Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Schering Prize 2015

The 2015 Schering Prize is awarded to Dr. Stephan Warnke for his dissertation on “A Gas-Phase Approach to Biomolecular Structure: Combining Ion Mobility-Mass Spectrometry with Spectroscopy,”

which he completed at the Freie Universität Berlin under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Kevin Pagel.

Stephan Warnke (born 1985) received his diploma in physics from the University of Tübingen in 2009 after completing a year of undergraduate research at the Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society in Berlin. As a graduate student at the same Institute in the groups of Dr. Gert von Helden and Prof. Dr. Kevin Pagel, his main focus was on the design and construction of a new instrument that combines the experimental methods of ion mobility-mass spectrometry and IR spectroscopy to perform in-depth structural analyses of biologically relevant molecules. In his PhD thesis entitled “A Gas-Phase Approach to Biomecular Structure: Combining Ion Mobility-Mass Spectrometry with Spectroscopy,” he demonstrated how the combined methods can be applied to answer questions in a broad range of fields, from structural biology to physical chemistry. As a graduate student he authored four scientific publications and was furthermore involved in the authorship of a total of eleven publications. He graduated summa cum laude from the Institute of Chemistry and Biochemistry of the Freie Universität Berlin in 2015. As a postdoctoral researcher in the group of Dr. Gert von Helden, his current research focuses on peptide and protein structure and on non-covalently bound molecular aggregates with biological relevance.

About the dissertation

Proteins are the molecular machines that carry out vital tasks in a living organism. The structure and function of proteins are closely connected. Consequently, a detailed knowledge about molecular structure is essential to understand the biochemical processes on a molecular level. In their native environment, i.e. in solution, structural investigation of proteins is difficult as the molecules are in permanent interaction with their surroundings. The gas phase, on the other hand, offers a unique clean room environment that allows the investigation of isolated species, free from external influences. Established methods from mass spectrometry (MS) can be combined with ion mobility spectrometry (IMS), to separate protein ions by their size and shape. Structural details of shape-selected ions can then be obtained by infrared (IR) spectroscopy.

A central component of the thesis ‘A Gas-Phase Approach to Biomolecular Structure: Combining Ion Mobility-Mass Spectrometry with Spectroscopy’ is the development, characterization, and establishment of a new experimental setup that combines these structure-sensitive gas-phase methods. This facilitates in-depth structural investigations on different isolated conformers, isomers, or oligomers of protein ions and other biologically relevant molecules that can otherwise not be investigated in the condensed phase due to their short life times or heterogeneity. Using this novel instrument, it was for the first time possible to investigate the three-dimensional structure of peptide aggregates that play a role in neurodegenerative diseases like Alzheimer’s or Parkinson’s disease. In the disease case, the associated peptides undergo a transition from their native, partially folded form into insoluble aggregates that are rich in highly ordered β-sheet structures. Such aggregates can be found, for example, as insoluble plaques in brain tissue of Alzheimer’s patients. The toxic species in light of these neurodegenerative diseases are not the insoluble plaques but small, highly dynamic oligomers of largely unknown structure. The combined mass and size-selective IR spectroscopic approach could here be used to show that already these small soluble oligomers can contain a significant amount of the highly regular β-sheet structure that can be found in the larger, insoluble peptide assemblies. Ultimately, these results open new paths in the structural investigation of amyloidogenic peptides.

For complete dissertation please click here.

The award ceremony of the 2015 Schering Prize will be preceded by the Bohlmann Lecture, which is also supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation.

Bohlmann Lecture 2016 and award ceremony of the Schering Prize 2015

November 11, 2016, 4:00 p.m.

Technical University of Berlin
Lecture Hall C 130 (Old Chemistry Building)
Straße des 17. Juni 115 | 10623 Berlin


News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Schering Preis 2015

Der Schering Preis 2015 geht an Dr. Stephan Warnke für seine Dissertation mit dem Titel „A Gas-Phase Approach to Biomolecular Structure: Combining Ion Mobility-Mass Spectrometry with Spectroscopy“, die er an der Freien Universität Berlin unter der Betreuung von Prof. Dr. Kevin Pagel verfasst hat.

Stephan Warnke (geb. 1985) erwarb 2009 sein Diplom in Physik an der Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen, nachdem er zuvor ein Jahr am Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft in Berlin verbracht hatte. Als Doktorand in der Gruppe von Dr. Gert von Helden und in der Gruppe von Prof. Dr. Kevin Pagel galt sein Hauptaugenmerk der Charakterisierung und Etablierung eines neuen Versuchsaufbaus, der die experimentellen Methoden der Ionenmobilitäts-Massenspektrometrie und Infrarot-Spektroskopie miteinander verbindet, um damit detaillierte Strukturuntersuchungen biologisch relevanter Moleküle durchführen zu können. In seiner Dissertation mit dem Titel “Gas-Phase Approach to Biomecular Structure: Combining Ion Mobility-Mass Spectrometry with Spectroscopy” (Biomoleküle in der Gasphase: Über die Kombination von Ionenmobilitäts-Massenspektrometrie mit IR-Spektroskopie) zeigte er, wie sich mithilfe dieser Methodenkombination eine ganze Reihe von Fragen in Bereichen von der strukturellen Biologie bis zur physikalischen Chemie beantworten lassen. Bereits als Doktorand verfasste er vier wissenschaftliche Veröffentlichungen und war an insgesamt elf weiteren Veröffentlichungen beteiligt. 2015 promovierte er summa cum laude am Institut für Chemie und Biochemie an der Freien Universität Berlin. Als Postdoc in der Gruppe von Dr. Gert von Helden konzentriert sich seine derzeitiges Forschungsinteresse auf Peptid- und Proteinstrukturen und biologisch relevante Molekülaggregate mit nichtkovalenten Bindungen.

Über Stephan Warnkes Dissertation

Proteine sind molekulare Maschinen, die lebenswichtige Aufgaben im Organismus erfüllen. Da die Struktur und Funktion von Proteinen eng miteinander verbunden sind, ist die Kenntnis von strukturellen Details notwendig um biologische Prozesse auf molekularer Ebene zu verstehen. Strukturuntersuchungen von Proteinen in ihrer nativen Umgebung, d.h. in Lösung, stellen dabei wegen der ständigen Wechselwirkung der Proteine mit ihrer Umgebung eine enorme Herausforderung dar. In der Gasphase können sie jedoch isoliert und frei von Umgebungseinflüssen mit den gängigen Methoden der Massenspektrometrie (MS) untersucht werden. In Kombination mit der sogenannten Ionenmobilitätsspektrometrie (IMS) lassen sich Proteinionen darüber hinaus auch nach ihrer Größe und Form trennen und zur weiteren Untersuchung selektieren. Strukturelle Details der auf diese Weise massen- und größenselektierten Moleküle lassen sich anschließend beispielsweise mittels Infrarotspektroskopie gewinnen.

Zentraler Bestandteil der Dissertation ‘A Gas-Phase Approach to Biomolecular Structure: Combining Ion Mobility-Mass Spectrometry with Spectroscopy’ ist die Entwicklung, Charakterisierung und Anwendung eines neuartigen Instruments, in dem genau diese Methoden vereint sind. Dadurch können erstmals einzelne Konformere, Isomere oder auch Oligomere von Molekülionen ein und derselben Sorte in Gegenwart vieler anderer näher auf ihre strukturellen Details untersucht werden. Dies erlaubt Rückschlüsse auf die Struktur von Spezies, die in Lösung aufgrund ihrer Kurzlebigkeit oder Heterogenität nicht untersucht werden können. So gelang es zum Beispiel Peptidaggregate die bei neurodegenerativen Krankheiten wie Alzheimer oder Parkinson eine Rolle spielen erstmals hinsichtlich ihrer dreidimensionalen Struktur zu charakterisieren. Im Krankheitsfall aggregieren die beteiligten Peptide spontan aus einer harmlosen, teilweise gefalteten Form zu unlöslichen Aggregaten die reich an β-Faltblatt Strukturen sind. Solche Aggregate werden zum Beispiel als Plaques im Hirngewebe von Alzheimerpatienten gefunden. Die eigentlich toxischen Spezies in den genannten Krankheiten sind jedoch kleine, hoch-dynamische Oligomere deren Struktur weitgehend unverstanden ist. Hier konnte anhand von massen- und größenselektiver Infrarotspektroskopie gezeigt werden, dass auch diese kleinen Oligomere bereits einen signifikanten Anteil an β-Faltblatt Strukturen besitzen können. Die erlangten Ergebnisse eröffnen damit völlig neue strukturelle Ansätze in der Amyloidforschung.

Zur vollständigen Dissertation gelangen Sie hier.

Die Verleihung des Schering Preises 2015 erfolgt im Anschluss an die Bohlmann-Vorlesung, die ebenfalls von der Schering Stiftung gefördert wird.

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2016 und Verleihung des Schering Preises 2015

11. November 2016, 16 Uhr

Technische Universität Berlin
Hörsaal C 130 (altes Chemiegebäude)
Straße des 17. Juni 115 | 10623 Berlin


Aktuelles

Wer hat Angst vorm fremden Mann?

12.05.2017, Berlin | Die Angst vor dem Fremden scheint ein Wesensmerkmal des Menschen zu sein. Sie...
mehr

SYSTEMA NATURAE

22.05.2017, Berlin | Im Jahr 2013 begannen die Komponisten Mauro Lanza und Andrea Valle ihre Zusammenarbeit...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr