Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

SCORES: Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers, Jorinde Voigt

20.09.2016, Berlin | The exhibition and concert project SCORES in the series “Works of Music by Visual Artists,” which opens at Hamburger Bahnhof on October 27, 2016, at 7 p.m., is devoted to the subject of the musical score, which since the 1960s has been understood as a varied and versatile recording medium going well beyond traditional notation. The contributions by Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers, and Jorinde Voigt use different media – text and object, video and comic, drawing and concept – to make this subject the focus of an exhibition accompanied by concerts. Since 2005, the Ernst Schering Foundation has repeatedly supported the series “Works of Music by Visual Artists,” which was initiated by the association Verein Freunde Guter Musik Berlin and has supported such important artists as Carsten Nicolai (2005), Ryoji Ikeda (2012), and Susan Philipsz (2014).

Scores at Hamburger Bahnhof, supported by Ernst Schering Foundation, image: Jorinde Voigt

Despite their differing approaches, all the selected artists are interested in the transformation of one medium into another, a process that is accomplished in close collaboration with the participating musicians. The scores are presented as drawings, objects, lyrics, graphic-photographic-film notation, and as concepts that generate musical events and performances. Almost all of the works presented on a grand scale in the Rieckhallen of the Hamburger Bahnhof have been recently created on commission; they will be performed, piece by piece, in the spaces in which they are exhibited.

Vice de forme: Das Kabarett, a work developed by Saâdane Afif together with the composer Augustin Maurs, will be presented in both an opening event and a concert on the last day of the exhibition. A Yamaha player piano will play First Notes, recorded at the opening, during the exhibition.

Christian Marclay’s new comic book To Be Continued will be performed by ensemBle baBel. Also on view by the artist are a video film collage and a slideshow which serve as musical scores for the ensemble and the performer Shelley Hirsch and Elliott Sharp. All of these works are being presented for the first time in Berlin.

The first four chapters of Song of the Earth, a projected eight-part cycle of drawings currently being created by Jorinde Voigt, will be on view and partly performed by Ensemble zeitkratzer. Audio recordings from the concerts devoted respectively to the works of Marclay and Voigt will afterward play in their areas of the exhibition.

Ari Benjamin Meyers has developed a series of “Meta-Scores,” inspired by Sol LeWitt’s Instruction Pieces; each day, they will be newly translated and performed by the composer Wojtek Blecharz and the flautist Susanne Fröhlich. On the exhibition’s last day, all the interpretations created and rehearsed during the exhibition will be performed once more, now by heart.

SCORES: Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers, Jorinde Voigt

Opening: October 27, 2016, 7 p.m.

Concerts:
On the occasion of the opening: October 27, 2016, 8 p.m.: Vice de forme (First Notes), with Augustin Maurs (piano)
October 28 and 30, 2016, 8 p.m.
November 13, 2016, 6:30 and 8 p.m.
Get tickets for concerts from: www.reservix.de

Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin
Invalidenstr. 50/51, 10557 Berlin

Exhibition Dates: October 28 – November 13, 2016
Tue, Wed, Fri 10 a.m. – 6 p.m., Thu 10 a.m. – 8 p.m., Sat + Sun 11 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Curators:
Ingrid Buschmann / Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V.
Gabriele Knapstein / Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin

Further information:
http://www.freunde-guter-musik-berlin.de/
www.smb.museum/hbf

A project by Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V. in cooperation with Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin. With support from Elektronisches Studio der TU Berlin – Fachgebiet Audiokommunikation. Made possible by funding from Hauptstadtkulturfonds and Ernst Schering Foundation.

 

Images:
Jorinde Voigt, Berlin 2016: Partitur Radical Relaxation (I) bis (VII) Stress + Freiheit (Rousseau), P. Sloterdijk, je 41,5 x 29,5 cm (7-teilig, Teil 1), Tinte und Tusche auf Ditone-Print, Nummeriert Kollaboration von Jorinde Voigt und zeitkratzer Original beschrifteter Druck für die
Aufnahme am 19. Juni 2016, UdK Berlin 1 von 10 Partitursätzen
Christian Marclay: Screen Play, 2005 Single channel video projection, black and white with color,
silent, 29 min. Courtesy the artist and Paula Cooper Gallery, New York
Saâdane Afif: Vice de forme, 2009 White Carrara marble Sphere Ø 14 cm, Cylinder Ø 7 x 31,5
cm, Cube 10,5 x 10,5 x 10,5 cm First presentation in Variété, Galerie Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin,
2009 Courtesy of the artist and Mehdi Chouakri Foto: Afif Office

Scores at Hamburger Bahnhof, supported by Ernst Schering Foundation, image: Christian Marclay

Scores at Hamburger Bahnhof, supported by Ernst Schering Foundation, image: Saâdane Afif

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

SCORES: Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers, Jorinde Voigt

20.09.2016, Berlin | Das Ausstellungs- und Konzertprojekt SCORES in der Reihe „Musikwerke Bildender Künstler“, das am 27. Oktober 2016, 19 Uhr, im Hamburger Bahnhof eröffnet wird, widmet sich dem Thema der musikalischen Partitur, die seit den 1960er Jahren über die traditionelle Notation hinaus als vielfältiges Aufzeichnungsmedium verstanden wird. Die Beiträge von Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers und Jorinde Voigt rücken die Thematik in verschiedenen Medien – Text und Objekt, Video und Comic, Zeichnung und Konzept – in den Fokus einer Ausstellung, die von Konzerten begleitet wird. Bereits seit 2005 hat die Schering Stiftung wiederholt die Reihe „Musikwerke Bildender Künstler“ unterstützt, die vom Verein Freunde Guter Musik Berlin ins Leben gerufen wurde, und damit so bedeutende Künstler gefördert wie Carsten Nicolai (2005), Ryoji Ikeda (2012) und Susan Philipsz (2014).

Scores im Hamburger Bahnhof, gefördert von der Schering Stiftung, Abb: Jorinde Voigt

Trotz unterschiedlicher Ansätze interessieren sich alle ausgewählten Künstler/innen für die Transformation eines Mediums in ein anderes, einen Prozess, der sich in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den beteiligten Musiker/innen vollzieht. Bei den vorgestellten Partituren handelt es sich um Zeichnungen, Objekte, Liedtexte, grafische-fotografische-filmische Notationen und Konzepte, die musikalische Ereignisse und Aufführungen generieren. Fast alle der in den Rieckhallen des Hamburger Bahnhofs großzügig präsentierten Werke sind als Auftragsarbeiten neu entstanden; sie werden Schritt für Schritt in den Räumen, in denen sie ausgestellt sind, aufgeführt.

Von Saâdane Afif wird die gemeinsam mit dem Komponisten Augustin Maurs entwickelte Arbeit Vice de forme: Das Kabarett vorgestellt, die mit einer Performance zum Auftakt sowie einem Konzert am letzten Tag der Ausstellung verbunden ist. Während der Ausstellung lässt ein Yamaha Player Piano die beim Auftakt eingespielten First Notes erklingen.

Von Christian Marclay wird das neu produzierte Comic-Heft To Be Continued vom ensemBle baBel musikalisch umgesetzt. Außerdem sind eine Video-Film-Collage und eine Dia-Show des Künstlers zu sehen, die dem Ensemble und den Performern Elliott Sharp und Shelley Hirsch als musikalische Partituren dienen. Alle diese Werke sind erstmals in Berlin zu erleben.

Aus dem aktuell entstehenden achtteiligen Zeichnungszyklus Song of the Earth von Jorinde Voigt werden die ersten vier Kapitel präsentiert und zum Teil vom Ensemble zeitkratzer musikalisch realisiert. Im Falle der Werke von Marclay und Voigt sind während der Laufzeit der Ausstellung Audiomitschnitte der Konzerte zu hören.

Ari Benjamin Meyers hat eine Serie von „Meta-Partituren“ entwickelt, inspiriert von Sol LeWitts Instruction Pieces, die täglich neu vom Komponisten Wojtek Blecharz und der Flötistin Susanne Fröhlich übersetzt und gespielt werden. Am letzten Tag der Ausstellung werden sämtliche vor Ort entstandenen und einstudierten Interpretationen aus der Erinnerung heraus vorgetragen.

SCORES: Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers, Jorinde Voigt

Eröffnung: Donnerstag, 27. Oktober 2016, 19 Uhr

Konzerte:
Auftakt zur Eröffnung: 27. Oktober 2016, 20 Uhr: Vice de forme (First Notes), mit Augustin Maurs (Klavier)
28. und 30. Oktober 2016, jeweils um 20 Uhr
13. November 2016, 18.30 und 20 Uhr.
Ticketvorverkauf Konzerte: www.reservix.de

Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin
Invalidenstr. 50/51, 10557 Berlin

Laufzeit: 28. Oktober – 13. November 2016
Di, Mi, Fr 10 – 18 Uhr, Do 10 – 20 Uhr, Sa + So 11 – 18 Uhr

Kuratorinnen:
Ingrid Buschmann / Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V.
Gabriele Knapstein / Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof

Weitere Informationen:
www.freunde-guter-musik-berlin.de
www.smb.museum/hbf

Eine Veranstaltungsreihe von Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V. in Zusammenarbeit mit der Nationalgalerie, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin. Mit Unterstützung durch das Elektronische Studio der TU Berlin – Fachgebiet Audiokommunikation. Gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds und die Schering Stiftung.

Abb:
Jorinde Voigt, Berlin 2016: Partitur Radical Relaxation (I) bis (VII) Stress + Freiheit (Rousseau), P. Sloterdijk, je 41,5 x 29,5 cm (7-teilig, Teil 1), Tinte und Tusche auf Ditone-Print, Nummeriert Kollaboration von Jorinde Voigt und zeitkratzer Original beschrifteter Druck für die
Aufnahme am 19. Juni 2016, UdK Berlin 1 von 10 Partitursätzen
Christian Marclay: Screen Play, 2005 Single channel video projection, black and white with color,
silent, 29 min. Courtesy the artist and Paula Cooper Gallery, New York
Saâdane Afif: Vice de forme, 2009 White Carrara marble Sphere Ø 14 cm, Cylinder Ø 7 x 31,5
cm, Cube 10,5 x 10,5 x 10,5 cm First presentation in Variété, Galerie Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin,
2009 Courtesy of the artist and Mehdi Chouakri Foto: Afif Office

Scores im Hamburger Bahnhof, gefördert von der Schering Stiftung, Abb: Christian Marclay

Scores im Hamburger Bahnhof, gefördert durch die Schering Stiftung, Abb: Saâdane Afif

Aktuelles

Wie frei sind wir wirklich?

17.02.2017, Berlin | Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet...
mehr

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2017

16.02.2017, Berlin | Brauchen wir Spielplätze für unsere Nutztiere? Wie werden 7 Milliarden Menschen satt? Und...
mehr

In Spandau startet die Al-Farabi Musikakademie

02.01.2017, Berlin | Eine sorgenfreie und unbeschwerte Jugend ist nicht für alle Kinder eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach...
mehr