Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

About Life – Biopolitical Perspectives in Science and Art

26.04.2017, Berlin | The discussions about the cultural, political, and scientific consequences of the life sciences show that biological dimensions cannot be separated from cultural ones. Conceived by Hartmut Böhme and Beate Slominski, the conference “About Life – Biopolitical Perspectives in Science and Art,” which will be held at the Neue Berliner Kunstverein on May 13, 2017, explores the interaction of cultural studies and natural sciences by addressing the following questions: How are we to understand the living (human) entity? In what way do the boundaries blur between inanimate and animate entities in the execution of advanced technologies? How do organisms create a sphere of meaning in interaction with the outside world? What is the contribution of the arts to defining life? With Ute Meta Bauer, Hartmut Böhme, Frank Fehrenbach, Andreas Greiner, Inge Hinterwaldner, Peter Schiering, Georg Toepfer, and Janina Wellmann.

Aura Rosenberg

The biosciences provoke a general need for orientation regarding the concept of life and thus stand in the tradition of defining man that has been relevant since at least the 17th century. The technological potentials that come with the progress of biology lead to problems that cannot be answered by science alone. In fact, questions are arising about the cultural anthropological significance of biotechnologically engineered entities and about their integration into existing cultural contexts. The arts, too, intervene into these seemingly internal scientific problems: contemporary positionings of the arts in the context of BioArt, the anthropocene, and geoaesthetics consider themselves as an artistic exploration and representation of the biosphere.

At present, biology seems to be on the verge of achieving technological mastery over life. Nevertheless, it seems that in our century the question of life, instead of being clarified, invariably entails further problems and complications. The popular discussions about the cultural, political and scientific consequences of the life sciences show how important it is not to separate biological from cultural dimensions. In spite of the growing insight into the interactions between “science” and “culture,” a more intensive discussion of the progress of biology, which is fundamentally concerned with human self-understanding, has taken place only recently. Hence, many questions remain open and are to be discussed at the conference, made possible by the Ernst Schering Foundation.

About Life – Biopolitical Perspectives in Science and Art

May 13, 2017, 1 to 7:30 p.m.

Neuer Berliner Kunstverein n.b.k.
Chausseestraße 128/129
10115 Berlin

The program is available for download pdf here .

Conference language: German

Free admission.

Participants: Ute Meta Bauer, Hartmut Böhme, Frank Fehrenbach, Andreas Greiner, Inge Hinterwaldner, Peter Schiering, Georg Toepfer, Janina Wellmann
Concept: Hartmut Böhme and Beate Slominski

Picture: Aura Rosenberg, from the series "Who Am I? What Am I? Where Am I?", 2009 © Aura Rosenberg 2017


Project Space

Address: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Opening hours during exhibitions:Thursday through Monday, 1 - 7 p.m. | Admission is free Since 2009, the Ernst Schering Foundation has ...

more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Über Leben – Biopolitische Perspektiven in Wissenschaft und Kunst

26.04.2017, Berlin | Die Diskussionen um die kulturellen, politischen und wissenschaftlichen Folgen der Lebenswissenschaften zeigen, dass biologische nicht von kulturellen Dimensionen zu trennen sind. Die von Hartmut Böhme und Beate Slominski konzipierte Tagung „Über Leben – Biopolitische Perspektiven in Wissenschaft und Kunst“ am 13.05.2017 im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein diskutiert die Wechselwirkungen von Kultur- und Naturwissenschaft entlang folgender Fragestellungen: Als was soll die lebendige (menschliche) Entität verstanden werden? In welcher Weise werden die Grenzen zwischen unbelebten und belebten Entitäten im Vollzug avancierter Technologien verwischt? Wie erzeugen Organismen im Wechselspiel mit der Außenwelt eine Sinnsphäre? Welchen Beitrag leisten die Künste zur Bestimmung des Lebendigen? Mit Ute Meta Bauer, Hartmut Böhme, Frank Fehrenbach, Andreas Greiner, Inge Hinterwaldner, Peter Schiering, Georg Toepfer und Janina Wellmann.

Aura Rosenberg

Die Biowissenschaften provozieren einen allgemeinen Orientierungsbedarf über den Lebensbegriff und stehen damit in der Tradition einer Bestimmung des Menschen, die mindestens seit dem 17. Jahrhundert virulent ist. Die technischen Potenziale, die sich an die Fortschritte der Biologie anschließen, münden in Problemlagen, die sich allein naturwissenschaftlich nicht beantworten lassen. Vielmehr stellen sich Fragen nach der kulturanthropologischen Bedeutung biotechnisch generierter Entitäten sowie nach deren Einbindung in bestehende kulturelle Kontexte. In diese scheinbar innerwissenschaftlichen Problemstellungen intervenieren auch die Künste: Zeitgenössische Positionierungen der Künste in der Bio-Art, im Anthropozän und in der Geo-Ästhetik verstehen sich als künstlerische Erforschung und Darstellung der Biosphäre.

Gegenwärtig scheint die Biologie kurz vor einer technischen Beherrschung des Lebens zu stehen. Dennoch hat es den Anschein, dass in unserem Jahrhundert die Frage nach dem Leben, statt geklärt zu sein, immer weitere Probleme und Komplikationen mit sich bringt. Die populären Diskussionen um die kulturellen, politischen und wissenschaftlichen Folgen der Lebenswissenschaften zeigen, wie wichtig es ist, biologische nicht von kulturellen Dimensionen zu trennen. Trotz der gewachsenen Einsicht in die Wechselwirkungen zwischen „Wissenschaft“ und „Kultur“ erfolgt eine intensivere Diskussion der das Selbstverständnis des Menschen fundamental betreffenden Fortschritte der Biologie erst seit relativ kurzer Zeit. So bleiben noch viele Fragen offen; einige sollen auf der Tagung, die von der Schering Stiftung ermöglicht wird, diskutiert werden.

Über Leben – Biopolitische Perspektiven in Wissenschaft und Kunst

13. Mai 2017, 13 bis 19:30 Uhr

Neuer Berliner Kunstverein n.b.k.
Chausseestraße 128/129
10115 Berlin

pdf Programm zum Download

Die Tagung findet in deutscher Sprache statt. Eintritt ist frei.

Sprecher: Ute Meta Bauer, Hartmut Böhme, Frank Fehrenbach, Andreas Greiner, Inge Hinterwaldner, Peter Schiering, Georg Toepfer, Janina Wellmann
Konzeption: Hartmut Böhme und Beate Slominski

Abbildung: Aura Rosenberg, aus der Serie "Who Am I? What Am I? Where Am I?", 2009 © Aura Rosenberg 2017


Projektraum

Anschrift: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Öffnungszeiten während der Ausstellungen:Donnerstag – Montag, 13–19 Uhr | Eintritt frei Seit 2009 zeigt die Schering Stiftung im ...

mehr