Philipp Lachenmann: DELPHI Rationale



Exhibition opening:
Thursday, November 24, 2016, 7–9 p.m.

Exhibition dates: November 25, 2016 – January 15, 2017
Hours: Thursday through Monday, 1–7 p.m.
Admission and Performance Times
From 1 until 6:30 p.m. every hour on the half hour and on the hour

Free admission

Further event: Artist Talk
Wednesday, January 11, 2017, 6 p.m.

Ernst Schering Foundation
Unter den Linden 32–34 | 10117 Berlin

Jens Brand’s installation “Tetraktys” is part of a series of experiments featuring “world machines.” Brand sees devices and installations such as the “G Player” (2004) or the “Small World Machine” (2011) as distinctive metaphors about the appropriation of space by sound and vice versa. “Tetrakys” is essentially a musical machine, consisting of four drones, which mechanically adapts aspects of the Music of the Spheres. In the history of ideas, the Music, or Harmony, of the Spheres is an essential element of Pythagorean cosmology and musical theory, which has been passed on through the writings of Boethius and Kepler and has preoccupied both artists and scientists ever since.

Tetraktys by Jens Brand, exhibition at Ernst Schering Foundation from November 25, 2016 until January 15, 2017
Jens Brand generates the mechanical model for “Tetraktys” with the aid of automated aerial drones – widely known and notorious for their popularity among hobbyists as well as for their use for observation or military purposes. Brand here uses them as sound generators. The drones function as mechanical space sound devices, whose real sound, and virtual physical, surfaces generate a model of the world that seeks to explore an absurd context in both abstract and concrete ways.

Organized by singuhr e.V. as part of its series “resonating spaces” in cooperation with the Schering Stiftung. A satellite project of “entre límites / zwischen grenzen” – an exhibition and residency project organized by singuhr — projekte, Berlin, and the Goethe-Institut in Mexico on the occasion of the Year of Mexico in Germany. With support from the Berlin Senate Chancellery – Cultural Affairs.

Image: © Jens Brand: TETRAKTYS, Photo: Jens Brand


Mikro, Makro, Market?

23.03.2018, Berlin | “It’s the economy, stupid!” – this was the slogan of U.S. presidential candidate...

Live Debate: What to Do When Kidneys, Livers and Hearts Are Getting Scarce?

09.03.2018, Berlin | While more than 10,000 people in Germany are desperately waiting for a donor...

Big Data Means Big Responsibility. The Use of Data in the Healthcare Sector

24.02.2018, Erlangen | The digitalization of medicine is making big strides. The integration of previously distinct...

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Jens Brand: TETRAKTYS

Ausstellungseröffnung:
Donnerstag, 24. November 2016, 19–21 Uhr

Laufzeit: 25.11.2016 bis 15.01.2017
Öffnungszeiten: Donnerstag bis Montag, 13–19 Uhr
Einlass und Performances
Ab 13 bis 18.30 Uhr jeweils zur halben und vollen Stunde
Eintritt frei.

 

Weitere Veranstaltung: Künstlergespräch
Mittwoch, 11. Januar 2017, 18 Uhr

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34 | 10117 Berlin

Jens Brands Installation „Tetraktys“ ist Teil seiner Reihe von Experimenten mit „Weltmaschinen“. Apparate und Installationen wie der „G-Player“ (2004) oder die „Kleine Weltmaschine“ (2011) versteht der Künstler als eigenständige Metaphern über die Aneignung von Raum durch Klang und vice versa. Dem Wesen nach ist „Tetraktys“ eine Musikmaschine, bestehend aus vier Drohnen, die mechanisch Aspekte der Sphärenmusik adaptiert. Diese ist ideengeschichtlich ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der pythagoreischen Kosmologie und Musiktheorie, die in Europa durch die Schriften von Boethius und Kepler weitergetragen wurde und seither Kunst und Wissenschaft gleichermaßen beschäftigt.

Tetraktys von Jens Brand, Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung vom 25.11.2016 bis 15.01.2017
Das mechanische Modell für „Tetraktys“ generiert Jens Brand mithilfe automatisierter Flugdrohnen – einem Instrumentarium, das aufgrund seiner großen Verbreitung im Freizeitbereich ebenso wie bei der Observation oder beim Militär weithin bekannt und berüchtigt ist. Brand setzt sie hier aber als Klangerzeuger ein. Die Drohnen fungieren als mechanisches Raumklanginstrumentarium, dessen reale Klang- und virtuelle Körperflächen ein Weltenmodell erzeugen, das gleichermaßen abstrakt wie konkret einen absurden Kontext zu erschließen sucht.

Veranstaltet von singuhr e.V. in der Reihe „resonating spaces“ in Kooperation mit der Schering Stiftung. Im Rahmen von „entre límites / zwischen grenzen“ – ein Ausstellungs- und Residenzprojekt von singuhr — projekte, Berlin, und Goethe-Institut Mexiko anlässlich des Mexikojahrs in Deutschland. Gefördert durch die Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten.

Abbildung: © Jens Brand: TETRAKTYS, Foto: Jens Brand

Aktuelles

Nachwachsende Gliedmaßen und Nervenschädigungen im Visier

05.09.2017, Berlin | Am 25. September 2017, um 18:30 Uhr, verleiht die Schering Stiftung in der...
mehr

6. Max-Planck-Konferenz „Visions in Science“

04.09.2017, Berlin | Vom 29. September bis 1. Oktober 2017 findet zum sechsten Mal die Konferenz...
mehr

Vortragsreihe: Life in Numbers - mit Johan Elf

04.09.2017, Berlin | Im Sommersemester 2017 lädt das Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften (IRI) der Humboldt-Universität Berlin...
mehr