Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Pneumonia – A Common Disease

01.09.2016, Berlin | Community-acquired pneumonia (CAP) is one of the most common diseases and in the same league as heart attacks or strokes. In Germany, more than 240,000 patients are hospitalized every year because of CAP, 12 percent of which die. Every year, over seven times more people die from CAP than from traffic accidents. Globally, CAP is the cause of death for more children until the age of six than malaria, HIV, and measles combined. This topic is the focus of a public Science & Society Session “Community-Acquired Pneumonia,” which takes place at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) on September 16, 2016.

 3D-Spektral Imaging von lebenden menschlichen Lungenalveolen (© Andreas Hocke)

Moderated by Prof. Dr. med. Detlev Ganten, Chair of the Board of the Stiftung Charité and Founding President of the World Health Summit, the lectures and discussions will focus on the epidemiological, demographic, sociological, and ethical aspects of the disease and on therapeutic approaches worldwide. The speakers will also present and discuss new prophylactic strategies such as administering new vaccines or blocking pathogen entry through nanoparticles.

The Science & Society Session is supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation and takes place on the occasion of the 2nd International Conference of SFB-TR84 and the Leopoldina on “Innate Immunity of the Lung – Improving Pneumonia Outcome” (BBAW, September 15–17, 2016).

Science & Society Session on “Community-Acquired Pneumonia”

September 16, 2016, 11 a.m. – 1 p.m.

Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities
Leibniz Hall
Markgrafenstrasse 38 | 10117 Berlin

Guests: Antoni Torres, Thomas Zoller, Peter H. Seeberger, Rainer Haag
Moderator: Detlev Ganten

The session will be in English. | Admission is free. | Registration is not required.

More information at http://www.sfb-tr84.de/conference/

 

Picture: 3D-Spektral Imaging of living human lungs alveoli (© Andreas Hocke)

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Volkskrankheit Lungenentzündung

01.09.2016, Berlin | Die ambulant erworbene Lungenentzündung (Community-Acquired Pneumonia – CAP) ist eine Volkskrankheit, die in der gleichen Liga wie Herzinfarkt und Schlaganfall spielt. In Deutschland müssen jährlich 240.000 Patienten wegen einer CAP ins Krankenhaus, wovon 12 % versterben. Damit kommen jährlich sieben Mal mehr Menschen durch CAP zu Tode als durch einen Verkehrsunfall. Weltweit betrachtet versterben mehr Kinder bis zum Ende des fünften Lebensjahres an CAP als an Malaria, HIV und Masern zusammen. Diesem Thema widmet sich am 16. September 2016 in der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften die öffentliche Science & Society Session „Community-Acquired Pneumonia“.

3D-Spektral Imaging von lebenden menschlichen Lungenalveolen (© Andreas Hocke)

Vorgetragen und diskutiert werden unter der Moderation des Vorsitzenden des Stiftungsrats der Stiftung Charité und Präsidenten des World Health Summits, Prof. Dr. med. Detlev Ganten, epidemiologisch-demografische, soziologische und ethische Aspekte der Krankheit und therapeutische Ansätze weltweit. Es werden neue Strategien der Prophylaxe durch neue Impfstoffe und Aufnahmeblockade von Pathogenen durch Nanopartikel aufgezeigt und diskutiert.

Die Science & Society Session wird von der Schering Stiftung gefördert und findet anlässlich der 2. Internationalen Konferenz des SFB-TR84 und der Leopoldina „Innate immunity of the lung - Improving pneumonia outcome“ (15.-17. September 2016, BBAW) statt.

Science & Society Session “Community-Acquired Pneumonia”

16. September 2016, 11 bis 13 Uhr

Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften
Leibniz-Saal
Markgrafenstraße 38 | 10117 Berlin

Gäste: Antoni Torres, Thomas Zoller, Peter H. Seeberger, Rainer Haag
Moderation: Detlev Ganten

Auf Englisch | Eintritt frei | Anmeldung nicht erforderlich

Weitere Informationen unter http://www.sfb-tr84.de/conference/

 

Abbildung: 3D-Spektral Imaging von lebenden menschlichen Lungenalveolen (© Andreas Hocke)