Philipp Lachenmann: DELPHI Rationale

 

Yvonne Roeb: IM ÜBER ALL

Exhibition opening:
Wednesday, September 14, 2016, 6–9 p.m.

Exhibition dates: September 15 – November 6, 2016
Hours: Thursday through Monday, 1–7 p.m.

Ernst Schering Foundation
Unter den Linden 32–34 | 10117 Berlin

In her show titled “IM ÜBER ALL,” the Berlin-and-Düsseldorf-based sculptural artist Yvonne Roeb (*1976) places her sculptures, which are composed of naturalistic, surreal and artificial elements, in the context of the Wunderkammer, the cabinet of curiosities. Borrowing from the animal, plant and mineral kingdoms, Roeb sculpts her composite creatures from modern, unusual materials, but also draws a line to classical sculpture. At the Ernst Schering Foundation, her thematically always ambiguous works will be presented in a wall of niches that allows every object to unfold its power.

Yvonne Roeb, Portrait, 2016, Photo: Markus Bachmann; Exhibition in the Ernst Schering Foundation: September until November 2016

Yvonne Roeb: Kaefer, Photo: Markus Bachmann

Yvonne Roeb sees objects not as mere things but inquires into the spiritual nature of every single object. Her work hints at a belief in an object’s supernatural powers and its veneration as a sacred object, as in fetishism, the spiritual-religious idea that all natural phenomena possess a spiritual essence, as in animism, as well as aspects of totemism and animalism. In totemism, for example, people construct mythical-kinship relationships with certain natural phenomena, and the “totems” serve, among other things, to integrate that which is foreign and threatening into the human world. In animalism, special powers are ascribed to animals. All these ideas find expression in, but constitute only one aspect of, Yvonne Roeb’s very contemporary works, in addition to scientific and formal questions. While the cabinets of curiosities of the late Renaissance and the Baroque periods presented objects of various origins and purposes alongside each other – works of art were placed next to scientific specimen – Yvonne Roeb’s sculptures resemble a synthesis of artistic and nature-related studies and are thus, as it were, expressions of a universal culture.

In addition to the sculptures, the exhibition at the Ernst Schering Foundation will also present new drawings by the artist, which must be understood as a reinterpretation of the three-dimensional works at the two-dimensional level. They show the hidden reverse sides of the displayed sculptures. Roeb thus turns around the principle of the drawn sketch as existing prior to the sculpture, challenging the myth of the sketch as the creative source of all artistic production.

Yvonne Roeb’s timeless artifacts tie in with current controversial debates in Human-Animal Studies, a still young interdisciplinary field of research that deals with the complex relationships between humans and animals from a variety of perspectives, including psychology, sociology, cultural studies, and anthropology.

The Ernst Schering Foundation is a partner of the Berlin Art Week 2016. The exhibition will be opened on September 14, 2016, by Dr. Michael Krajewski, curator of the exhibition “Yvonne Roeb, Divine Beast” at the Lehmbruck Museum, Duisburg, and Heike Catherina Mertens, curator of the Ernst Schering Foundation.

The Ernst Schering Foundation is Partner of the Berlin Art Week 2016.

 

Further events:

Lecture by Anselm Franke (in German): October 4, 2016, 6 p.m.
„Über Morphologien: Animalismus und Animismus“ | “On morphologies: Animalism and Animism”
Please register by September 27, 2016 at: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Images:
Yvonne Roeb, portrait, 2016, Photo: Markus Bachmann
Yvonne Roeb: Käfer, 2009, plaster, resin, paint, 19,7" x 13,6" x 8,7", Photo: Markus Bachmann
Yvonne Roeb: Midnight Rider, 2009, tail of a horse, polyester, paint, leather, metal, belt strap, 106,3" x 11,8" x 23,6", Photo: Markus Bachmann

Yvonne Roeb: Mightnight Rider, Photo: Markus Bachmann

News

Hybrid Encounters. Tomás Saraceno and Guests

18.04.2018. Berlin | With Hybrid Encounters, the Hybrid Plattform and the Schering Stiftung have created an...
more

The Unseen Universe (An Introduction to Particle Physics)

26.04.2018, Berlin | For his video work DELPHI Rationale, the artist Philipp Lachenmann filmed at the...
more

Live-Debatte: Arm durch Wohnen? Wie Mieten bezahlbar bleiben

16.05.2018, Berlin/Braunschweig | Die Mieten in Deutschland steigen kontinuierlich: Seit 2010 zahlen Bundesbürger im Durchschnitt 30...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Yvonne Roeb: IM ÜBER ALL

Ausstellungseröffnung:
Mittwoch, 14. September 2016, 18–21 Uhr

Laufzeit: 15.9. – 6.11.2016
Öffnungszeiten: Donnerstag bis Montag, 13–19 Uhr

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34 | 10117 Berlin

Unter dem Titel „IM ÜBER ALL“ stellt die in Berlin und Düsseldorf lebende Künstlerin Yvonne Roeb (*1976) ihre Skulpturen aus naturrealistischen, surrealen und artifiziellen Elementen in den Kontext der Wunderkammer. Die Bildhauerin formt ihre aus der Tier-, Pflanzen- und Mineralienwelt entlehnten Mischwesen aus modernen, ungewöhnlichen Materialien, spannt aber auch einen Bogen zur klassischen Bildhauerei. Ihre inhaltlich stets doppeldeutigen Werke werden in der Schering Stiftung in einer Nischenwand präsentiert, die jedem Objekt einen eigenen Entfaltungsraum gewährt.

Yvonne Roeb, Portrait, 2016, Foto: Markus Bachmann; Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung: September - November 2016

Yvonne Roeb: Kaefer, Foto: Markus Bachmann

Yvonne Roeb betrachtet Gegenstände nicht als bloße Dinge, sondern fragt nach dem beseelten Wesen eines jeden Objektes. Der Glaube an übernatürliche Mächte in einem Gegenstand und deren Verehrung als heilige Objekte wie im Fetischismus sowie die spirituell-religiöse Vorstellung von der Beseeltheit aller Naturerscheinungen wie im Animismus, klingen im Werk von Yvonne Roeb ebenso an wie Aspekte des Totemismus und des Animalismus. So gehen im Totemismus die Menschen eine mythisch-verwandtschaftliche Verbindung zu bestimmten Naturerscheinungen ein und die ‚Totems‘ dienen u. a. dazu, das Fremde und Bedrohliche in die Welt des Menschen zu integrieren. Im Animalismus werden dagegen Tieren besondere Mächte zugeschrieben. All diese Vorstellungen fließen in die Arbeiten von Yvonne Roeb ein, bilden aber neben naturwissenschaftlichen und formalen Fragen nur einen Aspekt ihrer sehr aktuellen Werke. Während die Wunderkammern der Spätrenaissance und des Barock Objekte unterschiedlicher Provenienz und Zweckbestimmung gemeinsam präsentierten – Kunstwerke neben naturwissenschaftlichen Exponaten – gleichen Yvonne Roebs Skulpturen einer Synthese künstlerischer und naturbezogener Studien und sind somit gleichsam Ausdruck einer universellen Kultur.

Neben den Skulpturen werden in der Schering Stiftung neue Zeichnungen der Künstlerin zu sehen sein, die als Reinterpretation des Dreidimensionalen in die zweidimensionale Ebene zu verstehen sind. Sie zeigen die verborgenen Rückseiten der präsentierten Skulpturen. Roeb kehrt damit das Prinzip der zeichnerischen Skizze und der darauf folgenden Skulptur um und hinterfragt so den Mythos der Zeichenstudie als schöpferische Quelle allen künstlerischen Schaffens.

Yvonne Roebs zeitlose Artefakte knüpfen an den aktuell sehr virulenten Diskurs der Human-Animal Studies an. Als noch junges interdisziplinäres Forschungsfeld setzen sich die Human-Animal Studies mit den komplexen Mensch-Tier-Beziehungen u. a. aus psychologischer, soziologischer, kulturwissenschaftlicher und anthropologischer Sicht auseinander.

Die Schering Stiftung ist Partner der Berlin Art Week 2016. Zur Eröffnung der Ausstellung am 14. September 2016 sprechen Dr. Michael Krajewski, Kurator der Ausstellung „Yvonne Roeb, Divine Beast“ im Lehmbruck Museum, Duisburg, und Heike Catherina Mertens, Kuratorin der Schering Stiftung.

Die Schering Stiftung ist Partner der Berlin Art Week 2016.


Begleitprogramm:

Vortrag von Anselm Franke: 4. Oktober 2016, 18 Uhr
„Über Morphologien: Animalismus und Animismus“
Wir bitten um Anmeldung bis zum 27.09.2016 unter: Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.


Abbildungen:
Yvonne Roeb, Portrait, 2016, Foto: Markus Bachmann
Yvonne Roeb: Käfer, 2009, Gips, Harz, Lack, 50 x 34,5 x 22 cm, Foto: Markus Bachmann
Yvonne Roeb: Midnight Rider, 2009, Pferdeschweife, Polyester, Lack, Leder, Metall, Gurtband, 270 x 30 x 60 cm, Foto: Markus Bachmann

Yvonne Roeb: Mightnight Rider, Foto: Markus Bachmann

Aktuelles

KLAS-Workshop „AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC“

17.10.2017, Berlin | Im Rahmen des „Artist-in-Residence“-Programms KLAS laden die Max-Planck-Institute für Kolloid- und Grenzflächenforschung und...
mehr

Verschwindende Vermächtnisse: Die Welt als Wald

11.10.2017, Berlin | Der Wald ist ein Mythos. Besungen und vergoldet von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aller...
mehr

Perspektivisomorphe – ein experimentell-künstlerischer Zugang als Theorieansatz in der Organischen Chemie

04.10.2017, Berlin | In einem neuen Projekt an der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen kommt es zu einer ungewöhnlichen...
mehr