Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

STATE of Emotion – The Sentimental Machine

21.10.2016, Berlin | Emotions are a fundamental source of our most personal experiences in the world and motivations to act, as well as a central element of our interaction with others. They have been considered the essence of what it means to be human, and what it means to be you. Entitled “STATE of Emotion – The Sentimental Machine,” this year’s STATE Festival in Berlin from November 3 to 5, 2016, brings together the latest developments and works at the intersection of current emotions research and artificial intelligence. It creates a meeting ground for science and the public, where scientific inquiry meets artistic expression: open, participatory and interdisciplinary.

State Festival, (c) STATE Festival, Montebelo, Grafikladen

There will be a two-day program of inspiring talks, stimulating discussions, artworks, films, and performances. Hands-on workshops and interactive installations will give all participants the opportunity to get involved.

The 42 participating researchers and artists include Massimiliano Versace, a pioneer in the field of neuromorphic research and technology; Rose-Lynn Fisher, who has studied and photographed tears; Maja Pantic, a renowned expert in analysis of facial expressions, human body gestures, emotions, and social signals; Norberto Andrade, a leading specialist in the intersection of law and ‘future studies’; and Adam Anderson, who did groundbreaking work on the role of emotions in all human faculties.

STATE of Emotion – The Sentimental Machine

November 3 | 7:30 p.m.
Welcome reception at Museum für Naturkunde Berlin
Invalidenstr. 43 | 10115 Berlin

November 4 and 5 | 10 a.m. to 11 p.m.
STATE Festival at Kühlhaus Berlin
Luckenwalder Str. 3 | 10963 Berlin

For a detailed program and further information please click here.

Photo: © STATE Festival, Montebelo, Grafikladen, www.statefestival.org


News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Ivana Franke

 

STATE of Emotion – The Sentimental Machine

21.10.2016, Berlin | Emotionen sind eine wesentliche Quelle unserer persönlichsten Erfahrungen und Handlungsmotivationen sowie ein zentrales Element unserer Interaktion mit anderen. Sie gelten gemeinhin als Essenz dessen, was uns als Menschen und als Individuen ausmacht. Unter dem Titel „STATE of Emotion – The Sentimental Machine“ präsentiert das diesjährige STATE Festival vom 3. bis 5. November 2016 in Berlin die neuesten Entwicklungen und Arbeiten an der Schnittstelle aktueller Gefühlsforschung und künstlicher Intelligenz. Das Festival schafft einen offenen, partizipativen und interdisziplinären Begegnungsraum für Wissenschaft und Öffentlichkeit, für wissenschaftliche Forschung und künstlerischen Ausdruck.

State Festival, (c) STATE Festival, Montebelo, Grafikladen

Das zweitägige Programm umfasst anregende Vorträge und Diskussionen, Kunst, Filme und diverse Auf- und Vorführungen. Interaktive Workshops und Installationen geben den Besuchern die Möglichkeit sich einzubringen und selbst aktiv zu werden.

Unter den 42 teilnehmenden Forschern und Künstlern sind Massimiliano Versace, Pionier im Bereich der Neuromorphing-Forschung und -Technologie; Rose-Lynn Fisher, die Tränen studiert und fotografiert hat; Maja Pantic, renommierte Expertin für die Analyse von Mimik, Gestik, Emotionen und sozialen Signalen; Norberto Andrade, Spezialist für das Thema Recht und „Zukunftsforschung“; und Adam Anderson, der bahnbrechende Arbeiten zur Rolle der Emotionen bei allen menschlichen Fähigkeiten und Anlagen vorgelegt hat.

STATE of Emotion – The Sentimental Machine

3. November | 19:30 Uhr
Begrüßungsempfang im Museum für Naturkunde Berlin
Invalidenstr. 43 | 10115 Berlin

4. und 5. November | 10 bis 23 Uhr
STATE Festival im Kühlhaus Berlin
Luckenwalder Str. 3 | 10963 Berlin

Das detaillierte Programm und weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Foto: © STATE Festival, Montebelo, Grafikladen, www.statefestival.org


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Am 1. Juni, um 19 Uhr, eröffnet in den KW Institute for Contemporary...
mehr