Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

UN/RUHE — FREISPIEL 2016

20.07.2016, Berlin | On August 16 and 17, 2016, at 8 p.m., RADIALSYSTEM V will host the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie with its Biennial format FREISPIEL. Conducted by Sylvain Cambreling, the orchestra will present Rebecca Saunders’ composition Still, which has been choreographed by members of the Sasha Waltz & Guests dance company under the direction of Antonio Ruz. The idea and the arrangement are by Jochen Sandig. The solo part will be played by well-known violinist Carolin Widmann.

Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, Foto: Achim Reissner

In 1852, Richard Wagner wrote to his later father-in-law Franz Liszt: “Children, create something new!” While he referred to the deplorable habit of revising and adapting one’s own works, the statement can easily be applied to Wagner’s whole oeuvre, especially to Tristan und Isolde, this radically new “Handlung [plot] in three acts,” as Wagner himself called his musical drama. The Tristan Prelude opens UN/RUHE – FREISPIEL 2016. The audience at the 1860 premiere sensed the radical nature of the Prelude and rejected the piece. Some two generations later, the Schönberg pupil Alban Berg assembled five symphonic pieces from his work-in-progress, the opera Lulu, into a suite for orchestra and soprano. An exuberant, effusive composition, which cannot deny its roots in Wagner’s late Romantic style but whose construction is genuinely atonal, Berg’s opera tells of the downfall of the vamp Lulu.

Rebecca Saunders’ violin concert Still is situated between these two musical and dramatic heavyweights. The title of the concert also served as inspiration for the title of the current edition of FREISPIEL: UN/RUHE. In English, “still” means both “still, quiet” and “yet, even.” The antagonists, seclusion and persistence, infuse and inform each other. For the 2016 performance, Rebecca Saunders has expanded her work, which premiered at the Beethovenfest Bonn in 2011. She has composed a musical hinge connecting the existing parts, which is the focus of FREISPIEL 2016: Based on this new musical material, the two-hour performance has been completely choreographed, which is why the Ernst Schering Foundation explicitly supports this project. In the dancers of the Sasha Waltz & Guests company, the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie has found brilliant allies committed to innovation and avantgarde. Music and dance depend on each other, neither can (any longer) be thought without the other.

UN/RUHE — FREISPIEL 2016
Featuring Still by Rebecca Saunders, Sylvain Cambreling, Sasha Waltz & Guests, and Carolin Widmann

TUE August 16, 2016, 8 p.m.
WED August 17, 2016, 8 p.m.

RADIALSYSTEM V
Holzmarktstr. 33
10243 Berlin

Information & Tickets


Additional performances:

SUN August 14, 2016 / 8:30 p.m. Darmstadt, Böllenfalltorhalle (concluding event of the International Summer Course for New Music)
FRI August 19, 2016 / 7:30 p.m. Weimar, Weimarhalle (opening event of Kunstfest Weimar)
SAT August 20, 2016 / 7:30 p.m. Weimar, Weimarhalle

DANCE / CHOREOGRAPHY: Sasha Waltz & Guests – Justribo Manion, Maya Gomez, Davide Camplani, Joel Suárez Gómez, Blenard Azizaj, and Jiri Bartovanec

VIOLIN: Carolin Widmann

SOPRANO: Ana Durlovski

CONDUCTOR: Sylvain Cambreling

COMPOSITION / IDEA: Rebecca Saunders

IDEA / ARRANGEMENT: Jochen Sandig

CHOREOGRAPHY: Antonio Ruz

ASSISTANT DIRECTOR: Rosabel Huguet

LIGHTING DESIGN: Jörg Bittner

 

PROGRAM:

Richard Wagner (1813–1883): Tristan und Isolde, Prelude WWV 90 (1860)

Rebecca Saunders (*1967): Still – Choreographed Version (2011/16) for Violin, Orchestra, and Dancers

Alban Berg (1885–1935): Lulu Suite, symphonic pieces from the opera Lulu for soprano and orchestra (1934)

FREISPIEL 2016 is supported by the Kulturstiftung des Bundes (German Federal Cultural Foundation); GVL (Society for the Administration of Neighboring Rights); kulturMut, a crowdfunding initiative of the Aventis Foundation; the Aventis Foundation; the Board of Trustees of the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie; the Ernst Schering Foundation; and the Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain. A project in cooperation with Sasha Waltz & Guests, RADIALSYSTEM V, Kunstfest Weimar, and the International Music Institute Darmstadt.

 

Images:
Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, Photo: Achim Reissner
Rebecca Saunders, Photo: Katrin Schander

 

Rebecca Saunders, Foto: Katrin Schanders

News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Ivana Franke

 

UN/RUHE — FREISPIEL 2016

20.07.2016, Berlin | Am 16. und 17. August 2016, jeweils 20 Uhr, ist im Radialsystem V die Junge Deutsche Philharmonie mit ihrem biennale Format FREISPIEL zu Gast. Unter der Leitung des Dirigenten Sylvain Cambreling wird u. a. die Komposition „Still“ von Rebecca Saunders zu hören sein, für die Tänzerinnen und Tänzer der Compagnie Sasha Waltz & Guests unter der Federführung von Antonio Ruz eine Choreografie entwickelt haben. Für das Konzept und die szenische Umsetzung zeichnet Jochen Sandig verantwortlich. Die bekannte Geigerin Carolin Widmann wird den Solopart übernehmen.

Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, Foto: Achim Reissner

1852 schrieb Richard Wagner an seinen nachmaligen Schwiegervater Franz Liszt: „Kinder, schafft Neues!“ – zunächst bezogen auf das Unwesen, eigene Werke zu bearbeiten, aber zwanglos auf Wagners Gesamtwerk übertragbar, und hier ganz besonders auf Tristan und Isolde, diese radikal-neue „Handlung in drei Aufzügen“, wie Wagner sein Musikdrama selbst bezeichnete. Mit dem Tristan-Vorspiel beginnt UN/RUHE – FREISPIEL 2016. Das Publikum der Uraufführung des Vorspiels 1860 spürte die Radikalität und lehnte das Stück ab. Gut zwei Generationen nach Tristan vereinigte der Schönberg-Schüler Alban Berg fünf sinfonische Stücke aus seiner gerade in Entstehung befindlichen Oper Lulu zu einer Suite für Orchester und Koloratur-Sopran. In einem überschwänglichen Klanggewand, das sein Herkommen von Wagners Spätromantik nicht leugnen kann und dessen Konstruktion doch genuin atonal ist, zeigt Berg in seiner Oper den Untergang des Vamps Lulu.

Zwischen diesen beiden musikalisch-dramatischen Schwergewichten steht Rebecca Saunders’ Violinkonzert Still. Vom Titel des Konzerts leitet sich auch der Titel UN/RUHE für die aktuelle Ausgabe von FREISPIEL her: „Still“ im Englischen bedeutet zum einen „still, ruhig“, zum anderen aber auch „immer wieder, immer noch“: Die Antagonisten Abgeschlossenheit und Persistenz durchdringen sich. Für die Aufführung 2016 hat Rebecca Saunders ihr Werk, das 2011 beim Beethovenfest Bonn uraufgeführt wurde, erweitert. Sie hat ein musikalisches Scharnier zwischen den vorhandenen Teilen komponiert, das zum Brennpunkt von FREISPIEL 2016 wird: Ausgehend von diesem neuen musikalischen Material wird der knapp zweistündige Abend choreographisch durchwoben, weshalb die Schering Stiftung das Projekt explizit unterstützt. In den Tänzerinnen und Tänzern der Compagnie von Sasha Waltz & Guests hat die Junge Deutsche Philharmonie kongeniale Mitstreiter gefunden, die sich Innovation und Avantgarde auf die Fahnen geschrieben haben. Dabei bedingen Musik und Tanz einander, sind ohne das jeweils andere nicht (mehr) denkbar.

UN/RUHE — FREISPIEL 2016
Mit Still von Rebecca Saunders, Sylvain Cambreling, Sasha Waltz & Guests und Carolin Widmann

DI 16. August 2016, 20.00 Uhr
MI 17. August 2016, 20.00 Uhr

RADIALSYSTEM V
Holzmarktstr. 33
10243 Berlin

Weitere Informationen und Tickets finden Sie hier.

Weitere Aufführungen:

SO 14.08.16 / 20.30 Darmstadt, Böllenfalltorhalle (Abschluss Internationale Ferienkurse für Neue Musik)
FR 19.08.16 / 19.30 Weimar, Weimarhalle (Eröffnung Kunstfest Weimar)
SA 20.08.16 / 19.30 Weimar, Weimarhalle

TANZ / CHOREOGRAPHIE: Sasha Waltz & Guests – Justribo Manion, Maya Gomez, Davide Camplani, Joel Suárez Gómez, Blenard Azizaj und Jiri Bartovanec

VIOLINE: Carolin Widmann

SOPRAN: Ana Durlovski

DIRIGENT: Sylvain Cambreling

KOMPOSITION / KONZEPT: Rebecca Saunders

KONZEPT / SZENISCHE EINRICHTUNG: Jochen Sandig

CHOREOGRAPHIE: Antonio Ruz

REGIE-ASSISTENZ: Rosabel Huguet

LICHT: Jörg Bittner

 

PROGRAMM:

Richard Wagner (1813 – 1883): Tristan und Isolde, Vorspiel WWV 90 (1860)

Rebecca Saunders (*1967): Still - choreographische Version (2011/16) für Violine, Orchester und Tänzer

Alban Berg (1885 – 1935): Lulu-Suite, sinfonische Stücke aus der Oper Lulu für Koloratursopran und Orchester (1934)

FREISPIEL 2016 wird gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes, die GVL (Gesellschaft zur Verwertung von Leistungsschutzrechten, kulturMut, eine Crowdfunding-Initiative der Aventis Foundation, die Aventis Foundation, das Kuratorium der Jungen Deutschen Philharmonie, die Schering Stiftung und den Kulturfonds Frankfurt Rhein-Main. Ein Projekt in Kooperation mit Sasha Waltz & Guests, RADIALSYSTEM V, Kunstfest Weimar und dem Internationalen Musikinstitut Darmstadt.

 

Abbildungen:
Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, Foto: Achim Reissner
Rebecca Saunders, Foto: Katrin Schander

Rebecca Saunders, Foto: Katrin Schanders

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni...
mehr