Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

International Parajanov Festival

19.07.2017, Lviv | The international Parajanov Festival, which takes place from August 20 to 27, 2017, in Lviv (Ukraine), was conceived specifically for the Levandivka neighborhood – a former industrial district, which today is home to more than 120,000 people from different nationalities and generations living far from the center of the Ukrainian city. The Parajanov Festival for the promotion of intercultural dialogue and contemporary art is one of the two winning projects of the 2017 kultur-im-dialog.eu+ competition, which is held annually by MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung.

International Parajanov Festival, Lviv

Sergei Parajanov (1924–1990) was equally at home in the Georgian, Armenian, and Ukrainian culture and is one of the best-known directors of the twentieth century. While his films are internationally acclaimed for their visual intensity, at home he was treated with hostility for his critical film content until the early 1980s, banned from working and imprisoned several times. In the post-industrial, multi-ethnic outskirts of Lviv, the Parajanov Festival wants to revive the work and philosophy of the great director. A mix of art event and education platform, the Festival inspires residents (mostly young people) to engage in conversations and activities with Parajanov’s collaborators and with both national and international artists. The festival will feature film screenings, readings, workshops, and interventions, as well as an extensive education and discussion program for children and adults at the Sputnik cultural center and at Levandovski Park.

As part of the festival, artists from Ukraine, Poland, Georgia, Armenia, Moldavia, and Azerbaijan are invited to participate in the international artist-in-residence program “Shadow of Freedom” (taking its title from Sergei Parajanov’s film “Shadows of Forgotten Ancestors”). The residency is curated by Victoria Danelyan, a psychoanalyst and founder of the Museum of Dreams in Kiev, and Sarmen Beglarian, a visual art expert who has facilitated the collaboration of the Parajanov Festival with the Adam Mickiewicz Institute in Warsaw.


International Parajanov Festival

August 20–27, 2017

Lviv, Ukraine

More information: parajanov.in.ua

Photo: © Parajanov Festival


News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Internationales Paradschanow-Festival

19.07.2017, Lwiw | Das internationale Paradschanow-Festival, das vom 20. bis 27. August 2017 in Lwiw (Ukraine) stattfindet, wurde eigens für den Stadtteil Levandivka konzipiert – einst ein Industriestandort, wo heute mehr als 120.000 Menschen verschiedenster Nationalitäten und Generationen weit entfernt vom Zentrum der ukrainischen Großstadt leben. Das Paradschanow-Festival zur Förderung des interkulturellen Dialogs und aktueller Kunst ist im Jahr 2017 eines von zwei Gewinnerprojekten aus dem Wettbewerb kultur-im-dialog.eu+, den der MitOst e. V. und die Schering Stiftung jährlich ausschreiben.

Internationales Paradschanow-Festival, Lwiw

Sergei Paradschanow (1924–1990) war in der georgischen, armenischen und ukrainischen Kultur gleichermaßen beheimatet und zählt zu den bekanntesten Regisseuren des 20. Jahrhunderts. Seine Filme sind aufgrund ihrer visuellen Intensität international anerkannt, er selbst wurde jedoch in seiner Heimat bis Anfang der 1980-er Jahre wegen der kritischen Filminhalte angefeindet, mit Arbeitsverboten belegt und mehrfach inhaftiert. In dem post-industriellen, multiethnischen Randbezirk von Lwiw möchte das Paradschanow-Festival das Schaffen und die Philosophie des großen Regisseurs wieder aufleben lassen. In einer Mischung aus Kunstevent und Bildungsplattform treten Einwohner*innen (insbesondere Jugendliche) mit Wegbegleitern Paradschanows sowie mit Künstler*innen aus dem In- und Ausland in Dialog und auch in Aktion. Geplant sind Filmvorführungen, Lesungen, Workshops und Interventionen, also ein umfangreiches Bildungs- und Diskussionsprogramm für Kinder und Erwachsene im Kulturzentrum „Sputnik“ und im Lewandowski-Park.

Im Rahmen des Festivals werden u. a. Künstler aus der Ukraine, Polen, Georgien, Armenien, Moldawien und Aserbaidschan eingeladen, an der internationalen Künstlerresidenz „Schatten der Freiheit“ (angelehnt an den Filmtitel „Schatten vergessener Ahnen“ von Sergei Paradschanow) teilzunehmen. Kuratoren der Residenz sind Victoria Danelyan, Psychoanalytikerin und Gründerin des Kiewer Museum of Dreams, und Sarmen Beglarian, Experte für visuelle Kunst, der die Zusammenarbeit des Paradschanow-Festivals mit dem Adam-Mickiewicz-Institut in Warschau verantwortet.

Internationales Paradschanow-Festival

20. bis 27. August 2017

Lwiw, Ukraine

Weitere Informationen: parajanov.in.ua

Foto: © Paradschanow-Festival

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr