Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Anne Imhof at the 57th International Art Exhibition – La Biennale di Venezia

26.04.2017, Berlin | Anne Imhof designed the German Pavilion for the 57th International Art Exhibition of the Venice Biennial, “Viva Arte Viva.” She has developed a performance specifically for the space of the German Pavilion, which inquires into how the new technological and economic conditions affect and act on human beings. In her performances, Imhof reflects on how the optimized and capitalized body is (co-)constituted through the media. Imhof thus addresses a key question at the interface of biology, technology, and art, which is also at the heart of many projects of the Ernst Schering Foundation. The German Pavilion is curated by Susanne Pfeffer.

08_Portrait_Anne_Imhof__Photo_Nadine_Fraczkowski

Gazes cross, but no communication ensues. They perceive others, but there is no recognition, no acknowledgment. Post-gender, individualized, peculiar and yet stereotypical: such are the human figures in Anne Imhof’s paintings and scenarios. Noises, sounds, and compositions lend a rhythm to the spaces and bodies, synchronizing them in a dilated time loosely structured by narratives. The action is contingent; everything might be different at any moment. The movements fluctuate between the viscous mundanity of everyday life and mysterious rituals, between schematic, remote-controlled procedures and individual malfunctions, between uniformity and punk. Aligned with the group, an aimless individuality persists. They may sing together, but their song is of the I.

On mats and sleeping bags, amid punching bags, baseball bats, and razors, the performers populate the training camp of capitalized bodies and optimized life. Strained to the point of bursting or gone limp, their regimented and fragile bodies appear as a material molded by pervasive yet invisible structures of power. Media representation is innate to these biotechno bodies: they seem forever on the verge of transformation into pictures ready for consumption; they aspire to become images, digital commodities.

Anne Imhof confronts the brutality of our time with a hard realism. Her scenarios visualize the constitution of the body in the demarcation of material and discursive, of technological, socioeconomic, and pharmaceutical boundaries. Imhof thus reveals the space between body and reality, the space where our personality comes into being.

Vita

Anne Imhof (b. 1978) graduated from the Städelschule in Frankfurt am Main in 2012. Imhof was awarded the Preis der Nationalgalerie in 2015 and went on to produce the opera Angst, which was presented in three acts at Kunsthalle Basel, the Museum Hamburger Bahnhof in Berlin, and the Biennale de Montréal in 2016. Her performance cycles Deal (2015), Rage (2014), Aqua Leo (2013), and School of the Seven Bells (2012) were shown in solo exhibitions at MoMA PS1, New York (2015), the Carré d’Art—Musée d’art contemporain de Nîmes (2014), New Jerseyy, Basel, Portikus, Frankfurt am Main (2013), and elsewhere. Her art has also been featured in international group exhibitions, including at the Palais de Tokyo, Paris, the Centre Pompidou, Paris (2015), and the Museum für Moderne Kunst, Frankfurt am Main (2014). Anne Imhof was a visiting professor at the Academy of Fine Arts Munich in 2015. In 2013, she lived and worked in Paris on a fellowship from the Hessische Kulturstiftung.

57th International Art Exhibition – La Biennale di Venezia

The press conference and the opening of the German pavilion will be held on May 10, 2017.

The 57th International Art Exhibition—La Biennale di Venezia will open on May 13, 2017, and be on view until November 26, 2017.

Portrait: Anne Imhof © Photo Nadine Fraczkowski


News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Anne Imhof auf der 57. Venedig Biennale 2017

26.04.2017, Berlin | Anne Imhof gestaltet im Jahr 2017 den deutschen Pavillon auf der 57. Internationalen Kunstausstellung – La Biennale di Venezia „Viva Arte Viva“. Eigens für den Pavillon entwickelt die Künstlerin eine raum- und zeitgreifende Arbeit, die fragt, in welcher Weise die neuen technischen und ökonomischen Bedingungen auf den Menschen einwirken. In ihren Performances reflektiert Imhof, wie der optimierte und kapitalisierte Körper durch die mediale Vermittlung (mit)konstituiert wird. Damit greift Imhof eine zentrale Frage an der Schnittstelle von Biologie, Technik und Kunst auf, die die Schering Stiftung in vielen ihrer Projekte verfolgt und fördert. Kommissarin des deutschen Pavillons ist Susanne Pfeffer.

08_Portrait_Anne_Imhof__Photo_Nadine_Fraczkowski

Blicke treffen sich, aber keine Kommunikation entsteht. Sie nehmen einen wahr, aber erkennen einen nicht an. Nach Gender, individuell und eigen, zugleich aber stereotyp erscheinen die Menschen in Anne Imhofs Malereien und Szenarien. Geräusche, Klang und Kompositionen rhythmisieren wie synchronisieren Raum und Körper in einer gedehnten Zeit, welche sich lose durch Narrationen gliedert. Das Geschehen ist kontingent, alles kann in jedem Moment auch anders sein. Die Bewegungen changieren zwischen zäher Alltäglichkeit und rätselhaften Ritualen, zwischen fremdbestimmten wie schematisierten Abläufen oder individuellen Fehlfunktionen, Uniformität und Punk. In der Gruppe formiert, bleibt die ziellose Individualität bestehen. Auch wenn sie gemeinsam singen, singen sie vom Ich.

Auf Matten und Schlafsäcken, mit Boxsäcken, Baseballschlägern und Rasierern bewegen sich die Performer im Trainingscamp der kapitalisierten Körper und des optimierten Lebens. Zum Bersten gespannt oder erschlafft, erscheinen die dressierten und fragilen Körper wie von unsichtbaren Machtstrukturen durchzogenes Material. Den Bio-Techno- Körpern ist ihre mediale Vermittlung bereits inhärent. Sie scheinen sich permanent in konsumierbare Bilder zu verwandeln; sie wollen zum Bild werden, zur digitalen Ware.

Anne Imhof begegnet der Brutalität unserer Zeit mit einem harten Realismus. In ihren Szenarien vergegenwärtigt sie, wie der Körper in materiellen und diskursiven, in technologischen, sozio-ökonomischen und pharmazeutischen Grenzziehungen konstituiert wird. Anne Imhof macht so den Raum zwischen Körper und Realität sichtbar, in dem unsere Persönlichkeit überhaupt erst entsteht.

Vita

Anne Imhof (* 1978) graduierte 2012 an der Städelschule in Frankfurt am Main. 2015 wurde Imhof mit dem Preis der Nationalgalerie ausgezeichnet und produzierte daran anschließend die Oper Angst, die 2016 in drei Akten in der Kunsthalle Basel, dem Hamburger Bahnhof in Berlin und auf der Biennalede Montréal gezeigt wurde. Ihre Performance-Zyklen Deal (2015), Rage (2014), Aqua Leo (2013) und School of the Seven Bells (2012) waren u.a. in Einzelausstellungen im MoMA PS1, New York (2015), dem Carré d’Art – Musée d’art contemporain de Nîmes (2014) sowie im New Jerseyy, Basel und dem Portikus, Frankfurt am Main (2013) zu sehen. In internationalen Gruppenausstellungen wurden ihre Arbeiten u.a. im Palais de Tokyo, Paris, dem Centre Pompidou, Paris (2015) und dem Museum für Moderne Kunst in Frankfurt am Main (2014) gezeigt. Anne Imhof war 2015 Gastprofessorin an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste München. 2013 erhielt sie ein Atelierstipendium der Hessischen Kulturstiftung in Paris.

57. Internationale Kunstausstellung – La Biennale di Venezia

Die Pressekonferenz sowie die Eröffnung des deutschen Pavillons (Pavillon in den Giardini) finden am 10. Mai 2017 statt.

Die 57. Internationale Kunstausstellung – La Biennale di Venezia eröffnet am 13. Mai 2017 und läuft bis zum 26. November 2017.

Portrait: Anne Imhof © Foto Nadine Fraczkowski


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Bewerbungsstart: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017, Berlin | Im April 2018 startet erneut das etablierte Führungskräftetraining Young Leaders in Science, das...
mehr