Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Friedmund Neumann Prize 2016

Prof. Dr. Barbara Treutlein

Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig

for her outstanding work on single cell transcriptomics analysis

2016_Treutlein

During human development, stem cells differentiate into many different cell types that build and determine the function of complex organs. Previous studies have provided only limited insights into the genetic programs that control organ development. By adapting the methodology of single cell transcriptomics analysis, junior scientist Prof. Dr. Barbara Treutlein from the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig for the first time made it possible to perform genome-wide measurements of genetic expression in unprecedented resolution on the single cell level. In her research, she applies this method to understand the genetic foundations of organogenesis, i.e. the process by which cells differentiate into organs, and to make possible their in-vitro recreation under controlled conditions. In her lab, Dr. Treutlein grows hepatic and cerebral organoids and compares them with real organ tissue.

For her outstanding work on single cell transcriptomics analysis, the Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize 2016 to Prof. Dr. Barbara Treutlein. The festive award ceremony will take place on September 26, 2016, in Berlin.

Barbara Treutlein was nominated for the Friedmund Neumann Prize 2016 by Prof. Dr. Svante Pääbo, director of the Department of Evolutionary Genetics at the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology: “Barbara Treutlein uses new techniques in a brilliant and creative way to find answers to fundamental questions of developmental and neuro-biology. Thanks to her, we have gained several new insights into how a fertilized egg cell develops into an individual with functioning tissues and a brain.”

Award Ceremony

September 26, 2016, 6:30 p.m.
Meistersaal at Potsdamer Platz
Köthener Straße 38 | 10963 Berlin

Registration until September 15, 2016, at: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

The prize will be awarded together with the 2016 Ernst Schering Prize of the Ernst Schering Foundation.

On the occasion of the award presentation, Prof. Dr. Barbara Treutlein will present and discuss her research with students of the Lise Meitner School in Berlin on September 27.

pdf CV of Barbara Treutlein

pdf Press release

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Friedmund Neumann Preis 2016

Prof. Dr. Barbara Treutlein

Max-Planck-Institut für Evolutionäre Anthropologie in Leipzig

für ihre herausragenden Arbeiten zur Einzelzell-Transkriptom-Analyse

2016_Treutlein

Während der menschlichen Entwicklung differenzieren sich Stammzellen in die unterschiedlichsten Zelltypen, die dann komplexe Organe aufbauen und deren Funktionen bestimmen. Bisherige Studien konnten nur bedingt die genetischen Prozesse beleuchten, die dieser Entwicklung zu menschlichen Organen zugrunde liegen. Die Nachwuchswissenschaftlerin Prof. Dr. Barbara Treutlein vom Max-Planck-Institut für Evolutionäre Anthropologie in Leipzig hat die Methode der Einzelzell-Transkriptom-Analyse adaptiert, und so erstmals eine genomweite Messung der Genabschrift in beispiellos hoher Auflösung ermöglicht. In ihrer Forschung findet diese Technik Anwendung, um die genetischen Grundlagen der Differenzierung von Zellen zu Organen – der sog. Organogenese – zu verstehen und unter kontrollierten Bedingungen in der Zellkultur nachzuahmen. So züchtet Dr. Treutlein in ihrem Labor Organoide, also organähnliche Strukturen, von Leber und Gehirn und vergleicht diese mit echtem Organgewebe.

Für ihre herausragenden Arbeiten zur Einzelzell-Transkriptom-Analyse zeichnet die Schering Stiftung Prof. Dr. Barbara Treutlein mit dem Friedmund Neumann Preis 2016 aus. Die festliche Preisverleihung findet am 26. September 2016 in Berlin statt.

Barbara Treutlein wurde für den Friedmund Neumann Preis 2016 von Prof. Dr. Svante Pääbo, Direktor der Abteilung Evolutionäre Genetik am Max-Planck-Institut für Evolutionäre Anthropologie, vorgeschlagen: „Barbara Treutlein verwendet auf brillante und kreative Weise neue Techniken, um fundamentale Fragen in der Entwicklungs- und Neurobiologie zu beantworten. Wir verdanken ihr mehrere neue Erkenntnisse darüber, wie aus einer befruchteten Eizelle ein Individuum mit funktionierenden Geweben und einem Gehirn entstehen kann.“

Preisverleihung

26. September 2016, 18:30 Uhr
Meistersaal am Potsdamer Platz
Köthener Straße 38 | 10963 Berlin

Anmeldung bis 15.09.2016 unter: Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.

Der Preis wird zusammen mit dem Ernst Schering Preis 2016 der Schering Stiftung verliehen.

Anlässlich der Auszeichnung wird Dr. Barbara Treutlein am 27.09. einen Vortrag vor Schülern der Lise-Meitner-Schule in Berlin halten und mit ihnen über ihre Forschungsarbeit sprechen.

pdf CV von Barbara Treutlein

pdf Presseinformation