Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Acousmatic Lecture Series

26.06.2017, Berlin | The Acousmatic Lecture Series in Berlin presents a program of unconventional interdisciplinary lectures: Listeners engage solely with the abstract verbal and acoustic information of the speaker’s voice and thus are confronted with the act of listening itself. The series kicks off on July 6, 2017, at 7 p.m., with a talk by Prof. Sabeth Buchmann. Additional lectures take place on July 13 (Prof. Dr. Birgit Schneider), September 14 (Prof. Dr. Hans-Jörg Rheinberger), October 19 (Dr. Alex Arteaga), all at 7 p.m., and October 5, 2017 (Prof. Dr. Markus Gabriel), 5:30 p.m. at the Errant Sound Project Space.

Acousmatic Lectures Series, © Mario Asef

The Acousmatic Lectures are a series of discursive, acoustic undertakings that take the Pythagorean acousmatic model as a starting point for constituting a new type of interaction between speaker and listener. The term “Acousmata” references a Pythagorean tradition according to which only Pythagoras’s most devoted students were allowed to see and visually perceive him during his lectures. Newcomers were made to sit before a curtain concealing the master’s physiognomy. Students were therefore left without any visual information and had to try to follow the lectures solely by attentive listening.

No microphones and/or amplifiers are used during the Acousmatic Lectures. In this way, the natural volume of the speaker’s voice and its tonality are better able to convey his or her physical presence. Here, the voice is understood as an acoustic space that is definable in myriad ways, where physical and affective communicational idiosyncrasies can be transformed. The lectures are academic in nature—a deliberate choice of the artist and initiator of the project, Mario Asef. The speakers are academics and scholars who talk about their specific areas of expertise. The intention is to observe what impacts the acousmatic settings have on participants, and specifically without the influence of any artistic or aesthetic sensory effects.

Acousmatic Lecture Series

Program

July 6, 2017, 7 p.m. – Sabeth Buchmann: (Dis) articulation—Voice as Place and Medium of Transformation

July 13, 2017, 7 p.m. – Birgit Schneider: Forms of an Ecological Aesthetics of Climate and Climate Change

September 14, 2017, 7 p.m. – Hans-Jörg Rheinberger: The Hands of the Engraver – Albert Flocon Meets Gaston Bachelard

October 5, 2017, 5:30 p.m. – Markus Gabriel: Is Virtual Reality Part of Reality?

October 19, 2017, 7 p.m. – Alex Arteaga: decide

Venue:
Errant Sound, Kollwitzstr. 97, 10435 Berlin / www.errantsound.net

Lectures will be held in English and/or German.

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Further information:

https://acousmaticlectures.wordpress.com/

A project by Mario Asef in cooperation with Errant Sound , supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation and Bezirksamt Pankow von Berlin, FB Kunst und Kultur.

 

Image: © Mario Asef

 


News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Acousmatic Lecture Series

26.06.2017, Berlin | Im Rahmen der Acousmatic Lecture Series wird in Berlin eine Reihe von interdisziplinären Vorträgen auf ungewöhnliche Art und Weise präsentiert: Der Zuhörer muss sich mit abstrakten sprachlichen sowie akustischen Informationen der Stimme des Redners auseinandersetzen und wird folglich mit dem reinen Zuhören konfrontiert. Die Reihe wird am 6. Juli 2017, um 19 Uhr, mit Prof. Sabeth Buchmann eröffnet. Weitere Vorträge finden am 13. Juli (Prof. Dr. Birgit Schneider), 14. September (Prof. Dr. Hans-Jörg Rheinberger) und 19. Oktober (Dr. Alex Arteaga), jeweils 19 Uhr, sowie am 5. Oktober 2017 (Prof. Dr. Markus Gabriel), 17:30 Uhr, im Errant Sound Projektraum statt.

Acousmatic Lectures Series, © Mario Asef

Die Acousmatic Lectures sind eine Reihe von diskursiven akustischen Erlebnissen, die das pythagoreische akusmatische Modell als Ausgangspunkt verwenden, um eine neue Weise der Interaktion zwischen Redner und Zuhörer zu konstituieren. Der Begriff „Akusmata“ bezieht sich auf eine Tradition der Schule des Pythagoras, wonach es nur seinen engsten Schülern erlaubt war, ihn während seiner Vorlesungen selbst zu sehen. Die nicht Eingeweihten sollten vor einem Vorhang sitzen, der die Physiognomie des Meisters verhüllte. So blieben die Schüler ohne jegliche visuelle Information und mussten allein durch intensives Zuhören versuchen, die Lesungen zu verstehen.

In den Acousmatic Lectures werden keine Mikrofone und/oder Verstärker verwendet. Auf diese Weise soll die physische Präsenz des Sprechers durch die natürliche Lautstärke seiner Stimme und ihres Klanges besser zum Ausdruck kommen. Hier wird die Stimme als ein vielseitig definierbarer akustischer Raum verstanden, in dem physikalische und affektive Kommunikationsgewohnheiten transformiert werden können. Die Vorträge haben – mit Absicht des Künstlers und Initiators des Projektes, Mario Asef – einen akademischen Hintergrund. Die Vortragenden sind Wissenschaftler, die über ihr fachspezifisches Gebiet berichten. Damit soll versucht werden, die Wirkung des akusmatischen Settings zu beobachten, und zwar ohne den Einfluss von sensorischen Effekten künstlerischer und ästhetischer Natur.

Acousmatic Lecture Series

Programm

06.07.2017, 19 Uhr – Sabeth Buchmann: (Des-)Artikulation – Stimme als Ort und Medium der Transformation

13.07.2017, 19 Uhr – Birgit Schneider: Formen einer ökologischen Ästhetik des Klimas und des Klimawandels

14.09.2017, 19 Uhr – Hans-Jörg Rheinberger: Die Hände des Graveurs – Albert Flocon trifft Gaston Bachelard

05.10.2017, 17:30 Uhr – Markus Gabriel: Ist Virtuelle Realität ein Teil der Wirklichkeit?

19.10.2017, 19 Uhr – Alex Arteaga: decide

Ort:
Errant Sound, Kollwitzstraße 97, 10435 Berlin / www.errantsound.net

Die Vorträge werden auf Deutsch und/oder Englisch gehalten.

Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.

Weitere Informationen:

https://acousmaticlectures.wordpress.com/

Ein Projekt von Mario Asef in Kooperation mit Errant Sound , gefördert von der Schering Stiftung und dem Bezirksamt Pankow von Berlin, FB Kunst und Kultur.

 

Abbildung: © Mario Asef


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr