Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

On Morphologies: Animalism and Animism

Lecture (in German) by Anselm Franke

October 4, 2016, 6 p.m.
Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34 | 10117 Berlin

Please register until September 27 at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it (space is limited, participation upon confirmation only, confirmation will be sent by e-mail by September 29, 2016)

Modernity is defined by the idea of passive matter shaped and acted upon by humans. Through art, we can turn this perspective around and ask: How do these things shape and act upon us? This reversal is an integral part of reception theory, but beyond the field of art, the question also raises numerous border issues and phobias related to the dualistic world view and its separation of living and dead matter, and of subject and object. The “animation” of matter is a key problem of modernity only because it affects or directly alters the state of being not only of things, but also of the human subject.

Anselm Franke, Photo: Jakob Hoff

A subject that perceives matter as animated distances him- or herself from the rational subject of modernity – or maybe not, as a brief detour into romanticism will show. The lecture connects questions of the animation of matter in art with modernity’s non-artistic debates, inevitably raising questions of the psyche, the anima (soul), and the animal and analyzing the boom in animist visual worlds in contemporary art and culture.

Anselm Franke is a curator and writer based in Berlin. He is head of Visual Art and Film at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, where he co-curated “The Anthropocene Project” (2013–2014) and the exhibitions “The Whole Earth” and “After Year Zero” (both 2013), “Forensis” (2014), “Ape Culture” (2015) and “Nervous Systems” (2016), among others. In 2012, he curated the Taipei Biennial and, in 2014, the Shanghai Biennale. Franke’s exhibition project “Animism” has been presented in Antwerp, Bern, Vienna, Berlin, New York, Shenzhen, Seoul, and Beirut in various collaborations from 2010 to 2014. Previously, Franke was curator at KW Berlin and director of Extra City Kunsthal, Antwerp. He completed his PhD at Goldsmiths College, London.

 

Portrait of Anselm Franke: Jakob Hoff


News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Über Morphologien: Animalismus und Animismus

Vortrag von Anselm Franke

4. Oktober 2016, 18 Uhr
Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34 | 10117 Berlin

Anmeldung bis zum 27.09. unter Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. (begrenzte Platzzahl, Teilnahme nur nach Anmeldebestätigung möglich, Versand der Bestätigung erfolgt via E-Mail bis 29.09.2016)

Die Moderne ist geprägt von der Idee einer passiven Materie, der der Mensch eine Form aufdrückt. Vermittels der Kunst können wir diese Sichtweise aber auch umdrehen und fragen: Welche Form drücken uns die Dinge auf? Diese Umkehrung ist in der Rezeptionsästhetik angelegt, aber jenseits der Kunst wirft die Frage zahlreiche Grenzfragen und Grenzphobien auf, die mit dem dualistischen Weltbild und seiner Trennung von Belebtem und Unbelebtem, sowie von Subjekt und Objekt verbunden sind. Denn die „Belebung“ der Materie ist nur deshalb ein so zentrales Problem der Moderne, weil sie den Seinszustand nicht nur der Dinge, sondern auch des menschlichen Subjekts betrifft bzw. direkt verändert.

Anselm Franke in der Schering Stiftung; Foto: Jakob Hoff

Ein Subjekt, das die Materie als belebt wahrnimmt, grenzt sich vom rationalen Subjekt der Moderne ab – oder auch nicht, wie ein Exkurs in die Romantik zeigen wird. In diesem Vortrag werden die Fragen nach der Animation der Materie in der Kunst mit den nicht-künstlerischen Debatten der Moderne verbunden. Dabei werden unweigerlich auch Fragen der Psyche, der Anima (Seele) und dem Tier, dem animal, aufgeworfen, und die Konjunktur animistischer Bildwelten in der Kultur der Gegenwart analysiert.

Anselm Franke lebt und arbeitet als Kurator und Autor in Berlin. Er ist Leiter des Bereichs Bildende Kunst und Film am Haus der Kulturen der Welt und war dort Ko-Kurator des „Anthropozän-Projekts“ (2013–2014) sowie der Ausstellungen „The Whole Earth“ und „After Year Zero“ (beide 2013), „Forensis“ (2014), „Ape Culture/Kultur der Affen“ (2015) and „Nervöse Systeme“ (2016). 2012 kuratierte er die Taipei Biennial und 2014 die Shanghai Biennale. Frankes Ausstellungsprojekt „Animism“ wurde von 2010 bis 2014 in Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Kollaborationspartnern in Antwerpen, Bern, Wien, Berlin, New York, Shenzhen, Seoul und Beirut gezeigt. Zuvor war Franke Kurator an den KW Berlin und Direktor der Extra City Kunsthal in Antwerpen. Er provomierte am Goldsmiths College, London.

 

Portraitfoto von Anselm Franke: Jakob Hoff


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni...
mehr