Ivana Franke

 

Ernst Schering Prize 2016

Proteins perform a variety of essential tasks in all cells of our body. In order to fulfill their biological functions, these chain-like molecules must fold into specific three-dimensional patterns. This process was originally thought to occur spontaneously. However, work by Prof. Dr. Franz-Ulrich Hartl, director of the Cellular Biochemistry Department at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried, showed that in our cells protein folding is mediated by helper molecules. These helper molecules are called chaperones, since these molecules make sure that proteins behave, i.e. fold, correctly. Incorrectly folded proteins tend to clump together to aggregates, which disturb cell functions in various ways and can cause neurodegenerative pathologies, such as Alzheimer’s dementia, Parkinson’s and Huntington’s disease. The insight that age-related diseases are caused by incorrectly folded proteins offers opportunities for novel therapeutic approaches. Prof. Hartl’s current research particularly focuses on these therapeutic approaches.

For his outstanding research on the role of chaperones in protein folding in living cells, the Ernst Schering Foundation presents Prof. Dr. Franz-Ulrich Hartl with the Ernst Schering Prize 2016. The festive award ceremony will take place on September 26, 2016, in Berlin.

Professor Hartl was nominated for the Ernst Schering Prize 2016 by Prof. Dr. Helmut Sies (Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf), Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Baumeister (Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried), and Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Pfanner (University of Freiburg). Professor Sies, who will give the presentation speech at the award ceremony, says about Hartl’s work: “Franz-Ulrich Hartl’s outstanding research deserves the highest recognition. It combines fundamental new insights into the homeostasis of correctly folded proteins with new perspectives on the development and progression of neurodegenerative diseases, which may lead to innovative therapeutic approaches.”

Award Ceremony

September 26, 2016, 6:30 p.m.
Meistersaal at Potsdamer Platz
Köthener Straße 38 | 10963 Berlin

Registration until September 15, 2016, at: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

The prize will be awarded together with the 2016 Friedmund Neumann Prize of the Ernst Schering Foundation.

Lectures by the Award Winner

September 23, 2016 (not open to the public)
Lecture at Schulfarm Insel Scharfenberg, Berlin-Tegel

September 23, 2016, 2 p.m.
Public Scientific Lecture with Prof. Dr. Franz-Ulrich Hartl
Molecular Chaperones: Their Role in Protein Folding and Neurodegenerative Disease
Freie Universität Berlin
Lecture Hall Inorganic Chemistry (H101)
Fabeckstr. 34-36 | 14195 Berlin

The lecture is aimed at scientists and students and will be in English. Registration is not required.

2016_Hartl

 

pdf CV von Prof. Hartl

pdf Press_release

 

 

Film-Icon_Cartoon

  Video about the Award Winner

News

Call for Applications: Avrion Mitchison Prize of the Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017 | The German Rheumatism Research Center (DRFZ) again awards the Avrion Mitchison Prize of the...
more

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

23.05.2017, Berlin | On June 27, 2017, the Ernst Schering Foundation organizes in cooperation with SAVVY...
more

Long Night of the Sciences at the Ernst Schering Foundation

23.05.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation participates for the first time when more than 70...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Ernst Schering Preis 2016

Proteine übernehmen vielfältige essenzielle Aufgaben in allen Zellen unseres Körpers. Doch um ihre biologische Funktion ausüben zu können, müssen sich die kettenartigen Moleküle erst zu komplexen, dreidimensionalen Strukturen falten. Zunächst wurde angenommen, dass dieser Prozess spontan abläuft. Erst die Arbeiten von Prof. Dr. Franz-Ulrich Hartl, Direktor der Abteilung Zelluläre Biochemie am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried, machten klar, dass die Proteinfaltung in der Zelle durch Helfermoleküle vermittelt wird. Diese Helfermoleküle werden Chaperone genannt. Der Name ist abgeleitet aus dem französischen Wort für „Anstandsdame“, denn diese Moleküle sorgen dafür, dass sich Proteine richtig verhalten, also richtig falten. Falsch gefaltete Proteine können sich zu Klumpen zusammenlagern, die für die Zelle und den Organismus gefährlich werden. Bei verschiedenen neurodegenerativen Krankheiten wie Alzheimerdemenz und Chorea Huntington sammeln sich solche Aggregate an. Die Erkenntnis, dass altersbedingten Krankheiten eine falsche Proteinfaltung zu Grunde liegt, bietet die Chance auf neuartige Therapieansätze. In seiner aktuellen Forschung widmet sich Professor Hartl im besonderen Maße diesen Therapieansätzen.

Für seine herausragenden Forschungsarbeiten zur Rolle der Chaperone bei der Proteinfaltung in der lebenden Zelle zeichnet die Schering Stiftung Prof. Dr. Franz-Ulrich Hartl mit dem Ernst Schering Preis 2016 aus. Die festliche Preisverleihung findet am 26. September 2016 in Berlin statt.

Professor Hartl wurde für den Ernst Schering Preis 2016 von Prof. Dr. Helmut Sies (Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf), Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Baumeister (MPI für Biochemie in Martinsried) und Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Pfanner (Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg) nominiert. Professor Sies, der auf der Preisverleihung die Laudatio halten wird, sagt über Hartls Arbeit: „Franz-Ulrich Hartls herausragende Forschungsleistung verdient höchste Anerkennung. Sie verbindet grundlegende neue Erkenntnisse über die Homöostase korrekt gefalteter Proteine mit neuen Perspektiven zu Entstehung und Verlauf neurodegenerativer Erkrankungen, die zu innovativen Therapieansätzen führen können.“

Preisverleihung

26. September 2016, 18:30 Uhr
Meistersaal am Potsdamer Platz
Köthener Straße 38 | 10963 Berlin

Anmeldung bis 15.09.2016 unter: Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.

Der Preis wird zusammen mit dem Friedmund Neumann Preis 2016 der Schering Stiftung verliehen.

Vorträge des Preisträgers

23. September 2016, vormittags (nicht öffentlich)
Schülervortrag auf der Schulfarm Insel Scharfenberg, Berlin-Tegel

23. September 2016, 14 Uhr
Öffentliche Vorlesung mit Prof. Dr. Franz-Ulrich Hartl
Molecular Chaperones: Their Role in Protein Folding and Neurodegenerative Disease
Freie Universität Berlin | Vorlesungssaal Anorganische Chemie (H101) | Fabeckstr. 34-36 | 14195 Berlin

Die Vorlesung richtet sich an Wissenschaftler und Studenten und findet auf Englisch statt. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.


2016_Hartl

 

pdf CV von Prof. Hartl

pdf Presseinformation

 

Film-Icon_Cartoon

Preisträgerfilm

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni...
mehr