mattes will be performing live readings of works by the writers Nikola Madzirov and Julia Kissina in collaboration with the International Literature Festival Berlin. During the readings, the audience will be able to experience the live smell interpretation from Wolfgang Georgsdorf on Smeller 2.0, which serve to highlight the worlds of the pieces. As part of the festival, the sound artist Carl Stone, also known as the “King of Sampling,” will be performing live electroacoustic and scent compositions.

The instrument that makes this possible – Smeller 2.0 – is an electronically controlled scent organ developed as a functional art piece by the Austrian media artist Wolfgang Georgsdorf in collaboration with expert perfumers, olfactorists, ventilation specialists, mechatronics, and computer scientists. In 2012 the scent organ was built and presented at the OK Center for Contemporary Art in Linz. The organ weights 1.6 tons and has 64 scent canals that emit, through controlled air ventillation, prefabricated scents. Time-based scent composition therefore opens up previously undiscovered opportunities for expression in art, culture, and communication, which is why the Ernst Schering Foundation enthusiastically supports the project.

Osmodrama: Inaugural Festival for Scent Art

Opening: July 15, 2016, 7:30 p.m.

Presentation of scent organ Smeller 2.0

World premiere of “Autocomplete” – synosmy by Wolfgang Georgsdorf

Discussion: A Language of Smell

With: Prof. Dr. Dr. Hanns Hatt (smell researcher), Wolfgang Georgsdorf (developer of “Smeller 2.0” and scent composer), Eva Mattes (actress), Geza Schön (perfumer), and Edgar Reitz (director and author)

St. Johannes-Evangelist-Kirche
Auguststr. 90 | 10117 Berlin

Duration: July 16 to September 18, 2016

Thursdays and Fridays, 12 noon – 8 p.m.
Saturdays and Sundays, 2–10 p.m.
Admission: 12–16 Euro, reduced admission: 8–12 Euro

Online Tickets

A presentation by Osmodrama and RADIALSYSTEM V in cooperation with Kulturbüro Elisabeth and the International Literature Festival Berlin and with support from the Ernst Schering Foundation.

Further Information

Detailed program at
http://www.osmodrama.com


July 17, 6–11 p.m.
Osmodrama: Film & Smell
“Die andere Heimat – Chronik einer Sehnsucht” by Edgar Reitz

August 2, 9:30 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Osmodrama: Workshop
“The Art of Olfactory Storytelling” with Wolfgang Georgsdorf

September 4, 6–11 p.m.
Osmodrama: Film & Smell
“Die andere Heimat – Chronik einer Sehnsucht” by Edgar Reitz

September 8, 8–10 p.m.
Osmodrama: Music & Smell
“Orchestral Whifftracks” with the Berlin Improvisers Orchestra

September 10, 11 a.m. – 2 p.m.
Osmodrama: Workshop
“Scents and Signs” with Wolfgang Georgsdorf

September 11, 2–7 p.m.
Osmodrama: Film & Smell
“Die andere Heimat – Chronik einer Sehnsucht” by Edgar Reitz

September 14, 12 noon – 1:15 p.m.
Osmodrama: Children’s Literature & Smell
“Der Sommer, in dem ich berühmt werde” by Simon van der Geest

September 15, 8–10 p.m.
Osmodrama: Film & Smell
“Continuity” by Omer Fast  
“No(i)se” by Wolfgang Georgsdorf

September 16, 8–10 p.m.
Osmodrama: Literature & Smell
“Sprachwelten – Geruchswelten” (Worlds of Language, Worlds of Smell)
Reading with Eva Mattes, Nikola Madzirov, and Julia Kissina

September 17, from 9 p.m.
Osmodrama: Long Night
“Scentscapes & Soundscapes” with Carl Stone et al.

 

Photos:
Image 1: © Otto Saxinger, Osmodrama via Smeller 2.0, osmodrama.com
Image 2: © Wolfgang Georgsdorf, Osmodrama via Smeller 2.0, osmodrama
Image 3: © Wolfgang Georgsdorf, Osmodrama via Smeller 2.0, osmodrama

Smeller by Wolfgang Georgsdorf

News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

OSMODRAMA FESTIVAL BERLIN

01.07.2016, Berlin | Vom 15. Juli bis 18. September 2016 findet gemeinsam mit dem Radialsystem V und in Kooperation mit dem Internationalen Literaturfestival Berlin in der St. Johannes-Evangelist-Kirche in Berlin-Mitte das erste Festival für Geruchskunst statt: Osmodrama. Wolfgang Georgsdorf, Erfinder der elektronischen Geruchsorgel Smeller 2.0, entwickelt für das Festival gemeinsam mit renommierten KünstlerInnen wie Edgar Reitz, Omer Fast und Eva Mattes Weltpremieren und neue Formate in Form von Geruchskompositionen, die allein oder in Verbindung mit Klang, Musik, Film und Literatur ein völlig neues Kunsterlebnis bieten.

Smeller von Wolfgang Georgsdorf, Foto: Otto Saxinger

Smeller von Wolfgang Georgsdorf

In einer neunwöchigen Veranstaltungsreihe verbindet das Festival Osmodrama die Formate Labor, Lesung, Performance, Konzert und Ausstellung. Die Besucher können die vorgestellten Filme, Bücher und Kunstwerke nicht nur sehen, erleben und hören, sie können durch die Geruchsorgel die jeweiligen Szenen und Stimmungen auch riechen.

Im Rahmen des Osmodrama Festivals zeigt etwa Regisseur Edgar Reitz seinen monumentalen Film „Die andere Heimat – Chronik einer Sehnsucht“ erstmals in Verknüpfung mit szenensynchronen Geruchssequenzen. Die zum Film komponierten Gerüche werden die sinnliche Erfahrung der Erzählung erweitern. Die preisgekrönte Arbeit des Videokünstlers Omer Fast über die Heimkehr eines Afghanistan-Soldaten, die 2012 auf der dOCUMENTA (13) präsentiert wurde, ist erstmals in einer experimentellen Synchronisation mit Gerüchen zu erleben. Schauspielerin Eva Mattes liest aus Werken der Autoren Nikola Madzirov und Julia Kissina im Rahmen des Internationalen Literaturfestival Berlin. Während der Lesung können die Besucher auch in die Geruchswelten der Werke eintauchen. Und der „King of Sampling“, der amerikanische Sound Artist Carl Stone, führt gemeinsam mit Wolfgang Georgsdorf in einer Performance elektroakustische und olfaktorische Livekompositionen auf.

Das dafür erforderliche Instrument – Smeller 2.0 – ist eine elektronisch gesteuerte Geruchsorgel. Entwickelt wurde sie als funktionales Kunstwerk vom österreichischen Medienkünstler Wolfgang Georgsdorf in Zusammenarbeit mit Experten u. a. aus Parfümistik, Olfaktorik, Klimatechnik, Mechatronik und Informatik. 2012 wurde die Geruchsorgel im OK-Centrum für Gegenwartskunst in Linz gebaut und erstmals ausgestellt. Das 1,6 Tonnen schwere Instrument verfügt über 64 Geruchskanäle, mit denen über kontrollierte Luftströmung vorgemischte Gerüche in den Raum eingespeist werden. Zeitbasierte Geruchskompositionen eröffnen so bislang unbekannte Möglichkeiten des Ausdrucks in Kunst, Kultur und Kommunikation, weshalb die Schering Stiftung das Projekt mit Begeisterung unterstützt.

Osmodrama: Erstes Festival für Geruchskunst

Eröffnung: 15. Juli 2016, 19.30 Uhr

Vorstellung der Geruchsorgel Smeller 2.0

Uraufführung "Autocomplete" – Synosmie von Wolfgang Georgsdorf

Diskussion: Eine Sprache des Geruchs

Mit: Prof. Dr. Dr. Hanns Hatt (Geruchsforscher), Wolfgang Georgsdorf (Entwickler von "Smeller 2.0" und Geruchskomponist), Eva Mattes (Schauspielerin), Geza Schön (Parfümeur) und Edgar Reitz (Regisseur und Autor)

St. Johannes-Evangelist-Kirche in Berlin-Mitte
Auguststraße 90 | 10117 Berlin

Laufzeit: 16. Juli bis 18. September 2016

jeweils donnerstags und freitags 12–20 Uhr
jeweils samstags und sonntags 14–22 Uhr
Karten 12–16 Euro, erm. 8–12 Euro

Online Tickets

Eine Veranstaltung von Osmodrama und RADIALSYSTEM V in Kooperation mit Kultur Büro Elisabeth und dem Internationalen Literaturfestival Berlin. Ermöglicht durch die Schering Stiftung.

Weiteres Programm
Detaillierte Informationen unter http://www.osmodrama.com

17. Juli, 18–23 Uhr
Osmodrama: Film & Geruch „Die andere Heimat – Chronik einer Sehnsucht“ von Edgar Reitz

2. August, 9.30–18 Uhr
Osmodrama: Workshop „The Art of Olfactory Storytelling“ mit Wolfgang Georgsdorf

4. September, 18–23 Uhr
Osmodrama: Film & Geruch „Die andere Heimat – Chronik einer Sehnsucht“ von Edgar Reitz

8. September, 20–22 Uhr
Osmodrama: Musik & Geruch „Orchestral Whifftracks“ mit dem Berlin Improvisers Orchestra

10. September, 11–14 Uhr
Osmodrama: Workshop „Scents and Signs“ mit Wolfgang Georgsdorf

11. September, 14–19 Uhr
Osmodrama: Film & Geruch „Die andere Heimat – Chronik einer Sehnsucht“ von Edgar Reitz

14. September, 12–13.15 Uhr
Osmodrama: Kinderliteratur & Geruch „Der Sommer, in dem ich berühmt werde“ von Simon van der Geest

15. September, 20–22 Uhr
Osmodrama: Geruchskino „Continuity“ von Omer Fast
„No(i)se“ von Wolfgang Georgsdorf

16. September, 20–22 Uhr
Osmodrama: Literatur & Geruch „Sprachwelten – Geruchswelten“
Lesung mit Eva Mattes, Nikola Madzirov und Julia Kissina

17. September, ab 21 Uhr
Osmodrama: Lange Nacht „Scentscapes & Soundscapes“ mit Carl Stone, Sam Auinger u. a.

 

Fotos:
Abb 1: © Otto Saxinger, Osmodrama via Smeller 2.0, osmodrama.com
Abb 2: © Wolfgang Georgsdorf, Osmodrama via Smeller 2.0, osmodrama
Abb 3: © Wolfgang Georgsdorf, Osmodrama via Smeller 2.0, osmodrama

Smeller von Wolfgang Georgsdorf

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr