Philipp Lachenmann: DELPHI Rationale

 

Vaccination: Global Consequences of Individual Decisions

01.09.2016, Berlin | On September 16, 2016, the Integrative Research Institute for the Life Sciences (IRI) at Berlin’s Humboldt University presents a lecture on vaccinations by Prof. Dr. Lothar H. Wieler, director of the Robert Koch Institute in Berlin, and PD Dr. Cornelia Betsch from the University of Erfurt. The speakers will look at the willingness to get vaccinated and the global consequences of individual vaccination decisions.

(c) Dirk Brockmann, RKI

Speakers & Topics

Prof. Dr. Lothar H. Wieler will talk about vaccination rates in Germany and the key mechanisms of vaccinations as well as about the refusal of vaccination and the emergence of infectious diseases that are vaccine-preventable. The cases of vaccination against HPV and  Measles in Germany will be discussed in more detail and some of the current challenges will be outlined.

Dr. Cornelia Betsch will look at the topic from a psychological perspective by explaining that understanding the determinants of individual vaccination decisions is crucial in order to establish
effective strategies to support the success of country-specific public health policies.

The lectures will be followed by a workshop with the speakers. Natural scientists, psychologists and sociologists are invited to participate in a debate on vaccination. The aim is to gain a better and deeper understanding of the research in the various disciplines and identify areas of cooperation. If you are interested in participating in the workshop, please contact Dr. Stefanie Scharf | Scientific Coordinator at the IRI | This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it | www.iri-lifesciences.de

Vaccination: Global Consequences of Individual Decisions

with Prof. Dr. Lothar H. Wieler and PD Dr. Cornelia Betsch

September 16, 2016, 3 p.m.

Integrative Research Institute for the Life Sciences
Michaelis Building (Building 18) | Maud Menten Hall (3rd Floor)
Philippstr. 13 | 10115 Berlin

The lectures will be in English.

The event is part of a lecture series called “Interdisciplinary Dialogue” at the IRI. Supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation, the public lectures by internationally renowned visiting scientists provide young scientists from a variety of disciplines and institutions with an opportunity to engage in an interdisciplinary conversation in order to explore commonalities and differences and develop collaborative and innovative research approaches.

Picture: (c) Dirk Brockmann, RKI


News

The Unseen Universe (An Introduction to Particle Physics)

26.04.2018, Berlin | For his video work DELPHI Rationale, the artist Philipp Lachenmann filmed at the...
more

Live-Debatte: Arm durch Wohnen? Wie Mieten bezahlbar bleiben

16.05.2018, Berlin/Braunschweig | Die Mieten in Deutschland steigen kontinuierlich: Seit 2010 zahlen Bundesbürger im Durchschnitt 30...
more

DOME – Our Relationship with the Cosmos

25.04.2018, Berlin | The interdisciplinary art project DOME invites you to engage with “cosmic realities” at...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Schutzimpfungen: Globale Konsequenzen individueller Entscheidungen

01.09.2016, Berlin | Am 16. September 2016 lädt das Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften (IRI) der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin zu einer Vortragsveranstaltung über Schutzimpfungen mit Prof. Dr. Lothar H. Wieler, Direktor des Robert Koch-Instituts in Berlin, und PD Dr. Cornelia Betsch von der Universität Erfurt. Die Referenten beschäftigen sich mit der Bereitschaft der Menschen, Schutzimpfungen in Anspruch zu nehmen und den globalen Konsequenzen individueller Impfentscheidungen.

(c) Dirk Brockmann, RKI

Sprecher & Themen

Prof. Dr. Lothar H. Wieler spricht in seinem Vortrag über Impfquoten in Deutschland, die Wirkungsmechanismen von Impfungen sowie über Impfmüdigkeit und das Auftreten ansteckender, aber vermeidbarer Krankheiten. Im speziellen geht er auf Impfungen gegen das HPV-Virus und Masern in Deutschland sowie damit verbundene aktuelle Herausforderungen ein.

Dr. Cornelia Betsch beschäftigt sich mit dem Thema aus psychologischer Sicht und erläutert individuelle Beweggründe, warum sich Menschen für oder gegen eine Impfung entscheiden. Die Kenntnis der Gründe ist essenziell für die Entwicklung effektiver Strategien zur Erreichung gesundheitspolitischer Ziele.

Nach den Vorträgen folgt ein Workshop für eine Gruppe von Wissenschaftlern zum intensiven Austausch mit den Referenten. Neben Naturwissenschaftlern sind Psychologen und Soziologen herzlich einladen, sich an der Debatte um Schutzimpfungen zu beteiligen. Ziel ist es, ein besseres und vertieftes Verständnis der Forschungsgegenstände der einzelnen Fachrichtungen entstehen zu lassen und Bereiche der Kooperation zu identifizieren. Interessierte können sich bei Dr. Stefanie Scharf anmelden ( Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. | www.iri-lifesciences.de).

Vaccination: Global Consequences of Individual Decisions

mit Prof. Dr. Lothar H. Wieler und PD Dr. Cornelia Betsch

16. September 2016, um 15 Uhr

Integratives Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften
Michaelis Gebäude 18 | Maud Menten Saal (3. Etage)
Philippstr. 13 | 10115 Berlin

Die Veranstaltung findet in englischer Sprache statt.

Die Vorträge gehören zu der Veranstaltungsreihe „Interdisziplinärer Dialog“ am IRI. Die von der Schering Stiftung geförderten Reihe ermöglicht Nachwuchswissenschaftlern aus unterschiedlichen Fachrichtungen und Institutionen das interdisziplinäre Gespräch zu bestimmten Themenfeldern, um Gemeinsamkeiten und Kontroversen zu eruieren und Ansätze für gemeinsame, innovative Forschungsansätze zu entwickeln.

 

Abb. (c) Dirk Brockmann, RKI

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen, die herausragende Arbeiten...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Die Selbstdarstellung ist so alt wie die Menschheitsgeschichte. Und doch scheint sie in...
mehr