Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Superhumanity at the 3rd Istanbul Design Biennial

29.09.2016, Berlin | What forms of life are currently being designed? “Superhumanity” is an online publication project by e-flux Architecture, initiated by Nikolaus Hirsch and Anton Vidokle (e-flux) in collaboration with Beatriz Colomina and Mark Wigley (curators of the 3rd Istanbul Design Biennial 2016), and in cooperation with Ernst Schering Foundation. In “The Obligation to Self-Design” (e-flux journal, 2008), Boris Groys traces a possible genealogy of design from the design of the soul and the design of the self to “the design of life as a whole” as the very means of realizing a political project. Reading Groys in reverse, we could say that design constructs the project of life, understood as a political act. “Superhumanity” will introduce contributions from different fields that explore the intimate and fundamental relationship between the concepts of “design” and “the human” provoked by the Biennial's theme: Are We Human? Contributions will initially appear online at e-flux.com, within the Biennial itself, and subsequently as a book.

Superhumanity_c2011_Natsumi_Hayashi

The question of design has never been more urgent. Today, the field of design has radically expanded – “from carefully crafted individual looks and online identities, to the surrounding galaxies of personal devices, new materials, interfaces, networks, systems, infrastructures, data, chemicals, organisms, and genetic codes,” as the manifesto of the Biennial puts it. In the words of the Biennial's curators Mark Wigley and Beatriz Colomina, “design has become the world.” “Superhumanity” aims to explore the radical implications of the idea that we are and have always been continuously reshaped by the artifacts we shape.

If we assume the merging of art and design with life to be total, perhaps we have never been more human than we are today. As Hito Steyerl writes in “Art as Occupation: Claims for an Autonomy of Life” (e-flux journal, 2011): “On all levels of everyday activity, art [as well as design and architecture] not only invades life, but occupies it. This doesn’t mean that it’s omnipresent. It just means that it has established a complex topology of both overbearing presence and gaping absence—both of which impact daily life.”

The project includes over fifty writers, scientists, artists, architects, designers, philosophers, historians, archeologists, and anthropologists. Contributions will be published online at e-flux.com every other day from mid-September and continue through the end of the year. “Superhumanity” will also be exhibited as a part of the Istanbul Design Biennial at DEPO from October 22 to November 20.

Superhumanity at the 3rd Istanbul Design Biennial

 

Further Information

http://www.e-flux.com

Exhibition photographs

Event recording

Event photographs

Social media links:

Facebook

Twitter

Editors: Beatriz Colomina, Nikolaus Hirsch, Anton Vidokle, Mark Wigley
Deputy Editor: Nick Axel

Confirmed participants include: Lucia Allais, Julieta Aranda, Shumon Basar, Ruha Benjamin, Franco 'Bifo' Berardi, Daniel Birnbaum & Sven-Olov Wallenstein, Ina Blom, Benjamin H. Bratton, Giuliana Bruno, Zeynep Çelik Alexander, Tony Chakar, Mark Cousins, Keller Easterling, Ruben Gallo, Liam Gillick, Joseph Grima, Boris Groys, Rupali Gupte & Prasad Shetty, Güven Güzeldere, Andrew Herscher, Tom Holert, Brooke Holmes, Hu Fang, Francesca Hughes, Andrés Jaque, Lydia Kallipoliti, Tom Keenan, Brian Kuan Wood, Laura Kurgan, Sanford Kwinter, Adrian Lahoud, Sylvia Lavin, Tom Levin, Lesley Lokko, MAP Office, Chus Martínez, Ingo Niermann, Ahmet Ögüt, Trevor Paglen, Spyros Papapetros, Paul Preciado, Raqs Media Collective, Juliane Rebentisch, Sophia Roosth, Martha Rosler, Felicity Scott, Jack Self, Hito Steyerl, Kali Stull & Etienne Turpin, Pelin Tan, Alexander Tarakhovsky, Paulo Tavares, Territorial Agency, Stephan Trüby, Eyal Weizman, Mabel O. Wilson, Liam Young, and Arseny Zhilyaev & Anton Vidokle.

Superhumanity is produced in cooperation with the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea, Govett-Brewster Art Gallery, New Plymouth, New Zealand, and the Ernst Schering Foundation, Berlin.

Abb: © 2011 Natsumi Hayashi

News

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Digital Salon: A Soft Spot for Cyborgs

22.05.2017, Berlin | Smart robot hands, artificial legs, printable organs: Are implants the panacea of the...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

„Superhumanity“ auf der 3rd Istanbul Design Biennial

29.09.2016, Berlin | Welche Lebensformen werden derzeit designt? „Superhumanity“ ist ein Online-Veröffentlichungsprojekt von e-flux Architecture, das von Nikolaus Hirsch und Anton Vidokle (e-flux) in Zusammenarbeit mit Beatriz Colomina und Mark Wigley (Kuratoren der 3rd Istanbul Design Biennial 2016) und in Kooperation mit der Schering Stiftung initiiert wurde. In „The Obligation to Self-Design“ (Die Pflicht zum Selbstdesign; e-flux journal, 2008) zeichnet Boris Groys eine mögliche Genealogie des Designs – vom Seelendesign zum Selbstdesign zum Design des „Lebens als Ganzes“ – als eigentlichem Mittel zur Realisierung eines politischen Projekts. Drehen wir Groys um, so ließe sich sagen, dass das Projekt Leben, aufgefasst als politischer Akt, durch das Design gestaltet wird. Anlässlich des Themas der diesjährigen Biennale, Are We Human? (Sind wir Mensch?), präsentiert „Superhumanity“ Beiträge aus verschiedenen Bereichen, welche die intime und grundlegende Beziehung zwischen den Konzepten „Design“ und „Mensch“ erkunden. Die Beiträge werden online auf e-flux.com, auf der Biennale selbst und danach in Buchform erscheinen.

Superhumanity_c2011_Natsumi_Hayashi

Die Frage nach dem Design hat sich noch nie dringlicher gestellt. Heutzutage hat sich der Bereich des Designs dramatisch ausgeweitet – „von der sorgsam gestalteten individuellen Optik und Online-Identität bis zu den uns umschwirrenden Galaxien aus persönlichen Geräten, neuen Materialien, Schnittstellen, Systemen, Infrastrukturen, Daten, Chemikalien, Organismen und genetischen Codes“, so das Manifest der Biennale. In den Worten der Biennale-Kuratoren Mark Wigley und Beatriz Colomina „ist die ganze Welt Design“. Das Projekt „Superhumanity“ erkundet die radikalen Implikationen der Idee, dass wir durch die von uns gestalteten und geformten Gegenstände ständig neu geformt und geprägt werden.

Gehen wir davon aus, dass die Verschmelzung von Kunst und Design mit dem Leben total ist, dann sind wir vielleicht noch nie mehr Mensch gewesen als heute. So schreibt Hito Steyerl in „Art as Occupation: Claims for an Autonomy of Life“ (Kunst als Beruf: Forderung nach einer Autonomie des Lebens; e-flux journal, 2011): „Die Kunst [sowie Design und Architektur] dringt nicht nur auf allen Ebenen in unseren Alltag ein, sondern okkupiert ihn. Das heißt nicht, dass sie allgegenwärtig ist. Es heißt lediglich, dass sie eine komplexe Topologie etabliert hat, die sowohl von überwältigender Präsenz als auch von eklatanter Abwesenheit ist – was beides Auswirkungen auf unseren Alltag hat.“

An dem Projekt sind über fünfzig SchriftstellerInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen, ArchitektInnen, DesignerInnen, PhilosophInnen, HistorikerInnen, ArchäologInnen und AnthropologInnen beteiligt. Die Beiträge werden von Mitte September bis Jahresende jeden zweiten Tag online auf e-flux.com veröffentlicht. „Superhumanity“ wird auch als Teil der Istanbul Design Biennial zu sehen sein, die vom 22. Oktober bis 20. November im Istanbuler Kulturzentrum DEPO stattfindet.

„Superhumanity“ auf der 3rd Istanbul Design Biennial

 

Weitere Informationen

http://www.e-flux.com

Ausstellungsansichten

Event recording

Bilder von Veranstaltungen

Social Media Links:

Facebook

Twitter

Herausgeber: Beatriz Colomina, Nikolaus Hirsch, Anton Vidokle, Mark Wigley
Deputy Editor: Nick Axel

Ihre Teilnahme haben bereits bestätigt: Lucia Allais, Julieta Aranda, Shumon Basar, Ruha Benjamin, Franco 'Bifo' Berardi, Daniel Birnbaum & Sven-Olov Wallenstein, Ina Blom, Benjamin H. Bratton, Giuliana Bruno, Zeynep Çelik Alexander, Tony Chakar, Mark Cousins, Keller Easterling, Ruben Gallo, Liam Gillick, Joseph Grima, Boris Groys, Rupali Gupte & Prasad Shetty, Güven Güzeldere, Andrew Herscher, Tom Holert, Brooke Holmes, Hu Fang, Francesca Hughes, Andrés Jaque, Lydia Kallipoliti, Tom Keenan, Brian Kuan Wood, Laura Kurgan, Sanford Kwinter, Adrian Lahoud, Sylvia Lavin, Tom Levin, Lesley Lokko, MAP Office, Chus Martínez, Ingo Niermann, Ahmet Ögüt, Trevor Paglen, Spyros Papapetros, Paul Preciado, Raqs Media Collective, Juliane Rebentisch, Sophia Roosth, Martha Rosler, Felicity Scott, Jack Self, Hito Steyerl, Kali Stull & Etienne Turpin, Pelin Tan, Alexander Tarakhovsky, Paulo Tavares, Territorial Agency, Stephan Trüby, Eyal Weizman, Mabel O. Wilson, Liam Young, and Arseny Zhilyaev & Anton Vidokle.

„Superhumanity“ ist eine Produktion in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Nationalmuseum für moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst, Korea, der Govett-Brewster Art Gallery, New Plymouth, Neuseeland, und der Schering Stiftung, Berlin.

Abb: © 2011 Natsumi Hayashi

Aktuelles

Die Debatte – Die Macht der Meinungsforschung

01.08.2017, Berlin | Das politische Jahr 2017 bewegt sich auf den Höhepunkt zu: Die Bundestagswahlen am...
mehr

Digitaler Salon: Bei Nebenwirkungen fragen Sie Ihren Algorithmus

01.08.2017, Berlin | Werden wir durch personalisierte Tabletten und Nano-Roboter künftig länger und besser leben? Welchen...
mehr

"Women" von Sasha Waltz

19.07.2017, Berlin | Sasha Waltz & Guests werden im Rahmen von „Tanz im August“ am 30....
mehr