Philipp Lachenmann: DELPHI Rationale

 

European Students’ Conference 2016

01.09.2016, Berlin | “Facing Antimicrobial Resistance – Research Revolution Wanted” is the title of the 27th European Students’ Conference, which takes place on September 23–26, 2016, at the Virchow Clinic of the Charité Berlin. Focusing on antimicrobial resistances, which are rapidly increasing worldwide, the ESC takes a closer look at the causes and consequences of the declining efficacy of antibiotic therapies. In the late 1960s, the war against infectious diseases was seen as largely won, but recent years have shown that this chapter is far from closed.

European Students' Conference

The British Review on Antimicrobial Resistance calculated that, without new medication, antimicrobial resistances could cause 10 million deaths a year as well as 100 trillion USD of lost economic output by 2050. At the World Health Summit on October 19, 2014, the German Minister of Health Hermann Gröhe also clearly stated that “fighting antimicrobial resistance is a major priority for German health policy.”

More than 400 students and young scientists from all over the world are expected to participate in the ESC’s expert lectures by renowned scientists, in medical workshops, in a newly launched Matchmaking program and in an extensive social program. In addition, the conference offers young scientists from all biomedical disciplines an opportunity to present their research findings to an expert jury and an international audience and to publish their work as part of a competition at the conference.

European Students’ Conference 2016

September 28 until October 1, 2016

Campus Virchow Clinic of the Charité Berlin
Forum 3
Augustenburger Platz 1 | 13353 Berlin

Registration until the end of September at: http://esc-berlin.com/register/

More information at: www.esc-berlin.com.

The European Students’ Conference (ESC) was established in 1989 to facilitate and promote the scientific exchange between young scientists in Western and Eastern Europe. Held annually at the Charité for 26 years, the ESC has developed into one of the largest student-organized biomedical conferences worldwide.

The Ernst Schering Foundation supports the conference, because it makes an important contribution to the promotion and international networking of excellent young scientists.


News

Hybrid Encounters. Tomás Saraceno and Guests

18.04.2018. Berlin | With Hybrid Encounters, the Hybrid Plattform and the Schering Stiftung have created an...
more

The Unseen Universe (An Introduction to Particle Physics)

26.04.2018, Berlin | For his video work DELPHI Rationale, the artist Philipp Lachenmann filmed at the...
more

Live-Debatte: Arm durch Wohnen? Wie Mieten bezahlbar bleiben

16.05.2018, Berlin/Braunschweig | Die Mieten in Deutschland steigen kontinuierlich: Seit 2010 zahlen Bundesbürger im Durchschnitt 30...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

European Students‘ Conference 2016

01.09.2016, Berlin |Facing Antimicrobial Resistance – Research Revolution Wanted“ – so lautet das Thema der 27. European Students Conference (ESC) vom 28. September bis 1. Oktober 2016 im Virchow-Klinikum der Charité Berlin. Die ESC greift die Thematik der weltweit rasant wachsenden antimikrobiellen Resistenzen auf und wirft einen genauen Blick auf die Ursachen und Folgen der abnehmenden Wirksamkeit antibiotischer Therapien. Während Ende der 1960er Jahre der Krieg gegen Infektionskrankheiten weitgehend als gewonnen galt, hat sich in den letzten Jahren herausgestellt, dass dieses Kapitel noch keineswegs abgeschlossen ist.

European Students' Conference

Die britische Review on Antimicrobial Resistance errechnete, dass ohne neue Arzneimittel antimikrobielle Resistenzen bis zum Jahr 2050 Ursache von 10 Millionen Todesfällen jährlich in der Patientenversorgung sowie von 100 Billionen US-Dollar unverwirklichten Bruttosozialprodukts sein werden. Ebenso sprach sich der Bundesgesundheitsminister Hermann Gröhe auf dem World Health Summit am 19. Oktober 2014 klar dafür aus, dass „die Bekämpfung von Antibiotikaresistenzen von höchster Priorität für die Gesundheitspolitik in Deutschland“ ist.

Über 400 Studenten und junge Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt werden erwartet und nehmen im Rahmen der ESC an Fachvorträgen renommierter Wissenschaftler, an medizinischen Workshops sowie an einem umfangreichen Begleitprogramm teil. Im Mittelpunkt 27. ESC wird jedoch wieder der wissenschaftliche Wettbewerb stehen, in welchem die jungen Wissenschaftler ihre Forschungsergebnisse aus verschiedensten Fachrichtungen einer Fachjury vorstellen und so zum Ideenaustausch und Netzwerken anregen.

European Students’ Conference 2016

28. September bis 1. Oktober 2016

Campus Virchow-Klinikum der Charité Berlin
Forum 3
Augustenburger Platz 1 | 13353 Berlin

Anmeldung bis Ende September unter: http://esc-berlin.com/register/

Weitere Informationen unter www.esc-berlin.com.


Die European Students’ Conference (ESC) wurde 1989 an der Charité gegründet mit dem Ziel, den wissenschaftlichen Austausch junger Forscher in West- und Osteuropa zu fördern. Seit 27 Jahren findet die ESC jährlich an der Charité statt und hat sich zu einer der größten studentisch organisierten biomedizinischen Konferenzen weltweit entwickelt.

Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt die Konferenz als wichtigen Beitrag zur Förderung und internationalen Vernetzung von exzellenten Nachwuchswissenschaftlern.

Aktuelles

Wie frei sind wir wirklich?

17.02.2017, Berlin | Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet...
mehr

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2017

16.02.2017, Berlin | Brauchen wir Spielplätze für unsere Nutztiere? Wie werden 7 Milliarden Menschen satt? Und...
mehr

In Spandau startet die Al-Farabi Musikakademie

02.01.2017, Berlin | Eine sorgenfreie und unbeschwerte Jugend ist nicht für alle Kinder eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach...
mehr