Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Artist-in-Residence program starts at the Max Planck Institutes

20.12.2016, Berlin/Potsdam | The Max Planck Institutes of Molecular Plant Physiology and of Colloids and Interfaces have established the international artist-in-residence program “Knowledge Link through Art and Science” (KLAS) that brings two innovative artists to the Potsdam-Golm Science Park. From June 2017, the selected artists will work for two weeks each side by side with researchers from the host institutions in Potsdam-Golm and the University of Groningen. More details on the call for application can be found here. The application deadline is January 31, 2017.

KLAS

The topic of the program is Synthetic Biology and hence the name, AESTHETIC get SYNTHETIC: Knowledge Link through Art and Science (KLAS). At the Potsdam-Golm Science Park several research groups from two Max Planck Institutes address this timely and innovative research field.

This innovative program will bring artists into these research groups. In doing so, it will build a strong link between science and society and will provide additional insight into the timely and highly debated research field of Synthetic Biology. Such art and science encounters are particularly powerful when they are able to bridge the gap between the fields, and may provide a fresh look into our daily tasks and working methodologies.

The program will take place in the Max Planck Campus in Potsdam-Golm. In a collaborative effort, four research groups of the Max Planck Institutes of Molecular Plant Physiology (MPIMP) and of Colloids and Interfaces (MPIKG) and the University Groningen (GBB) have joined the initiative and will host an artist:

 

KLAS is the first artist-in-residence program at a Max Planck Institute in the natural sciences, with the backing and funding of the Max Planck Society. It is made possible by the Ernst Schering Foundation and supported by the UNESCO Chair in International Relations at the TU Dresden, the "Klangkunst" program of DeutschlandRadio Kultur, and Ars Electronica. The transdisciplinary project was implemented by Rodrigo Perez-Garcia (MPIKG/TU-Berlin), Caterina Benincasa (Polyhedra.eu), Arnau Horta (Independent Curator), Guillermo Santamaria (CienciaXLibre) and Katja Schulze (MPIKG).


Project Space

Address: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Opening hours during exhibitions:Thursday through Monday, 1 - 7 p.m. | Admission is free Since 2009, the Ernst Schering Foundation has ...

more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Max-Planck-Institute starten „Artist-in-Residence“ Programm

20.12.2016, Berlin/ Potsdam | Die Max-Planck-Institute für Molekulare Pflanzenphysiologie und Kolloid- und Grenzflächenforschung in Potsdam haben das "Artist-in-Residence"-Programm „Knowledge Link through Art and Science“, kurz KLAS, etabliert, das mithilfe eines internationalen Wettbewerbs zwei innovative KünstlerInnen in den Wissenschaftspark Potsdam-Golm bringt. Im Rahmen des Programms arbeiten die ausgewählten KünstlerInnen ab Juni 2017 für jeweils zwei Wochen Seite an Seite mit ForscherInnen der Gastinstitutionen in Golm und der Universität Groningen. Detaillierte Informationen zur Ausschreibung finden Sie hier. Die Bewerbungsfrist endet am 31. Januar 2017.

KLAS

Das Thema des Programms, die „Synthetische Biologie“, spiegelt sich im Namen wieder: AESTHETIC get SYNTHETIC: Knowledge Link through Art and Science (KLAS). Die Synthetische Biologie ist eines der jüngsten und spannendsten Forschungsfelder im 21. Jahrhundert. Im Wissenschaftspark Potsdam-Golm beschäftigen sich mehrere Arbeitsgruppen aus zwei Max-Planck-Instituten mit diesem innovativen Wissenschaftsgebiet.

Das „Artist-in-Residence“-Programm bringt KünstlerInnen in die „Labore“ dieser Arbeitsgruppen und schlägt so eine Brücke zwischen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft innerhalb des stark diskutierten Forschungsfeldes der synthetischen Biologie. Der direkte Austausch von KünstlerInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen bedeutet unweigerlich, die eigene Arbeit mit den Augen des Anderen zu sehen und in einen Austausch zu treten – Synthese im Sinne einer Verknüpfung.

Das Programm wird auf dem Max-Planck-Campus im Wissenschaftspark Potsdam-Golm durchgeführt.

Vier Arbeitsgruppen der Max-Planck-Institute für Molekulare Pflanzenphysiologie (MPIMP) und Kolloid- und Grenzflächenforschung (MPIKG) sowie der Universität Groningen, Groningen Biomolecular Sciences and Biotechnology Institute (GBB) sind Gastgeber:

 

KLAS ist das erste von der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft getragene und mitfinanzierte “Artist-in-Residence“-Programm in einem naturwissenschaftlichen Max-Planck-Institut. Es wird von der Schering Stiftung ermöglicht und von dem UNESCO Chair in International Relations at the TU Dresden, der Sendung „Klangkunst“ vom DeutschlandRadio Kultur und Ars Electronica gefördert. Ins Leben gerufen wurde das interdisziplinäre Programm von Rodrigo Perez-Garcia (MPIKG/TU-Berlin), Caterina Benincasa (Polyhedra.eu), Arnau Horta (Unabhängiger Kurator), Guillermo Santamaria (CienciaXLibre) und Katja Schulze (MPIKG).


Projektraum

Anschrift: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Öffnungszeiten während der Ausstellungen:Donnerstag – Montag, 13–19 Uhr | Eintritt frei Seit 2009 zeigt die Schering Stiftung im ...

mehr