Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Seminar Art & Science

06.03.2017, Berlin / Basel | On March 22–23 and April 27–28, 2017, a two-part seminar entitled “Art and Science” will be held at the Institut Kunst in Basel. The seminar is conducted by Chus Martinez, head of the institute. Invited guests are David Gruber, marine biologist and ocean explorer (New York), Volker Sommer, Professor of Evolutionary Anthropology at University College London, and Marcus Coates, artist (London). The seminar examines what art and science share. Both art and science explore, in depth and often in amazed wonder, the questions “What is true? Why does it matter? How can we move society forward?” The seminar takes place as part of the professorship “The Next Society,” which is dedicated to the sciences at the Institut Kunst in Basel. Appointees are visiting scholars from a variety of disciplines who present their work and collaborate with the art students on selected topics.

Foto_David_Gruber

 

Foto_Filipa_Ramos

“The Next Society” Professorship

The professorship aims to rethink the society of the future – beyond the ideas traditionally provided by art history and art theory. By linking different ideas about research and a new understanding of form, development and cause in the sciences and arts, it wants to break down the functional division of the disciplines. The program strives to bring art closer to scientific topics and ideas and wants to build an ongoing relationship between the arts and the sciences. After all, the scientific debates on emotions and the brain, the role of genetics in human memory, the origins of the cosmos do not just concern scientists, but also artists. To achieve the program objectives and to intensify the dialogue between science and art, the professorship will be accompanied by seminars, days-with-a-scientist, days of science, and a public lecture series.

The Ernst Schering Foundation supports “The Next Society” professorship, since it is convinced that the boundaries and barriers between the disciplines hamper both artistic and scientific research. It is only through curiosity and an openness beyond one’s own discipline that something new can emerge. “The Next Society” helps create new forms of communication and teaching that have the potential of serving as a model for other art academies.

More information is available here.

Foto_Volker_Sommer

 

Foto_Marcus_Coates

Project Space

Address: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Opening hours during exhibitions:Thursday through Monday, 1 - 7 p.m. | Admission is free Since 2009, the Ernst Schering Foundation has ...

more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Seminar Kunst & Wissenschaft

06.03.2017, Berlin / Basel | Vom 22. bis 23. März und vom 27. bis 28. April 2017 findet am Institut Kunst in Basel das zweiteilige Seminar „Kunst & Wissenschaft“ statt. Das Seminar wird von der Institutsleiterin Chus Martínez durchgeführt. Als Gäste werden David Gruber, Meeresbiologe und Ozeanologe (New York), Filipa Ramos, Kuratorin (London), Volker Sommer, Professor für Evolutionäre Anthropologie am University College London, und Marcus Coates, Künstler (London), erwartet. Das Seminar widmet sich der Untersuchung dessen, was die Kunst mit der Wissenschaft teilt. Sowohl die Kunst als die Wissenschaft gehen den Fragen „Was ist wahr? Warum ist das wichtig? Wie bringt man eine Gesellschaft weiter?“ tiefgründig und oft auch voller Erstaunen nach. Das Seminar wird im Rahmen des Lehrstuhls „The Next Society“ veranstaltet, der den Wissenschaften am Institut Kunst in Basel gewidmet ist. Der Lehrstuhl wird mit Gastwissenschaftlern besetzt, die sich und ihre Forschung vorstellen und gemeinsam mit den Kunststudierenden zu den jeweiligen Themenkomplexen arbeiten.

Foto_David_Gruber

 

Foto_Filipa_Ramos

Der Lehrstuhl „The Next Society“

Ziel des Lehrstuhls ist es, die Gesellschaft der Zukunft neu zu denken – jenseits der herkömmlichen Vorstellungen aus Kunstgeschichte und Kunsttheorie. Unterschiedliche Vorstellungen von Forschung und ein neues Verständnis von Form, Entwicklung und Ursache in den Wissenschaften und den Künsten sollen zueinander in Beziehung gesetzt und die funktionale Trennung der Disziplinen aufgehoben werden. Das Programm strebt eine Annäherung an wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen und Ideen innerhalb des Bereichs der Künste an und möchte eine kontinuierliche Beziehung zwischen den Künsten und den Wissenschaften aufbauen. Denn die Forschungsdiskussionen über Emotionen und das Gehirn, über die Bedeutung der Genetik für die Erinnerung, über die Ursprünge des Kosmos – sie alle betreffen nicht nur Wissenschaftler sondern auch Künstler. Um die Ziele des Programms zu erreichen und den Austausch von Wissenschaft und Kunst zu intensivieren, werden im Rahmen des Lehrstuhls Seminare, Days-with-a-Scientist, Tage der Wissenschaft und eine öffentliche Vortragsreihe angeboten.

Die Schering Stiftung ermöglicht die Professur „The Next Society“ in der Überzeugung, dass Grenzen zwischen den Disziplinen sowohl künstlerische als auch wissenschaftliche Forschung behindern. In der Neugierde auf das Andere, mit offenem Blick über die eigene Disziplin hinaus, kann etwas Neues entstehen. Mit „The Next Society“ entstehen neue Kommunikations- und Lehrformen, die das Potenzial haben, als Vorbild für andere Kunsthochschulen zu dienen.

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie hier.

 

Fotos von oben nach unten:
David Gruber, Filipa Ramos, Volker Sommer, Marcus Coates

Foto_Volker_Sommer

Foto_Marcus_Coates

Projektraum

Anschrift: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Öffnungszeiten während der Ausstellungen:Donnerstag – Montag, 13–19 Uhr | Eintritt frei Seit 2009 zeigt die Schering Stiftung im ...

mehr