Philipp Lachenmann: DELPHI Rationale



22.05.2017, Berlin | In 2013, the composers Mauro Lanza and Andrea Valle began their collaboration on the four-part composition cycle SYSTEMA NATURAE, consisting of the compositions “Regnum animale” (2013), “Regnum vegetabile” (2014), “Regnum lapideum” (2016), and “Fossilia” (2016/17). On June 19, 2017, at 6 p.m. and at 9 p.m., the entire cycle will have its premiere in a performance by the Ensemble Mosaik at the Berlin Natural History Museum. Every part of the cycle takes as its subject a branch of nature or natural science. Here, the two composers refer to the medieval cataloging of research objects on the one hand and to the classification scheme of Carl von Linné’s “Systema Naturae” on the other hand.

Systema Naturae, Carl von Linné: cactus

Combining scientific observation and artistic creativity, the composers Mauro Lanza and Andrea Valle have written a collection of short pieces, whose fictional titles follow the principle of “binomial nomenclature.” At the Berlin Natural History Museum, concertgoers will not only be able to listen to the compositions. The rooms become, moreover, starting points for a production that makes generous use of the museum’s space: the musicians and electromechanical instruments are positioned at various places around the museum. The performance also highlights the sensual appeal of the music and the instruments by making it possible for the audience to see and hear them from up close. The surrounding exhibits offer an additional level of reflection, giving the promenade concert a special atmosphere.

The Ensemble Mosaik is one of the most important ensembles for modern and contemporary classical music and is celebrating its twentieth birthday in 2017. The Ernst Schering Foundation supports the premiere of SYSTEMA NATURAE not only because it represents a meeting of science and art at both the visual and acoustic level; the Foundation also expressly honors the Ensemble Mosaik for its important contributions to the development and promotion of modern and contemporary classical music.


Premiere of the Entire Cycle by Mauro Lanza and Andrea Valle

Regnum animale (2013) for string trio and electromechanical objects
Regnum vegetabile (2014) for horn trio, string trio, and electromechanical objects
Regnum lapideum (2016) for ensemble and electromechanical objects
Fossilia (2016/17) for 10 musicians and electromechanical objects

June 19, 2017, 2 performances: 6 p.m. and 9 p.m.
8 p.m.: Change of Perspective – A conversation with the composers Mauro Lanza and Andrea Valle as well as with Bastian Zimmermann (moderator) and Martin Eder (Special Guest).

Museum für Naturkunde Berlin
Invalidenstraße 43, 10115 Berlin

Admission: 10€

pdf Flyer

Tickets can be reserved by phone (00 49.30.39 03 08 30) or by This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

A production of the Ensemble Mosaik, with support from the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, the Ernst Schering Foundation, and the German Music Council. Composition commissioned by Ensemble Mosaik, RepertorioZero, and 2e2m, 2017

Portrait of Ensemble Mosaik: © Giuseppe Mondi
Additional illustrations from Carl von Linné, Systema Naturae

Systema Naturae, Carl von Linné: cactus

Systema Naturae, Carl von Linné: cactus

ensemble mosaik, Photo: Giuseppe Mondi


The Unseen Universe (An Introduction to Particle Physics)

26.04.2018, Berlin | For his video work DELPHI Rationale, the artist Philipp Lachenmann filmed at the...

DOME – Our Relationship with the Cosmos

25.04.2018, Berlin | The interdisciplinary art project DOME invites you to engage with “cosmic realities” at...

Alfred Kerr Acting Prize 2018

25.04.2018, Berlin | The Alfred Kerr Acting Prize has been awarded annually since 1991 as part...