Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Who’s Afraid of Foreigners?

20.03.2017, Berlin | Fear of the foreign seems to be an essential human trait. It manifests itself in early childhood behavior as well as in adult xenophobic responses. But how do we happen to distinguish between the foreign and the familiar? What role do prejudices play? And why does the experience of foreignness cause fear? Is this fear nothing but a primordial instinct warning homo sapiens of a potential threat? What is the benefit, what is the risk of such fearful reactions? And how can we deal with fear of the other? Can fear perhaps even be transformed into curiosity?

These questions will be discussed by Dr. Elke Geenen and Prof. Dr. Borwin Bandelow as part of a salon entitled “Who’s Afraid of Foreigners?” which will be held at the Komische Oper Berlin on May 22, 2017, at 7:30 p.m.

Geenen_und_Bandelow

 

 

About the salon of the Komische Oper Berlin and the Ernst Schering Foundation

 Theory meets entertainment and art meets science. Once again this opera season, the Komische Oper Berlin and the Ernst Schering Foundation organize four evening salons with renowned scientists and scholars. In conjunction with the opera’s season program, the salons explore topics that are of interest to both science and the world of opera. A relaxed discussion atmosphere and a variety of discussion formats and artistic interventions turn the foyer of the Komische Oper Berlin into a nineteenth-century salon.

Topics, Tickets & Dates

Komische Oper Berlin
Behrenstraße 55-57 | 10117 Berlin

Tickets for 12 EUR / 8 EUR (reduced rate) are available through the ticket service of the Komische Oper.

pdf Download the program flyer here.

 

Mon, November 14, 2016, 7:30 p.m.
“What About Love?”
Salon on Love Yesterday and Today

Loving and being loved seem to be among the most fundamental phenomena of being human. The brains of people in love are powered by “chemical fireworks.” But who or what determines why and how deeply we fall in love? Do genes play a key role? Or does the potential partner merely have to smell good and know how to dance? And has it always been like that? How did and do people love in other times and cultures? How do they love today? Do we even have the time and leisure to fall head over heels in love? And where do people today find love? In a café? In a club? Online? Or at the opera, where great love stories are nightly negotiated?

GUESTS Prof. Dr. Ute Frevert (historian, Max Planck Institute for Human Development, Berlin); Prof. Dr. Karl Grammer (behavioral researcher and evolutionary biologist, University of Vienna)
WITH singers and musicians of the Komische Oper Berlin
MODERATORS Johanna Wall and Ulrich Lenz

The Barber of Seville
Performances on November 26, 2016 | December 4, 16 & 26, 2016 | July 5 & 13, 2017

Mon, February 6, 2017, 7:30 p.m.
“What to Do with Power?”
Salon on the Impact and Imperative of Exerting Power

When we think of power, negative associations immediately come to mind: scenes of oppression and violence, phrases such as “power-hungry,” “lust for power” or “seizing power.” Power seduces, deadens the senses, and corrupts. Power’s reputation is not the best. But does power also have positive aspects? Could we even change or shape our world without power, and don’t those who exert power also assume responsibility? How and where is power generated, how does it work, and can we distinguish between different kinds of power? How can or must power be used to make relationships work, raise children, run companies or govern states?

GUESTS Frank Stauss, political consultant (Managing Partner of the communication agency BUTTER., Düsseldorf/Berlin); Prof. Dr. Hilge Landweer (Philosopher, Freie Universität Berlin)
WITH singers and musicians of the Komische Oper Berlin
MODERATORS Rainer Simon and Simon Berger

The Pearls of Cleopatra
Performances on February 11, 2017 | July 12, 2017

 

Mon, March 13, 2017, 7:30 p.m.
“How Free Are We Really?”
Salon on Manipulation and Freedom of Decision

Are we free to act or are our actions pre-determined? This is one of the big questions of philosophy. In light of ever new neurobiological insights into our brain processes, the influence of the media on our thoughts and opinions, the gathering of data by major internet companies, and the permanent manipulation through increasingly subtle advertising and marketing methods, the question of whether we are really free to act seems to be more topical than ever. Do we still have room for maneuver given this flood of different and powerful influences? Are we still in control of ourselves and our decisions?

GUESTS Prof. Dr. Michael Pauen (Institute of Philosophy and Berlin School of Mind and Brain, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), Prof. Dr. Stefan Schmidt (psychologist and psychophysiologist, University of Freiburg Medical Center)
WITH singers and musicians of the Komische Oper Berlin
MODERATORS Rainer Simon and Johanna Wall

Petruschka/L’Enfant et les Sortilèges
Performances on March 26, 2017 | July 11, 2017

 

Mon, May 22, 2017, 7:30 p.m.
“Who’s Afraid of Foreigners?”
Salon on Foreignness and Experiencing the Other

Fear of the foreign seems to be an essential human trait. It manifests itself in early childhood behavior as well as in adult xenophobic responses. But how do we happen to distinguish between the foreign and the familiar? What role do prejudices play? And why does the experience of foreignness cause fear? Is this fear nothing but a primordial instinct warning homo sapiens of a potential threat? What is the benefit, what is the risk of such fearful reactions? And how can we deal with fear of the other? Can fear perhaps even be transformed into curiosity?

GUESTS Dr. Elke M. Geenen (Institute for Socioeconomic and Cultural International Analysis, Ottendorf), Prof. Dr. Borwin Bandelow (psychologist and psychotherapist, University Medical Center Göttingen)
WITH singers and musicians of the Komische Oper Berlin
MODERATORS Katja Naie and Ulrich Lenz

Medea
Performances on May 25, 2017 | June 5, 20 & 25, 2017 | July 2 & 15, 2017

Photo 1: Stefan Schmidt (li) & Michael Pauen (re, Fotograf: Daniel Friedrich)
Photo 2: Fotograf Jan Windszus
Photo 3: Fotograf Michael Bidner

 

Lounge_Komische_Oper_Foto_Jan_Windszus

 

Komische Oper_Foto Michael_Bidner

 

 

In Kooperation mit


KOB_Logo-Rot

 

 

 

Medienpartner

radioeins_logo

Project Space

Address: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Opening hours during exhibitions:Thursday through Monday, 1 - 7 p.m. | Admission is free Since 2009, the Ernst Schering Foundation has ...

more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Wer hat Angst vorm fremden Mann?

12.05.2017, Berlin | Die Angst vor dem Fremden scheint ein Wesensmerkmal des Menschen zu sein. Sie zeigt sich in frühkindlichen Verhaltensweisen ebenso wie in xenophoben Reaktionen von Erwachsenen. Doch wie kommt es zur Differenzierung zwischen Fremdem und Eigenem? Welche Rolle spielen dabei Vorurteile? Und wieso entsteht aus einer Fremdheitserfahrung Angst? Ist diese Angst nichts anderes als ein Urinstinkt, der den homo sapiens vor einer möglichen Bedrohung warnen will? Worin liegt der Nutzen, worin die Gefahr solch ängstlicher Reaktionen? Und wie können wir mit Ängsten gegenüber dem anderen umgehen? Lässt sich gar Furcht vor in eine Lust am Fremden umkehren?

Diesen Fragen gehen Dr. Elke Geenen und Prof. Dr. Borwin Bandelow in dem Salon „Wer hat Angst vorm fremden Mann?“ am 22. Mai 2017 um 19:30 Uhr in der Komischen Oper Berlin nach.

Geenen_und_Bandelow

 

 

Über den Salon der Komischen Oper Berlin und der Schering Stiftung

Theorie trifft auf Unterhaltung und Kunst auf Wissenschaft. Die Komische Oper Berlin und die Schering Stiftung veranstalten auch in dieser Spielzeit in loser Anbindung an den aktuellen Spielplan vier abendliche Salongespräche mit renommierten WissenschaftlerInnen zu Themen, die gleichermaßen Wissenschaft und Opernwelt bewegen. Diskussionen in entspannter Atmosphäre, variierende Gesprächsdramaturgien und künstlerische Interventionen verwandeln das Foyer der Komischen Oper Berlin in einen Salon des 19. Jahrhunderts.

Themen, Tickets & Termine

Komische Oper Berlin
Behrenstraße 55-57 | 10117 Berlin

Karten zu 12 EUR / 8 EUR ermäßigt erhalten Sie über den Ticketverkauf der Komischen Oper.

pdf Programmflyer zum Download

 

Mo, 14. November 2016, 19:30 Uhr
„Wo bleibt die Liebe?“
Salon zum Thema Liebe gestern und heute

Lieben und Geliebtwerden scheinen zu den grundlegenden Phänomenen des Menschseins zu gehören. Die Gehirne verliebter Menschen durchlaufen ein „chemisches Feuerwerk“: Man ist „verknallt“. Aber wer bestimmt, weshalb und wie sehr wir uns verlieben? Spielen Gene eine entscheidende Rolle? Oder muss der_die potenzielle Partner_in nur gut duften und richtig das Tanzbein schwingen? Und war das schon immer so? Wie liebte und liebt es sich in anderen Zeiten und Kulturen? Und wie in unserer Gegenwart? Haben wir überhaupt noch die Muße, uns ganz und gar zu verlieben? Und wo finden die Menschen heute Liebe? Im Café? Im Club? Im Internet? Oder gar im Opernhaus? Dort, wo allabendlich große Liebesgeschichten verhandelt werden?

GÄSTE Prof. Dr. Ute Frevert (Historikerin, Max-Planck-Institut für Bildungsforschung, Berlin); Prof. Dr. Karl Grammer (Verhaltensforscher und Evolutionsbiologe, Universität Wien)
MIT Sänger_innen und Musiker_innen der Komischen Oper Berlin
MODERATION Johanna Wall und Ulrich Lenz

Il barbiere di Siviglia
Vorstellungen am 26. Nov | 4. / 16. / 26. Dez 2016 | 5. / 13. Jul 2017

Mo, 6. Februar 2017, 19:30 Uhr
„Was machen mit der Macht?“
Salon zum Thema Wirkung und Notwendigkeit von Machtausübung

Denken wir an Macht, kommen uns sofort negative Assoziationen in den Sinn: Szenen von Unterdrückung und Gewalt, Worte wie „Machtgier“, „Machtstreben“, „Machterhalt“ oder „Machtergreifung“. Macht verführt, stumpft ab und korrumpiert. Es steht schlecht um den Ruf der Macht. Doch hat sie nicht auch positive Aspekte? Ließe sich unsere Welt ohne Macht überhaupt verändern und gestalten, und übernimmt, wer Macht ausübt, nicht auch Verantwortung? Wie und wo entsteht Macht, wie wirkt sie und lässt sie sich differenzieren? Und wie kann oder muss Macht eingesetzt werden, um etwa Beziehungen zu führen, Kinder zu erziehen, Firmen zu leiten oder Staaten zu lenken?

GÄSTE Frank Stauss, Politikberater (Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter der Kommunikationsagentur BUTTER., Düsseldorf/Berlin); Prof. Dr. Hilge Landweer (Philosophin, Freie Universität Berlin)
MIT Sänger_innen und Musiker_innen der Komischen Oper Berlin
MODERATION Rainer Simon und Simon Berger

Die Perlen der Cleopatra
Vorstellungen am 11. Feb | 12. Jul 2017

 

Mo, 13. März 2017, 19:30 Uhr
„Wie frei sind wir wirklich?“
Salon zum Thema Manipulation und Entscheidungsfreiheit

Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet eine der großen Fragen der Philosophie. Angesichts ständig neuer neurobiologischer Erkenntnisse bezüglich unserer Gehirnprozesse, der medialen Einflussnahme auf unser Denken und unsere Meinung, der Datensammlung durch große Internetkonzerne und der permanenten Manipulation durch immer subtiler werdende Werbe- und Marketingmaßnahmen erscheint die Frage nach der Freiheit unseres Handelns aktueller denn je. Bestehen innerhalb dieser Flut an unterschiedlichen und wirkungsmächtigen Bedingungen überhaupt noch Handlungsspielräume? Sind wir noch Herr oder Frau über uns und unsere Entscheidungen?

GÄSTE Prof. Dr. Michael Pauen (Institut für Philosophie der Berlin School of Mind and Brain an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), Prof. Dr. Stefan Schmidt (Psychologe und Psychophysiologe, Universitätsklinikum Freiburg)
MIT Sänger_innen und Musiker_innen der Komischen Oper Berlin
MODERATION Rainer Simon und Johanna Wall

Petruschka/L’Enfant et les Sortilèges
Vorstellungen am 26. Mrz | 11. Jul 2017

Mo, 22. Mai 2017, 19:30 Uhr
„Wer hat Angst vorm fremden Mann?“
Salon zum Thema Fremdheit und Fremderfahrung

Die Angst vor dem Fremden scheint ein Wesensmerkmal des Menschen zu sein. Sie zeigt sich in frühkindlichen Verhaltensweisen ebenso wie in xenophoben Reaktionen von Erwachsenen. Doch wie kommt es zur Differenzierung zwischen Fremdem und Eigenem? Welche Rolle spielen dabei Vorurteile? Und wieso entsteht aus einer Fremdheitserfahrung Angst? Ist diese Angst nichts anderes als ein Urinstinkt, der den homo sapiens vor einer möglichen Bedrohung warnen will? Worin liegt der Nutzen, worin die Gefahr solch ängstlicher Reaktionen? Und wie können wir mit Ängsten gegenüber dem anderen umgehen? Lässt sich gar Furcht vor in eine Lust am Fremden umkehren?

GÄSTE Dr. Elke M. Geenen (Institute for Socioeconomic and Cultural International Analysis, Ottendorf), Prof. Dr. Borwin Bandelow (Psychologe und Psychotherapeut, Universitätsklinikum Göttingen)
MIT Sänger_innen und Musiker_innen der Komischen Oper Berlin
MODERATION Katja Naie und Ulrich Lenz

Medea
Vorstellungen am 25. Mai | 5. / 20. / 25. Jun | 2. und 15. Jul 2017

Foto 1: Stefan Schmidt (li) & Michael Pauen (re, Fotograf: Daniel Friedrich)
Foto 2: Fotograf Jan Windszus
Foto 3: Fotograf Michael Bidner

 

 

 

Lounge_Komische_Oper_Foto_Jan_Windszus

 

Komische Oper_Foto Michael_Bidner

 

 

 

In Kooperation mit


KOB_Logo-Rot

 

 

 

Medienpartner

radioeins_logo

Projektraum

Anschrift: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Öffnungszeiten während der Ausstellungen:Donnerstag – Montag, 13–19 Uhr | Eintritt frei Seit 2009 zeigt die Schering Stiftung im ...

mehr